We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very uncomfortable meal!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Heroes of Waterloo

Heroes of Waterloo
3 Mossley Road, Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 9DQ, England
0161 830 0999
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very uncomfortable meal!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

For my 30th birthday we ordered the mixed grill which is the most expensive meal on the menu, we would definatly not have it again! There was hardly any meat on the plate and the biggest piece of meat which was the gamon was that salty my partner couldnt even eat it!
We nicely mentioned that the gamon which was left was too salty to eat, for the waitress then to say pulling her face" well gamon is normally quite salty" she was really rude! If it wasnt for it being my birthday we would of left there and then, as we were made to feel really uncomfortable!!!!!!!!!!!!
I did email the resturant to mention we had been unhappy with no response!
All i can say is very high resturant prices, for very very poor pub food!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“so close to being good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was so looking forward to eating here. My wife had been for a xmas function and had enjoyed it. When I saw the menu I thought this is the kind of food that I enjoy. While the food was cooked well it just lacked that bit of flavour. When asked what happened to the seasoning I was told that they have a lot of older people who eat there and dont like salt or too much on their food. The pigeon was cooked just under, for a starter, and lacked the flavour. The pork was good but the chocolat fondant on the desert had no liquid chocolate in it. Sorry there was just a trace.

We had arrived at 5.55 for the meal and were told that we had to eat at the front in the bar area as the dining troom did not open till 6pm. 5 minutes?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Visited 5/2 and impressed with beer and menu. However, fobbed off by waiter after waitng more than 30 minutes for 2 sandwiches. Shame, as looks decent for Ashton and not many good eating places around. But, no wonder pubs are closing if customer service is poor

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

saw your reviews went for sunday lunch the set price meals are amazing value for money and freshly cooked and a very good choice.The staff have a lovely smile on there face and very attentive to your needs.would go again very soon. Better than the bland carvery food you get on a sunday

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home cooked and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

First time here yesterday lunch time. I was unsure what to expect having read through the reviews. I don't know what pub some of these bad reviews have come as my partner and I had a great experience. Yes the pub was very busy...heaving infact, but what a lovely buzz it gave the place. The waiting on staff were clearly run off there feet yet managed to keep all the customers happy chatting to customers when they could and providing a good timely service. We didn't wait too long at all for our starters or main course. I ordered off the early diners menu and the portions are very generous and it is not 'ping' food...it tastes home cooked, chips to die for, possibly a little on the greasy side, only just though. all in all, attentive staff, good atmosphere and value for money... we will be back. Thank you

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heroes of Waterloo also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Heroes of Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heroes of Waterloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.