We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy Room. ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver's Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oliver's Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Needingworth Road, St. Ives PE27 5JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Ives
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Filthy Room. ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My parents 50 wedding anniversary nearly ruined by this place! Room was filthy. Huge amounts of dust. About half a cm thick in places. Could not believe they said it had been cleaned. Even the replacement room needed attention. Staff ok but didn't seem to be familiar with good hotel practices. Never again.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    23
    21
    15
See reviews for
12
25
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I was worried reading some of the reviews on this hotel after my husband had booked it as a last minute option. However it was nowhere near as bad as I had anticipated. Staff were really pleasant, on arrival we were shown to a room in an annexe and it was a bit dusty, and windows and net curtains looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a while. However, the bathroom (only a shower in it) and the bedding was spotless. They'd upgraded us to a superior room so bottled water and biscuits provided. Toiletries were provided, and there were plenty of towels and pillows. A problem was sorted quickly with the tv. Breakfast was fresh and cooked to order but the fruit option consisted of tinned oranges, we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as the only vegetarian option was pasta and I'm not a huge fan so gave it a miss. The location is good, five minute walk into town, supermarket nearby and lots of places to eat and drink. This is a family run hotel and they're working hard to survive in a challenging climate but they need to up their cleaning standards and look for the cobwebs and clean windows. The prices are on the low end though so have to say it's good value for money. We've stayed in a lot worse and paid a lot more!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We booked this last minute via the web. The transaction was very easy and reception staff very welcoming and efficient. We were shown to our room with an offer of bag carrying, very unusual these days. The room was large, bright and well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, bottled water (no glasses though),fan etc. The bed was large and extremely comfortable with beautiful fresh, crisp linen but with only 3 pillows. The furniture was dated both in the room and in the public areas but it kind of worked. The public lounge was filled with squashy red sofas but no cushions but they were comfortable and the bar prices were very reasonable. We didn't use the restaurant but the cooked breakfast was superb and freshly cooked with an impressive additional choice of cereals, dried fruit and fresh fruit and toppings for toast. This was a last minute visit due to our daughters hospital admission and when we finally got our good news the barman bought us out a bottle of bubbles which was a lovely touch and very thoughtful. We did ask on night two for another pillow and more milk, we were advised as they were fully booked they weren't sure another pillow could be supplied but within minutes this and the milk were delivered. Our only complaint here was the dust in our room on all the skirting boards, door panelling and the furniture panels in our room and some of the grouting would have benefitted from some bleach/limescale remover. We paid a reduced fee of £58 nightly which we were satisfied with although at the full price of £90 we would have been disappointed and felt that the room did not warrant this cost.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Room was full of cobwebs. Not clean at all. I complained and nothing was done despite being told it would be hoovered straight away. Shower was a dribble at best. Then I noticed the tap not working in sink. Complained again and was moved to another room which was better.
For £70 I expected it for be much nicer. Thankfully I was only there one night!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Ives hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed for one night to vist friends this place is a hotel from hell were to start.first of all way over priced for the room it was filthy to be a better word and not just our room we found everthing was coverd in dust bird pho on net curtains that looks like there've never been washed... Decor is way out dated drinks were very over priced and breakfast was a disaster one positive it had hot water and a Powerfull shower which has no point because u still fill dirty.... This place should be closed down till they sort out the hygiene at least

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We have been to Olivers Lodge several times for Sunday Lunch mainly for family dinners.

The meals are always good and hearty. For £12.00 you get a three course lunch with tea or coffee. We are always made to feel very welcome, by all the staff and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Very friendly service, we arrived late and they were more than accommodating. It has a good feel, nice small bar/sitting area, and breakfast was well catered and freshly made. We also left early, before normal breakfast hours and they were kind enough to leave out some breakfast provisions for us.
The rooms are comfortable we were in a separate wing, beds were fine but I have stayed in cleaner rooms, I felt it needed a good "Spring clean", the room we stayed in had an updated bathroom though which was well appointed. Saying this it did not bother us as we felt welcomed like old friends which was kind of nice as some larger hotels that are clinically clean can seem "cold'. Not Oliver's Lodge, it is like staying at your grandmas house warm and welcoming although a little dated.
Plenty of car parking and about a ten minute stroll to the centre of town where the charming town square has plenty of facilities and restaurants next to the river.
If you like those clinically clean hotels, stay elsewhere but if you like to feel welcome and cosy this will suit your needs.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms do not have lifts so if mobility is an issue ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oliver's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Lodge Hotel

Address: Needingworth Road, St. Ives PE27 5JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St. Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Oliver's Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Hotel St. Ives
Olivers Hotel St Ives
Oliver's Lodge Hotel St. Ives, Cambridgeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver's Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.