We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic service, basic room swiss price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Aigle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Aigle to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Aigle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand-Rue 27, Couvet CH-2108, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couvet
42660
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Basic service, basic room swiss price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

One night in this "family" hotel, room was large, bathroom was out of age in terms of accommodations and pieces of equipment. Breakfast was correct but far from 2014 standards for this range of price. Some persons of the staff were pretty helpful. A little bit disappointing ...

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odile_Roulet, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de l'Aigle, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Jojo,
Thank you very much for your feedback, which will help us enhance our services. We are pleased that you appreciated our staff, because we are committed to provide the most welcoming experience possible. However, we are sorry to hear that the breakfast buffet didn’t meet your expectations and we would be happy to know what you would have expected, so please write us an email or if you come back to our hotel, we would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly.
As for the bathrooms, it is part of our near-future projects to renovate them.
We hope to see you again in Hotel de l’Aigle!
Best regards from the Val-de-Travers,
Odile Roulet
Hotel de l'Aigle
Couvet / Val-de-Travers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spiez, Switzerland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice old building in the main street of Couvet. The room was big and clean, sparsely furnished but with only a very narrow (1.40m) double bed. This was however comfortable and the location is quiet. The bathroom was cramped and the fittings a little worn. Breakfast was good. We found the price however far too high, only justified by the lack of alternatives in the immediate region!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odile_Roulet, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de l'Aigle, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear CHvoyageur,
Thank you very much for your nice review and comments, which are really helpful to enhance the quality of our services.
We do realise that some of our bathrooms are rather old-fashioned, even if they are still in good condition and always clean, of course. Therefore it is part of our projects to renovate them.
Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you soon again in Val-de-Travers!
Best regards,
Odile Roulet
Hôtel de l'Aigle
Couvet / Val-de-Travers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the l'Aigle hotel for 1 night during a hiking weekend. The service was friendly, rooms spacious and clean but rather basic. The price is on the higher side for Switzerland but not excessive for a small village, especially considering the excellent breakfast that comes with it. dinner was fantastic as well, great meats. Agree though that the roesti is not well done so choose another side. Wonderful touch: the sugus at the reception - very traditional brand of Swiss bonbons :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed for just one night in order to do some walking in the local area and visit the Creux du Van.

The room was fantastically huge, but in spite of the non-smoking signs all over the place still smelled of stale ashtrays! Comfortable beds and quiet too. No minibar in the room (but drinks available on the landing) and not much in the way of bathroom toiletries. Old fashioned curtain in the bath for your showers which I'm not overly keen on either.

We had a nice dinner in the restaurant - the service was pleasant and we enjoyed having the absinthe explained to us. Food was a mix - the chasse was apparently very good (chevreuil) but the rösti was not so interesting. Only Swiss wines on the menu, with very Swiss prices too! But the flies were a pain ... nobody heard of fly paper here?

10 Swiss francs for our little dog was less than we have paid elsewhere. But still.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

The hotel looked recently refurbished. It has a pretty exterior and the rooms are spacious and very clean. They appear well soundproofed on the one hand: We didn't hear our neighbours. On the other hand, our room was right above the restaurant which meant we could hear late diners/ drinkers and were disturbed after going to bed. This was despite having asked for a quiet room when we booked. The best aspect about the hotel were the very friendly staff and the good location. It is in the centre of town but traffic is not an issue. We had no car but it was an easy walk to and from the rail station and the bus connections are really good. It is a great place from which to start fantastic day hikes. We enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

I stayed in this hotel in April, it is in a quiet village about 35 km from Neuchatel.

When I arrived at the hotel I almost turned around and drove away, as it was undergoing construction and was completely covered in scaffolding. However the interference from the construction was minimal, and didn't begin early in the morning, or go on late at night.

The rooms are very basic, but they are clean and the bed is comfortable, although they could do with providing more pillows.

The highlight for me was the hotel restaurant. The food was super and the service was very good. The staff were always very friendly.

When booking this hotel, I was charged a much higher rate to my travelling companion, which had been booked by the same travel agent. The hotels explanation for this was that our travel agent booked my room through the Minitel website, and my companions room was booked directly with the hotel. So I would exercise caution when booking to ensure you get the best rate
Although it must be said that even with the higher rate, this hotel was still reasonable

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Aigle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Aigle

Address: Grand-Rue 27, Couvet CH-2108, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Couvet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couvet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Aigle 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de l'Aigle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couvet Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Aigle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.