We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, very poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chiquito - Ashton Moss

Chiquito - Ashton Moss
Ashton Leisure Park, Ashton-under-Lyne OL7 0BG, England
0161 342 1840
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Decent food, very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We went at around 1630 on a Saturday and the restaurant was around half-full. The service was appalling. Despite there being no line, we had to wait five minutes for someone to seat us. Meanwhile staff walked past apparently oblivious.

It also took almost fifteen minutes to get a bill at the end with no server apparently assigned to our area.

The food was good, the drinks fine but expensive - £3 for a pint of soft drink.

There are much better branches elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    15
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Better branches of Chiquitos elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Went here with my partner as we were passing and are very keen on Chiquitos.

We arrived about 7pm on a Friday evening and the place wasn't jam packed and there was plenty of tables still free. We were seated in a corner that had a big party table set up, even though there was plenty of tables available a little further away. In hindsight, I should have really asked to move, but you would expect waitresses to realise that most people don't want to have to listen to a group of teenagers screaming and shouting when there is lots of space in other places.

Ordered a garlic bread with cheese and as usual was very good. In all other branches this is dressed with a little bit of fresh chilli but in this instance it was a handful of fairly wilted watercress. Very strange.

I ordered a pulled pork quesedilla with salad and my partner had enchiladas. When they came I was impressed at the quesedilla as it seemed to have three parts to it, whereas most places have two, however the salad was pretty grotty. Obviously straight from a bag, with a huge dollop of dressing on the top - far too overpowering. Other branches of Chiquitos obviously make the salads fresh and have big chunks of tomato and cucumber, and freshly washed lettuce, whereas this one had a few random leaves, a bit of shredded carrot (which was the giveaway it was out of a bag) and some radish - not exactly fine cuisine. That said, the pulled pork was very nice. My partners enchiladas were also very good.

Ordered a cocktail which came quickly and was nice, but a couple of little niggles. Firstly there was a strawberry on the top which was all withered and wrinkly, and obviously hadn't been kept in the fridge. Secondly they had piled the ice so high it was over the lip of the cup so as it melted not only did it dilute my cocktail it also melted all over the table.

I like Chiquitos so will go again however will remember to next time go to the one near Old Trafford, or when at home, the one in Sheffield which is hands down the best.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Raining Bank Holiday monday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Typical bank holiday Monday, "Raining" fed up lets go out for a meal, thought of all the usual places,nothing seemed to inspire me, having been to Chiquito's a few times my wife and I decided its not far to travel, foods always been okay, decision made, booked on line for 18:00, arrived early,glad I booked very busy, bought a drink whilst waiting to be seated, 5 minutes later we sat down, table was a little cramped squeezing through I cleared the contents off the adjacent table with my coat, we sat down waiter service was prompt orders taken, starters my wife had a salad I had potato skins which came with a small pot of dressing, the skins came piping hot and with the dressing tasted good, my wife enjoyed the salad, main course my wife decided on Spicy Chicken Quesadillas, whilst I had Steak Fajitas, we had to wait about 20 minutes for the main course, which was fine, My Fajitas came minus the wraps, however when questioned they arrived prompt, my Fajitas came on a very hot skillet, which as a result of being sat at a cramped table was spitting hot oil some of which went on to me, however this did not deter me, my wife enjoyed he Quesadillas and my Fajitas were very good, we had a voucher for 20% off the meal which even though it was a bank holiday was accepted. All my visits to Chiquito's have been enjoyable, and will be going back again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Awful food, decent service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

The food here was awful. Really bad. Cheap convenience food for people who don't really mind what it tastes like or have never had better. I should have known what i was in for when i walked through the door and saw almost the entire contents of the local estates out for their weekly treat.

I love Mexican food normally but this was by far the worst I've had.

Go to Nando's next door. Way better tasting food.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Took my mum for lunch on a sat afternoon & we were very impressed. We were given free nachos & dip to start & had a fab main meal. Waiter Service was very friendly & kept checking if everthing was ok. Atmosphere is great & will defo be returning. Bit pricey but food great.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquito - Ashton Moss also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Chiquito - Ashton Moss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiquito - Ashton Moss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.