We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisure Island Funpark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canvey Island Seafront

Canvey Island Seafront
Eastern Esplanade | Canvey Island, SS8 7JQ, England
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Leisure Island Funpark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Went back to Leisure Island today. What a great day. My 3 children cost me only £15.00 for all of them all day. £1.00 for chips 50p for bottles of water. What a gem that only now is getting to be known about. Parking only £2.10 all day and room for everyone. They have details of the new rides and attractions that are being installed for next year. If you have children under 9, they say under 11 but really its for under 9s its a must.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, Manager at Canvey Island Seafront, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for these kind words. It is our intention to give families value for money. With our wristbands being priced at £5.00 each and staying at that price for the 2013 season we believe we achieve this. Every year we improve the park facilities, giving families and guests added value.
Thanks again Scott Petty. (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    17
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Terrible....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Not a good place to go: needs modernisation in a vast way, very outdated, needs cleaning up and in some cases demolition.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Dated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Sorry, but nothing to recommend. The beach is very stony, the general area is run down with old tired amusements, not for us or our grandson.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Typical seaside resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I live on the island and ofter go running/ cycling along the seafront so my review is based on that rather than the seaside/ funfair aspect. The conservation area is great for bird watching, Canvy Heights is lovely for a picnic with great views to Southend and Whitstable. The nearer you get to the actual sea front the more run down the area gets. Local dog walkers spoil it as the place smells of dog mess, there were rumours of fines but I have yet to see this in action. Lots of litter (I guess this is just the lazy youth of today's mentality that someone else will clear it up and is everywhere not just Canvey) but is an eyesore. Lots of weeds, and just general neglect. I used to take my niece to the amusements but even these are old and dated and half the machines don't work or the slots are blocked. The Labworth cafe is lovely and worth a visit for a snack but otherwise this area needs an upgrade, such a shame as it could be lovely.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“SOUTHEND IT'S NOT NOR BENIDORM”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

When i was last there last year, canvey looked very grey and forlorn especially the sea front and the tired old funfair trying to drum up business from a vanishing clientele. This was the first week of october when the good weather graced it self to us. Although there is a very nice cafe along the sea front wall

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canvey Island Seafront also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Canvey Island, Essex
 
Canvey Island, Essex
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Canvey Island Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canvey Island Seafront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.