We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nights sleep and really friendly hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver's Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oliver's Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Needingworth Road, St. Ives PE27 5JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Ives
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great nights sleep and really friendly hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stopped for just one night here last week on the off chance and to break up a long journey.

On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and showed me to my room.

The room itself was comfortable and the bathroom, although small I thought was great, clean and tidy.

The food is tasty and the bar has a wide variety to stop you having to walk into St. Ives.

Breakfast was tasty and I'd stop here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    23
    21
    15
See reviews for
12
25
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The room was dirty - including a really nasty stain on the curtain and cobwebs everywhere. We had to remove a spider from the kettle.
The breakfast was inedible - except for the eggs, which the attentive waitress made sure were done exactly as we asked.
The staff (mostly Eastern European) were polite and helpful, but this didn't make up for the poor level of cleanlness.
The decor was stuck in a 1970s timewarp and the bathroom very small and dingy.
They only supplied towels for one person (there were 2 of us staying and paying).
Bed was clean and of adequate size. Headboard was loose, though.
Seems to be popular with parties of loud Northerners - and sales reps!
Is handy for the town centre and the bus to Cambridge. Though you could hear the traffic on the bypass despite the double glazing.
The old part of the building looks impressive from a distance. Not so sure about the extension, though.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Ives hotels

France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My wife and I first stayed Dec 2010. Our first impression was not good as the radiator in the room allocated did not appear to work; we complained and were given a courteous apology and moved to another room. This was airy and clean, if a little old-fashioned (however, not a bad thing).
We did not eat dinner although other guests, eating in the bar area (their choice) said their Indian meals were excellent. Breakfast, next morning, was very good and we left with no complaints, regarding cleanliness, comfort nor service.
In March 2012 we were again in the area and booked to stay for two nights. We were given the same, pleasant room. We ate in the first night and I was very pleased with my Indian meal although my wife was unhappy with her steak which was overcooked.
The staff were courteous, the room comfortable/clean and the breakfasts good.
In settling the bill I mentioned my wife's disappointment with her meal and recieved an apology and the meal was deducted from the bill without demur.

I have no qualms regarding staying again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I was anxious before I went there, having looked up Trip Advisor only after I had booked. I rang to book but was confronted by a woman's voice who said, in a none too friendly voice she was in a meeting and would ring back - she didn't. Eventually, I booked with Late Rooms so I guess their profit margin was less as a result.

The welcome at the hotel was good. Room was very good - clean, quiet, fridge, kettle with usual sachets of stuff, large with good-sized bathroom, too. The only very slight niggle was no shelf in the bathroom and a poor mirror. Breakfast was ordinary but nothing to complain about. Cost was ok.

I don't know whether they have "cleaned" up their act or some reviewers were just unlucky but I'd stay there again.

I needed central St Ives as we were going to a large birthday party in the town - so location was ideal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The staff were pleasant enough. Bedroom ok but very cold. Bathroom very clean. Restaurant functional - no character. Two of the items on menu not available - although being first in restaurant.Breakfast not the best I have had.
Overall value for money low but would use again as the alternatives in St Ives are few and this hotel was only minutes away from my appointment the following morning.

Room Tip: Rooms at back probably quieter in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Not good really.

Bedroom had cobwebs almost everywhere. The bathroom was disgusting, paint, mess, cobwebs everywhere. Double bed looked clean however.

Bar is OK, quite small. Did not bother with the 'Restaurant' - nobody was in there!

Very much like a B and B and not a hotel.

Staff were very pleasant however.

The biggest issue I have is that some of the hotel photo's on their website cannot be of this hotel as it is completely and utterly different. It looks like a modern, chic and contemporary place on their website, however, in reality it could not be more further from the truth - shabby rooms, old decor and poor cleanliness. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Basic rooms, poor breakfast, no value for money, central location, free wifi

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oliver's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Lodge Hotel

Address: Needingworth Road, St. Ives PE27 5JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St. Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Oliver's Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Hotel St. Ives
Olivers Hotel St Ives
Oliver's Lodge Hotel St. Ives, Cambridgeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver's Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.