We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coombe House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cawsand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coombe House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Coombe House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Coombe Farm, Fourlanesend, Cawsand PL10 1LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Cawsand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We also stayed last weekend, but ony for a break. Jen and Alan run a lovely B&B and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Breakfast of course was excellent and the rooms were also lovely, each with their own charachter.

As for the villages of Kingsand and Cawsand we did of course take in all 4 of the pubs and all were welcoming, we chose to eat in the rising Sun which is tiny but with good food. Couple of small shops provide your essentials and from Coombe House its only a short walk to either village.

If you have time I strongly recommend the walk out to Rame Head and back via Whitsand Bay, on the way back take the road and you have a walk of about 4 hours with stunning views.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
73
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at Coombe House this weekend as it was conveniently located for a wedding we attended at Polhawn Fort. The property was really smart with great views and an easy walk to the coast. Jen cooks an awesome breakfast and delivers it in a super calm and friendly manner. Nothing seems too much to ask. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at Coombe House at the end of August when we visited the area to view the Fort for our son's wedding next March. Jen is amazing - she cannot do enough for her guests and it proved to be an excellent stay. Her breakfasts are amazing (all cooked by her other half!!) and she made sure that we had plenty of everything. Nothing was too much trouble. She was also very informative and gave us some very good ideas for next March!!

We have now booked again with Jen for the wedding itself - thought it would be much quieter there than staying at the Fort!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Coombe House is a great B&B for two main reasons.
Firstly,The large room has a wonderful view down towards Cawsand and the sea.
Secondly, Jen is one of the best hostesses we have had. Nothing was too much trouble, soya milk & honey brought in specially for my wife, and she was very informative about the area. Everywhere was spotless.
It is also one of the few places in Kingsand & Cawsand with parking spaces. It is about 15 minutes walk down to the villages but 30 minutes back
This hidden part of Cornwall is a real gem with plenty to see and do and some very good pubs down in Kingsand & Cawsand.
Only minor gripe was that the television in the room was very small for such a large room

Room Tip: Pick the big room with the view down to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in february,booked late and turned up late but were still given a warm welcome at 10.30pm,we couldn't find fault with anything,the food was great as was our room,we would certainly stay again,thanks jen..x

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

we stayed here Aug 24th for 2nts whilst attending a wedding nearby. Would defo recommend this lovely B & B! Room was lovely and immaculate with a gorgeous sea view, the owner Jen was friendly and helpfull and the brekie was yummy with plenty of choice and well cooked. The only down side was the lack of en-suite, I found this a bit difficult with 2 young kids! Other than that I could not fault the place :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

we stayed at coombe house for two nights as we were attending a wedding nearby at polhawn fort ,Jan met us and is a perfect host ,how you would like all b and b owners to be ! lovely big family room at front of house ,which was tastefully decorated and had everything we needed ,breakfast was great too ,we would definitely reccomend to anyone ,the area is stunning and Jan is lovely .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coombe House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Coombe Farm, Fourlanesend, Cawsand PL10 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Cawsand
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cawsand
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coombe House is a newly renovated farmhouse refurbished to a very high standard yet retaining many of the original features. All five rooms are very spacious and all the comforts expected of a high quality guesthouse are included. Coombe House has a stunning sea view and private enclosed garden where guests can sit, relax and take in the views. It also has ample carparking, unusual for the area. Coombe House is within easy walking of the beaches, coastal paths and amenities that Kingsand and Cawsand have to offer. Mount Edgcumbe a Country Park is also right on its doorstep. Coombe House is ideally located for guests attending weddings at either Polhawn Fort or Mount Edgcumbe Country Park. It is also close to HMS Raleigh fir passing out parades. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coombe House Hotel Cawsand
Coombe House b&b
Coombe House Bed And Breakfast Cawsand, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coombe House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.