We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good One.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver's Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oliver's Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Needingworth Road, St. Ives PE27 5JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in St. Ives
Dersingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good One.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We went so we could stay local to a Ladies night we were attending.
We were welcomed warmly and show to out room.
Nice room, en.suite with bath, TV with lots of channels, tea and coffee in the room.
I need to turn on the heating when we got in but in these times that's getting to be normal.
When I looked at the menu I didn't want to go out.
It had Asian and English and if it tasted like the breakfast we had the next morning it would have been great.
The breakfast was varied and plentiful.
We enjoyed our stay here and would like to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    20
    19
    13
See reviews for
11
20
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted and escorted to our room. The room was in fairly clean condition – the carpet was new and the bed very comfortable.
The bathroom looked as though it had been tiled in the last 12 months but did need a good dust all over. The shower was appalling.
We decided to eat in the restaurant and were told to book as it was to be fully booked, we never saw it full. It was ok, rather overpriced and no atmosphere at all. We got drinks from the bar which stayed open.
There was an odd smell to the corridor but not noticeable from the room. Breakfast was minimal and the sausage was not hot but it was edible. All of the staff were helpful and carried out their duties diligently.
Overall I would not think it worth the money they charge per room, it was rather like Fawlty Towers and had no atmosphere to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Having been an AA member since 1984 I have normally been satisfied with the category of hotel but this is definitely not a 3 star hotel although a certificate hangs in the reception booth. There only appears to be about 5 members of staff, the rooms as viewed on the website may look modern and up to date but this does not reflect the space available nor the standard of facilities. The bathroom upgrade which has apparently taken place is basic at the very least and it is obvious that this is a tired and outdated building that is in need of a total refurbishment . The breakfast is the worst we have experienced in over 30 years in a hotel. They can't even cook toast, the mushrooms were tinned and the tomatoe(s) turned out to be a quarter of a tomato! I would not recommend this hotel in any respect.

Room Tip: Unable to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Ives hotels

Nottingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I only stayed one might, the room I had was in need of a thorough clean top to bottom, the window was filthy as we're the net curtains , the bath rooms tiled wall looked as though it had not been cleaned in a long time, the bedroom carpet need a good vacuume clean, overall it was pretty grim.
The conservatory Resturant was cold and un inviting with a view out on to what I could only describe as a building site with the odd pile of debris around the edges, the food was adequate but nothing special, I would have expected a bit more for £60 a night, £30-40 would have been nearer the mark, even at that price you wouldn't expect it to be filthy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Unable to verify some of the poor ratings as my son and I have a lovely over night stop on a mini cycling tour.

The only downside was the small cooked breakfast - plenty for a child, but not for a adult and could have been a little hotter.

Value for money? At £69 for a clean comfy twin room, yes

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

A lovely over night stay on a weekend cycling tour with 10 yo son.

Room was lovely and clean (no signs of any cobwebs) and staff were polite.

Was concerned with the number of people in the bar, but couldn't hear them in the room.

Food was lovely and plentiful. Can't really comment on the negative reviews as we didn't have any of the same concerns.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Staff very good and polite,I had a single bedroom,plenty of room,comfortable bed.The wash basin was blocked,that was a little inconvenient,I reported that when I left.The breakfast was very good.Tea and coffee making facilities,plus bottled water.

Room Tip: My room was quiet,no outside noise,just a few doors banging inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oliver's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Lodge Hotel

Address: Needingworth Road, St. Ives PE27 5JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St. Ives
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in St. Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oliver's Lodge Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Oliver's Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Hotel St. Ives
Olivers Hotel St Ives
Oliver's Lodge Hotel St. Ives, Cambridgeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver's Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.