We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meals while on holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Horse

White Horse
Winchester Road, Ampfield, England
01794368356
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Ampfield
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Parts of the ancient building of the White Horse date back to the 16th century, and the two large Inglenook open fires bear testament to their heritage with their smoking chambers and their priest hole. These fires which are always alight during the winter months throw their heat into the various bar areas.The locals bar, with its dart board, and cosy village atmosphere retains the typical English pub image. Roaring log fire, the slap of cards on the table during a crib match and the thump of darts in the board, echo quietly in this bar. No background music can be heard, just the agitated discussions of the village elders who frequent this oasis of good beer & conversation.The lounge bar, with its equally large Inglenook can accommodate up to 40 people sitting and many more standing. Used by many people as a dining area, it still retains its “Olde World Charm”. A comfortable Chesterfield and deep farmhouse chairs merely add to the pleasant ambience of this lovely area.The restaurant has been built in a new area that extends towards the lovely pub garden. Seating 90 customers it makes a perfect place to enjoy the excellent food that is always available.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Evening meals while on holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We enjoyed a very nice evening meal here. Food varied and freshly prepared. Good childrens menu. My son had the usual fare children enjoy, Chicken nuggets and chips. These were freshly prepared and home made. Staff friendly and welcoming. Good value for money and excellent service. We enjoyed the food so much we ate there the following night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    31
    9
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Excellent customer service.
Craig is particularly helpful. He had a challenge to find a meal which was gluten free to accommodate a friend who is unable to eat anything with gluten. He searched the entire menu and consulted the chef on many an occasion to finally find a meal that was 'safe' for our friend to eat. He did it with great patience and humour.
Makes the occasion worth the trip.
Good choice of curries and fish particularly.
good setting on cold evenings - warm hearth and good cheer.
highly recommended for a casual night out - great for families and you can bring the dog too.
car parking sufficient. good outside eating.
we have used this pub for a casual evening out, to celebrate an occasion and for the last minute meal. Service is good and prompt if you are trying to eat and move on quickly...or if you prefer to stay for the entire evening.
thank you to all the staff who take the extra steps to make this possible

we will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“foody”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

too many kids in restaurant portions small nice to see table clothes in restaurant sofas to sit on after meal

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“weekend experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I recently visited the White Horse on two occasions over one weekend. The first meal was so good that we had to return again the next night. Nor we we disappointed.
The food was excellent, my group all delighted with their choices of entree,main and desserts.
The staff were all extremely helpful and happy and very professional. The pub had a wonderful atmosphere of friendship and hospitality from John and Gaye and their staff. I would love to visit them again.
Anne Clarke

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A plesant established pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The white horse serves good food in pleasant surroundings. . A garden to sit and watch the sun go down or log fires in the winter months. . .bar snacks to the full works. . .eaten in the bar area or the dinning area. . Always a warm welcome. . .x

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Horse also viewed

Ampfield, Hampshire
Braishfield, Romsey
 

Been to White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.