We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to always be remembered.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Casa da Eira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added A Casa da Eira to your Saves list
A Casa da Eira
Lugar Albergueria, 31 | Cerreda, 32164 Nogueira de Ramuin, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
California
1 review
“A Place to always be remembered.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

This is a place that is special in every sense lodging should. The owners, Susanne and Adolpho, are doing a thing they are just naturals at. They are true hosts, who provide a retreat like no other.
My visit to A Casa Da Eira, a "Casa Rural" was for both business and leisure as I was there working as a writing coach with one of my colleagues. We spent 4 nights and I am trying to see when I can go visit again.
I found this place on Trip Advisor while in Santiago, corresponded by email, I was replied to immediately by Susanne.
When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Susanne, shown around and given much information about the area along with walking GPS's for certain treks. Susanne's husband, Adolpho appeared serving great breakfasts at a rustic farm table, offering information about where to go and what to see as well as explanations of the culture. When my Spanish failed me and I know no Galician, Susanne explained everything, speaking Spanish, German and English. We enjoyed two of Adolpho's and Susanne's traditional Galician dinners and were well accommodated when we wanted to fix a small something of our own.
I was given a tour of the rooms and a new apartment they are doing now. They have a lovely sense of mixing the very old with new and it creates an atmosphere of calm, living culture, and history.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

all the other reviews have it spot on. The place is wonderful with excellent views and a wonderful sense of stillness. The hosts, Adolfo and Suzanne, were very attentive but never intrusive and helped us to make the most of our time here with great suggestions and useful maps. This is the perfect place to stay if you want to be away from the bustle of everyday life and soak up the atmosphere of the Galician countryside.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

A 'get away from it all' place up in the mountains surrounded by beautiful scenery. Meals were set at a big refectory table and everyone was friendly. Our host, Adolfo, would come and join us and make suggestions for trips, answer our questions etc If our Spanish let us down, we could ask Susanne who spoke excellent English. We are both vegetarian, which is unusual in Spain, but Susanne served up gourmet veggie food and adapted locl dishes so we could sample traditional Spanish food.

The room was clean and facilities were good, luxury soaps etc in the shower room. There were two sitting rooms, a garden and a balcony we could use. We were able to take a boat trip up the gorge, visit the hot springs (free or small fee) and explore beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We enjoyed to stay in an old farm adapted to modern confort, quiet garden and beautiful village surroundings! Excellent galicien food prepared by Adolfo and Suzanna with vegetables and fruits from their garden: breakfast and dinner.
As we liked to explore the area by walking this was the place to be: we received a lot of information and even the use of a "walking GPS". A local village pub, swimming pools nearby, "pulpo fiesta"....we learned to know it all thanks to our "house lords".
We recommand "A Casa da Eira" for people who like walking , relaxing and real good food. And all this for a real honest price!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We rented the apartment in Casa da Eira for 3 nights in July. In countryside that hasn't changed in a lot of years the apartment had every comfort and modernisation we required. It is truly a beautiful place to stay.
Suzanne and Adolfo are wonderful hosts, welcoming us warmly. Unfortunately we don't speak spanish so couldn't communicate with Adolfo other than daily warm hellos. However this caused no issue to our trip or in receiving information on the region as Suzanne has perfect English. In addition Adolfo speaks French and Spanish, with Suzanne having English, German and Spanish - and possibly more!
We were offered vegetables from their garden to cook with and wild flowers from the garden to pick for the apartment- and of course Suzannes lovely marmalade! Very homely.
The walks around the property are lovely, the locals always with a warm 'Hola'. The other mountain walks further from the village are simply breathtaking - the views over the canyon, the monesteries and the countryside on the whole.
There is a town nearby where supplies can be bought, although we stocked up before we left Santiago.
In all we loved our hideaway and definetely could have stayed longer, as we relaxed more than doing any serious walking. It would be nice to do the walks Suzanne showed us.
All in all I would wholeheartedly recommend A Casa de Eire - thank you so much Suzanne and Adolfo.
I will upload photos - but the photos on the website show this place and area perfectly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new canaan, ct
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

This is one of the top places we've ever visited, not because it was luxurious or pampering, but because it is special in its own way, and there are so many fascinating possibilities in this remote, unique area. Adolfo and Susan are superb hosts who manage their small "Casa Rural" with great care. Our rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. In general, the house is very cozy. The property has "character" as well - it truly is a fixed up old farm house in a little village high above the Sil River Gorge. The photos shown with this page are accurate - I can tell exactly where they were taken.

What sets this place apart is that the owners are passionate about the area and have explored it extensively. For us, the greatest challenge in exploring a new area is knowing the best things do and how to do them - guidebooks rarely do an area like this justice. Whether it is hiking in the mountains, exploring the secluded monasteries, or visiting vineyards, Susan and Adolfo have done it and are good listeners and advisers to their guests. We took a fantastic sunset hike to the rim of the gorge from the house. They also sent us to a VI century monetary that was just incredible - more of an unspoiled archeological site as opposed to an often visited tourist site. In both cases, we had these experiences to ourselves. We never would have known about the hike or found the monastery without them. There were many other possibilities they mentioned that, unfortunately, we lacked the time to do.

Susan is multi-lingual and speaks excellent English. Adolfo is the chef and made us a wonderful Gallego dinner. About the area - In general, it is very off the beaten track and undiscovered. The monasteries and cathedrals that line the Gorge for miles are truly amazing. For people who enjoy the outdoors and finding these relatively undiscovered gems, A Casa Da Eira is a perfect spot. In addition, Santiago de Compostela and Ourense are easy drives, and the Galician Atlantic coast is less than a 2 hour drive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We travelled to Galicia in August 2009, staying in an apartment trade in Coruna. To get out of the city and see the countryside, we found Casa da Eira via Trip Advisor, and are happy to second/third the positive comments made by others. Comfy rooms, gracious hosts, a very nice meal with local wine and spirits, plums right off the tree. If you are in this area of Spain, find some time for a stay at this singular location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Casa da Eira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa da Eira

Address: Lugar Albergueria, 31 | Cerreda, 32164 Nogueira de Ramuin, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Ourense Province > Nogueira de Ramuin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Nogueira de Ramuin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Casa da Eira is an ancient farm house from 1920 restored in traditional style in 2001. We are at 35 minutes from Ourense and 10 minutes from the Parador de Santo Estevo. The accommodation has generous common space, a garden facing south and a balcony from which one can enjoy a view on the River Sil Canyon. We offer both, bed&breakfast as well as self-catering accommodations.A Casa da Eira is situated in Galicia, in the province of Ourense, in the midst of the historic area of “The Ribeira Sacra” with its considerable number of Romanesque monasteries. Our village, Alberguería, is located at the upper part of the River Sil Canyon and surrounded by hundred-year-old chestnut woods.Numerous activities can be undertaken in the near surroundings such as cultural trips, hill walking, canoeing, climbing, swimming in the nearby dam, mountain biking, adventure sports, boat excursions through the River Sil Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your A Casa da Eira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Casa Da Eira Spain/Nogueira De Ramuin, Galicia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Casa da Eira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.