We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place , fab meal.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heroes of Waterloo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Heroes of Waterloo
3 Mossley Road, Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 9DQ, England
0161 830 0999
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely place , fab meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I don't often write a review but I felt I had to say what a lovely pub this is. The food was excellent and the staff very attentive and helpful. The food was all freshly cooked and the chips were the best I've tasted. Overall excellent value and would definetely recommend .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    33
    20
    10
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Regular visitor but found latest visit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Been to the Heroes many times and ive always been impressed with the food and service.

Felt really disappointed after a weekend visit. The service was by the regular staff who seemed very grumpy and like they didnt want to be there.

I wondered if we were on rations when the food arrive as despite paying £12 for a steak, got a steak and very little else. I left feeling hungry.

Doubt ill return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Ho so good .... @ Heroes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Excellent food and service. Good quality and attention to detail. Very nice decor inside. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I wanted to go the Heroes of Warterloo ever since it was re-modeled as I used to go there as a local pub a long time ago.

Though a little sad that my youthfull local had been changed so dramatically i was very glad that the change was so good.
A great menu and great sevice.
I would highly recomend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice food, good friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Food reasonably priced, good selection, friendly staff and good service. The place does lack atmosphere… the decorate is very bland and lacks character.. a bit clinical but good if you just want a quick quiet meal out. The food was fresh, good quality and good selection on the menu whether you want a meal or just a bar snack (sandwich/salads). I would visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heroes of Waterloo also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Heroes of Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heroes of Waterloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.