We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC FANTASTIC FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza

Plaza
Audenshaw Road, Ashton-under-Lyne M34 5HP, England
0161 371 7474
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
nrth west
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC FANTASTIC FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This has to be the best Indian restaurant in Tameside. The food is of an excellent quality, the management and staff are the nicest people that you are ever likely to meet, they are so attentive and friendly and just can't do enough for you and there is always a very nice atmosphere. The portions are very generous and great value for money.
I would recommend this place to anybody but would most certainly book at the weekends as it gets very busy, although there is always the bar to have a drink in whilst you are waiting for a table where you will also find very pleasant and friendly staff.

I just can't praise this place highly enough,you will definitely not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    25
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had the best Indian food ever , the quality was brilliant and the service was second to none.
Absolutely amazing evening that could not be faulted

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Having driven past this place many times, we finally went in tonight, and we weren't disappointed. Staff were waiting for us at the door, and when we had sat down we had our drinks in front of us in less than 5 minutes.

The food took a litlle while to come, but given that everything is cooked to order, and we had 2 rather large meals, it was OK. When the food arrived it was excellent, piping hot, and very tasty indeed. The staff were very friendly and attentive too without overdoing it, which is always nice and although I don't like being called "sir" my Mum just loves being addressed as "Ma'am" when it's said properly.

2 large main meals with all the trimmings and 3 drinks came to just over £33 which is great value in my book. Happy to recommend to others, but unless going when they have just opened would book a table as the restaurant filled up very quickly after we arrived.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't fault the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Another fantastic meal. Just been with parents(who are in every week) food faultless, staff friendly, prices reasonable, (just don't trust them when they tell you they are green beans) ;-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good for East Manchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

For a ‘local restaurant’, Indian Plaza provides the very highest quality of food.

To be fair, I went on a quiet Sunday afternoon so there would have been no excuse for poor service. That said, they excelled themselves.

For my starter, I shared the mixed Tandori and had the lamb shah-he-shofra (excuse spelling) for my main course.

We also had some poppadoms with a variety of sauces.

The starter and the poppadoms were fine and nothing too exceptional. However the main course was superb. The lamb shah-he-shofra was described as moderately hot and didn’t disappoint. In addition to that chilli after-taste, it had a sweet and sour undertone which provided an interesting fusion of tastes.

As for the service, it was attentive without being too ‘in your face’. However, I don’t know how they would perform on a busy Friday or Saturday evening.

This place is definitely worth going out of your way for and if my experience is anything to go by, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.