We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect time in a perfect place. Maravilloso!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Santo Estevo

Save Saved
You added Parador de Santo Estevo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Santo Estevo
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Monasterio de Santo Estevo, 32162 Nogueira de Ramuin, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
La Coruna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Perfect time in a perfect place. Maravilloso!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this place. The room was very nice, quiet and clean. Breakfast was of a very high quality and good variety!
The restaurant is great - I never tastes better wild pig filet!
Stuff is very kind, helps you with any question.
SPA is extra charge but it's worthy to do it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    50
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
135
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We enjoyed our experience at this restored monastery in a very remote location around 30 minutes from Ourense. Rooms were large, comfortable and well-equipped. It is a great location to get away and relax, extremely quite.
It is quite remote, so you depend on dinner or room service at the hotel, which was OK. Breakfast offered a wide variety of choices.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Parador Santo Estevo is a beautifully restored monastery in a location befitting of monastic life. It is away from it all, sitting atop a very peaceful and secluded valley.

The monastry has been sensitively restored - the rooms are larger than "normal" and are comfortable and well equipped. Being a monastery conversion do not expect large picture windows in the rooms - the windows are tiny - but that was afterall the way monasteries were built. The thick stone walls play havoc with the wi-fi connectivity, but at the end of the day you are here to experience the monastry and all its history.

We found the staff friendly and more than helpful. We needed to switch rooms because the rooms previous occupant decided to ignore the "non smoking" rules. They did so without a fuss and were more than apologetic.

The main dining room in the hotel is spectacular with views down the valley. We enjoyed dinner at the hotel - again good quality without being an exceptional meal. Breakfast the following morning offered an extensive buffet selection.

Our only grumble about the hotel was the lack of public spaces and lounges. Yes, they were there, but built in remote or very dark corners of the Parador. The small vestibule sitting area was a magnet to those seeking wi-fi connectivity and the few seats were rarely vacated.

Putting this issue to one side we enjoyed our stay and the opportunity to share an insight into monastic life of a prior century. A very good stay !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Nice, refurbished monasteer.
Well preserved.
Stone rooms, really well maintened.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed at the Santo Estevo Parador during a driving tour of Asturias and Galicia and this was easily the highlight in terms of the 'wow' factor.
It is a little difficult to find if coming from the east. The road is winding and narrow, but this is more than made up for by the great views of the Cil river valley. When you find the turning off the road down to the hotel be ready to slam on your brakes to take in the view of the monastery and the river valley beyond, it is stupendous!. The location easily makes up for the slightly higher charges, although we did manage to get a good deal of 100 Euros a night.
There was a posh wedding on when we were there, but this somehow added to the atmosphere. We were stlll able to wander at will around the beautiful cloisters and chapel.
Our room was well equipped and very well soundproofed (probably because they are converted from monks or nuns cells!). The bar area is very comfortable and the service is good. We didn't eat in the hotel and walked up to the small restaurant on the junction of the main road. Be warned - I went down with severe food poisoning that night, which rather spoiled my enjoyment of the parador. My partner was OK though, it was just my bad luck.
I would happily recommend a stay at the Santo Estevo for a real 'get away from it all' in luxury experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

This is a beautiful parador in a fabulous setting, but somehow it just misses. Our rooms were comfortable, attractively furnished, a good size with views of trees, and the bathrooms very well appointed. The breakfast and evening meal were as good as we have come to expect in paradors. The communal areas were exquisitely and interestingly furnished.

But the whole place felt as if it were there to be viewed rather than lived in. There was no room in which you felt you could relax. And as other reviewers have mentioned, apart from one tiny terrace which led off a room and had seating for seven, there was nowhere at all to sit outside. It was incredibly frustrating, and it meant that there was nowhere you could appreciate the views.

It may be that you could from the spa, but at a cost of 30 euros for three hours, this was something we did not sample. There is no swimming pool.

An unusual design feature is that you hear your neighbours bathroom plumbing more than your own!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This parador is a nice place for a 1-2 days stay. Unusual building for a hotel - big monastery of at least 10th century. Rooms are made in former monastic cells. Spectacular surroundings, especially Sil Gorges (we drived from the place where Rio Mino meets the Rio Sil to the hotel - ~15-20 km of fabulous views). Please, note that the most comfotable way to reach the hotel (at least for the 1st time) is from OU536 (C526) road. The way from N120 seems shorter but it's narrow and in the mountains.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador de Santo Estevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Santo Estevo

Address: Monasterio de Santo Estevo, 32162 Nogueira de Ramuin, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Ourense Province > Nogueira de Ramuin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Nogueira de Ramuin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Santo Estevo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open April to October ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Parador de Santo Estevo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santo Estevo Spain/Nogueira De Ramuin, Galicia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Santo Estevo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.