We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good disabled facilities - shame about the room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Manchester Ashton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Manchester Ashton to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Manchester Ashton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pamir Drive | Ashton Under Lyne, Ashton-under-Lyne OL7 0PG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Manchester Ashton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ash Vale
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good disabled facilities - shame about the room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed two nights under a Groupon deal. I told the reservations office that my husband is disabled and we needed a room not too far from the lift which she said she would organise. We are both in our 70s and my husband is disabled with only one leg. When we arrived, with my husband wearing shorts, no help was proffered to help us get our luggage to the room. The room was 104 and very close to the lift. We discovered that it was a special room for disabled but heaven help anyone in a wheelchair who would not be able to open the door to the room as it was so heavy to push. It took all my strength to open it. The facilities in the bathroom were excellent with a wet room with a non slip floor, low level washbowl and ample grab rails. However in the room, there were no bedside tables. There was a shelf over the bed but this was covered in thick dust. The angle poise lamp did not work even though it was reported to maintenance, it was not fixed. The hanging rail for clothes was placed over a dressingtable type of cupboard so you could not hang long clothes onto it and what was beyond belief was that this rail was directly over the dressingtable mirror so you could not use the mirror because of the clothes hanging down. There were no instructions in the room regarding anything apart from a room service menu. Nothing with regard to breakfast times, meal times, spa facilities, etc. It was only when removing our clothes that we discovered a switch that opened the window.

When we went down for a meal on the 2nd night (as we had eaten out the first night), we were placed immediately behind a very noise hen party group. The noise was horrendous with all their high laughter, etc. It really affected my hearing aid as I could only pick up their noise and it was unbearable. We requested to be moved and the waitress who had shown us to the table said it was not possible. I found this strange as there were plenty of empty seats at the back of the restaurant. When a second waitress came to take the order, I had removed my aids as I could not cope and she kindly moved us to another table. I noticed during the course of the evening, that not all the other tables had been taken so why could we not have been moved in the first instance particularly as we were down early for a 7.00 meal?

For breakfast I had asked if they had green tea and was assured that they had. But it transpired that it was only peppermint or chamomile and blackcurrant. So many people drink green tea nowadays that it surprises me that a hotel of this size cannot cater. The eggs ran out and had to wait ages for a refill and the scrambled eggs looked like rubber. The bacon had been cooked so much, the rashers were joined together in threes and were difficult to separate.The breakfast waitresses were very cheerful and attention was paid to ensuring all tables were wiped clean after each person left. However at our age, I do object to being called "guys" by the young male waitor and find it disrespectful. When mentioning it to him that I was not used to being called a "guy" he said that the manager used this terminology. OK if you are young but not when you are older and this should be attended to.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but the room facilities, apart from the bathroom, made life very difficult and the lighting in the room was very dark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    164
    68
    38
    26
See reviews for
59
146
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hyde, united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for a Saturday night break. Interior of the hotel very pleasant. Rooms comfortable, but only as good as a Premier Inn and far more expensive. The food tries to be top quality but fails and is only typical below average "pub grub" quality. We ordered Nachos as a starter and 2 burgers and a Margherita Pizza as a main course. After waiting 20 minutes both courses arrived at the same time, so we sent back the mains. Then had to wait a further 40 minutes for the burgers and pizza!
When I complained the waitress did give us a free bottle of house wine which was something.
Also, a few years ago the breakfasts in Village Hotels were outstanding with a huge range of food on offer, now they are only average.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here on 21st and 22nd September in an Upper Deck Room. It was spotlessly clean and thoroughly enjoyable.

Food in the restaurant was to a high standard.

Staff were all very pleasant and friendly.

I would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Choose Upper Deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice hotel, modern rooms, friendly staff, very helpful. There's a Starbucks in the hotel. And the fitness facilities (used by the public as well) are great. Restaurant is so-so. Watch out for rooms right above the pub - they're entertained by noise from the public till late.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT right above the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel, it was a Friday night and there were a LOT of revellers hanging around... Quite drunk too... Not really how you would like to be greeted really.
The manager was asked by another member of staff, to sort out the " loutish" behaviour but refused and called security.. ( this gives An idea of the type of place you're dealing with)

On to the stay... Public- toilet style dispensers for soap, quite cheap. Shower was generally clean, room however had pillows thst were stained. Pillows were completely inadequate; No stuffing at all... I did not sleep at all and neither did my husband.

Not adequate for the ratings . Simple.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Away on business in the area, we paid £59 to stay on a bank holiday Monday and had a really good experience of the hotel. We've stayed at a few De Vere Village hotels and whilst they've all been good, this is the best to date. It was great value - especially as the nearest Premier Inn was the same price (if not more expensive) and minus the lovely room (complete with walk-in shower and air con) and leisure facilities. The pool was too cool for me but that was my only complaint (my husband and I were more than happy just to make use of the large spa pool and steam room though).

As with seemingly most Village hotels, they are a little in the middle of nowhere but for business this is fine. And we had a surprisingly good meal at Chiquitos just across the way (great value, surprisingly tasty food and very friendly service).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Very smart and modern hotel and easy to find just outside Ashton centre.Got a large gym and swimming pool.Also has a restaurant,pub and a Starbucks.The pub prices are expensive but it is open late if you are staying.Staff are friendly.Got a Friday night special offer and got a standard room for £45.Have also had a king size room on a Friday for £65.Would recommend for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Manchester Ashton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Manchester Ashton

Address: Pamir Drive | Ashton Under Lyne, Ashton-under-Lyne OL7 0PG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Manchester Ashton)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Ashton-under-Lyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ashton-under-Lyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Manchester Ashton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Manchester Ashton is located to the East of Manchester City Centre, close to the City of Manchester Stadium and Sports City complexes and just 8 miles from Manchester Airport. The hotel is within easy reach to Cineworld, Hollywood Bowl and Ikea. Village Urban Resort Manchester Ashton has 120 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence and free WI-FI throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Manchester Ashton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Ashton Moss Under Lyne
Village Urban Resort Manchester Ashton Ashton-Under-Lyne, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Manchester Ashton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.