We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the simple life at the Uylenburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buitengoed De Uylenburg

Buitengoed De Uylenburg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Buitengoed De Uylenburg to your Saves list
Buitengoed De Uylenburg
Noordeindseweg 70, 2645 AJ Delfgauw, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Delfgauw
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Enjoy the simple life at the Uylenburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Expect nothing fancy, but if you can appreciate a taste of Dutch country life, be sure to book at the Uylenburg. We stayed at the hotel after dining at Cafe du Midi, see other review. The hotel is in a seperate "boerderij" style building which has a Dutch homely atmosphere. The rooms are clean, simple, basic, with lovely beds and on the ground floor there's a small outside terrace per room. Breakfast is served in the "herberg" where you join the other guests at the large table, but get your own portion of bread, eggs, croissants and the lot. There's a campsite, a great restaurant (cafe du midi) and a couple of 'rooms' (they're building a yurt as we speak) for business on the premises as well so you're in for a mix of guests and activities. Staff are very friendly, welcoming and attentive.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have a small outside terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Wonderful stay at a lovely location. Room was old Dutch decor with clean and modern bathroom.. It was the perfect Netherlands experience for us. Walking and bicycling trails were close. We had a delightful local experience and loved the restaurant on the premises..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

What a great place to relax and get away from the crowds. We found it a nice retreat after days filled with sight seeing in crowded Holland. Big room for four of us with a refrigerator and table to eat at we did our own breakfasts in the room. Rate was best we found in Holland and proprietess was friendly and helpful. The kids loved feeding the nearby chickens, watching the horses and sheep, and exploring. Delft is great to explore. Bikes were available and they did our laundry for a reasonable 8 euros.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Stayed here with my husband for two nights. The location is gorgeous, out in the farmlands and lovely for long walks or bike rides. You are a bit of a walk from the center of Delft itself, so it is best if you have bikes. By bike you are in the center very quick (10 min).

The Cafe du Midi, on the property but separate from the hotel, was delicious and everything seemed very fresh and organic. The breakfast at the hotel itself was nothing spectacular and I might recommend not paying for the hotel breakfast and dining at the cafe instead.

The staff at the hotel were friendly if not always easy to find.

Our room was clean, very small, and comfortable, but you could hear everything going on in the lobby and halls, as everything is very close together. There were no amenities in the bathroom besides soap and towels-- luckily we had our own shampoo, etc. Free wifi worked fine.

We are pretty familiar with Delft and it is not easy to find a hotel with as competitive a price. However, I think it is more the location and the cost than the actual hotel that make this a good option. (The review makes you choose yes/no "would you recommend this hotel to a friend"--it would depend on the friend's priorities in travel.)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed here for three nights. The room was upstairs at the back and spacious, charming and quiet. It had an ensuite bathroom, small fridge and a table with four chairs. You could get breakfast in the hotel basement or in the adjoining (popular) Cafe du Midi, which is run separately. The cafe was very pleasant and we ate there several times - it was more of a restaurant. The weather was very hot and people were eating at tables outside under the trees and on the terrace. Adjoining the cafe is an enclosed area containing a small family of goats and some chickens. Children were allowed to go in there - our three really enjoyed that! Our only gripe was we did not have our own transport and it was awkward to get to as there is no public transport going all the way. The nearest shop is about 800m away at a campsite. The hotel has about 4 adult bikes available for rental, one with a child seat, but we needed two for our 9 and 11 year-olds and there were no smaller ones available. This would be an ideal place to stay if you were on a cycling holiday. The cafe had lots of cyclists stopping off for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Delfgauw Hotel de Uylenburg is a pretty experience, if you like to spend some time far away from city noise and traffic jam. It is not a 5 star hotel. It is clean, beds are comfortable, rooms are large enough.
Especially family rooms are nice for families with children.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed at this hotel mainly because it is only five minutes from my brothers house.
We are not keen on city centre hotels so, this one was perfect for us.
Not the easiest place to find but we got there eventually!
We stayed in the first room behind the reception desk and found it a bit noisy but, the room and especially the beds were great.
Everything was clean and tidy, wi-fi worked great, breakfast was excellent.
A small tip; The cafe bar next door only accepts cash, no credit or debit cards!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buitengoed De Uylenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buitengoed De Uylenburg

Address: Noordeindseweg 70, 2645 AJ Delfgauw, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delfgauw
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Delfgauw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsNL and Odigeo so you can book your Buitengoed De Uylenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buitengoed De Uylenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.