We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb - Stay here if you are in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Potters Heron

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Potters Heron to your Saves list
The Potters Heron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Winchester Road | Ampfield-Romsey- Hampshire, Ampfield SO51 9ZF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampfield
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Superb - Stay here if you are in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Awful drive down to this place from London, so I was in a particularly snotty mood.

Then everything changed when I went in through the front door.

1. Check-in lady - lovely, efficient, friendly, helpful.
2. Room - unbelievable - really nicely appointed, large, huge comfy bed, nice bathroom, immaculately clean.
3. Bar/Restaurant - very nice staff, again really helpful and efficient.
4. Other staff all really kind, professional, courteous, etc.

Quite frankly the combination of the fabulous room and the even more fabulous staff warrants me awarding this the rather dubious accolade of best UK hotel I've stayed in this year (including the super posh ones I don't bother reviewing because it's irrelevant).

Seriously - I'm actually looking forward to going back for another meeting in the area next month. One other thing - can't remember the name of the young woman on reception in the evening but she is pure class.

Room Tip: Room 54 is the one for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    80
    50
    24
    13
See reviews for
53
80
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We came as part of a wedding group, Our room was large and spacious, tastefully furnished, with all mod cons. The hospitality was second to none, bar staff, resturant and reception all helpful and polite. Oh, and there was plenty of bacon for breakfast. Bacon always wins.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms means you have a door to the pretty gardens with seating outside, great for a morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steeple Aston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at the Potter's Heron for two nights and can highly recommend it, not least because I felt it was excellent value for money and had the essential bonus of friendly staff who were welcoming and offered a smile - quite unusual these days.

The hotel itself is pretty as a picture with thatched roof and the bedrooms are located at the rear in a more recent extension which has refurbished rooms (we were on the first floor and had a balcony overlooking trees). Very clean everywhere and a calming atmosphere. The reception is well furnished and attractive with good restaurant - we enjoyed both meals we had and thought they represented great value with an excellent choice plus varied wine menu.

The previous reviewer really ought to have the decency to let us all know the name of the fabulous motorway services he/she likens Potter's Heron's breakfast area to, as I would like to go and have breakfast there - that is, if it meets the high standards we found at Potters Heron. Large area with lovely bay window alcoves to sit in, damask cloths and napkins, (only criticism - no vista of the motorway to admire) with view over garden where we enjoyed a good choice of hot and cold food, great coffee and smiling staff who were only too willing to help and anticipated your needs.

In summary, we enjoyed our stay and we are already planning a return visit as we liked the location being close to Romsey and Winchester and would recommend it to anyone looking for a calm, relaxed place to stay which has the good sense to employ staff who actually enjoy giving service....with a smile.

Room Tip: First floor refurbished room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I usually always check tripadvisor before booking anywhere now. Well this time I didn't and ohboy did I pay for this - luckily it was only for 1 night.

LOCATION
Away from any central location which was nice - had a real country feel

CAR PARK
Safe car parking

HOTEL
from outside it does indeed look absolutely charming - thatched roof and quintessentially English. It is very large inside. The bar area looked nice. However Restaurant/breakfast area looked like motorway service area

SERVICE
Very good - which is just as well as hotel is really not up to scratch.

FOOD
I ordered a meal - just basically up to usual pub grub standards nothing special.

HOTEL ROOM
I was meant to have a balcony - yuk yuk yuk. Appalling - was not really a balcony more a gutter area which was dirty and full of yuk.
Room itself was fairly big and was reasonable enough however was not really up to scratch for price . Bed was ill-made the quilt so lumpy it looked like moles underneath. Could have been a bit cleaner too

Room also smelt a bit fusty and bathroom smelt of cheap cleaning stuff - fusty smelling. Not nice.

Hotel bathroom really needs a good steam cleaning with fittings replaced in some cases e.g. toilet lids etc. But really for this price bathrooms need redoing, and room finsihed off a bit better and cleaner trained how to clean properly,

If I had paid £50 I would have accepted this as just slightly below travel lodge standards however I paid £90 for a basically a dump.

Really this hotel could be amazing - But they need to spend some money on improving interiors and getting rid of fusty smell

In one word - disappointing!!

If this was helpful please press the button

Room Tip: check your rate first
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westcountry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for 1 night and had a very pleasant stay. Our room was clean and welcoming. The room had a small balcony and looked out onto a lovely wooded scene. The staff were pleasant and efficient. The breakfast was good. The hotel is just a short drive from Chandlers Ford and easy access to Southampton/Motorway.

Room Tip: There was a wedding reception at the hotel but our room was well away from any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here twice on business. Rooms & hall areas are tired and could do with refreshing.
Lobby & bar restaurant areas are nice and modern though.
Food is good. Breakfast ok unless you love big fry ups.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The whole experience was brilliant, Rooms were lovely and modern, the staff were very friendly and professional and the food was great too which made the whole atmosphere feel great! Excellent value for money, we will certainly be back when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Potters Heron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potters Heron

Address: Winchester Road | Ampfield-Romsey- Hampshire, Ampfield SO51 9ZF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Ampfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potters Heron 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Potters Heron Hotel nestled in the heart of Hampshire, near Winchester, Romsey and Eastleigh,and recognize it by its distinctive gabled thatched roof and traditional features. The hotel is located just 3 Miles from IBM HQ .Once inside guests can relax in one of our 53 comfortable bedrooms or enjoy the attractive surroundings of our contemporary refurbished bar restaurant over a delicious meal and chilled glass of wine. Within easy distance from major roads [M3 J12] Potters Heron is an ideal venue for all occasions, be it business or pleasure.The Restaurant features informal lunch and dinner restaurant AND bar menus, with freshly cooked seasonal changing specialities, both regional and international. In the summer we have an "al fresco" sun terrace with wide umbrellas available. In the winter we have a cosy log fire to warm you up. Open 7 days a week from 9.30 am til late, our large restaurant bar is stocked with international lagers, quality ciders and 3 Hampshire Ales on tap, a large wine selection lists wines by grape variety which enables you to select your favourite wine by flavour, either by the glass or bottle. Sunday lunch with succulent roasts from 12 - 3pm Morning cappuccinos from 9.30 am, afternoon tea, espresso and liqueurs for the evening. Last orders at 9.30 pm. Plenty of free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, THE meeting place in the green....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Potters Heron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Potters Heron Hotel Ampfield
Potters Heron Romsey
Potters Heron Hotel Romsey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Potters Heron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.