We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT !!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Port to your Saves list
Hotel del Port
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Constitucio, 6, 43540 Sant Carles de la Rapita, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
MATLOCK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is a perfect family run B & B in a main street leading to the harbour area.

Modern, comfortable and well managed this is a very good base for the area - especially for those wanting to visit the Ebro Delta Nature Reserve.

A smallish hotel with facilities that would be the envy of many larger hotels we would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel Del Sport and its attentive owners.

Room Tip: Several rooms have balconies with a side view over part of the port area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
29
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This was a little gem! We stayed for 5 nights and at €67 per room inc breakfast it was real value. It is a small privately owned hotel, open only for 4 years - a completely refurbished building on the street leading down to the port and beach. Everything is modern. Room was clean, bright and comfortable. Free internet was fast. No English language TV stations, though! There was a side sea view from the tiny balcony but the value of the hotel was in its surroundings.

San Carlos is a "real Spain" seaside town - hardly any foreign tourists get here! It is an hour's drive South of Reus airport and nowhere near the package holiday areas. There are several restaurants, full of fresh sea and shell fish, offering fixed price menus and local wines at, frankly, cheap prices. Really lovely beaches and good swimming conditions. Boat trips from the port. The wildlife and rice fields of the Ebro Delta right next door. Plenty to do and see. And apparently undiscovered by foreign visitors in the gap between Barcelona and Valencia. Do go there!

Hotel Del Port is a gem to stay at and we highly recommend it as a centre for a relaxing holiday if you enjoy comfort and space.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front 2nd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Hotel del Port was a fantastic surprise and was just what I needed after a long trip south. huge room, spotlessly clean hotel, wonderful bathroom...the list goes on.The owners are more than pleasant and helpful and they speak reasonable English. The hotel was more of a 4 star than 1 or 2. Certainly better than a lot of supposed three stars I have stayed at. That there is no restaurant is not an issue as there are plenty of places nearby to find good food at a reasonable price. I'll be using this hotel as long as I need to make a stopover on a north/south/north run through Spain and I will be sending friends there too.Well done the owners!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

We booked into the Hotel del Port when spending the weekend choosing a new berth for our boat. We arrived very late and were welcomed by Rosa, the owner. She got us set up in the room. Our room was spotless and very well fitted with contemporary design features and up to date facilities. Four piece bathroom suite and shower, good lighting and all the usual soaps and gels etc. Ample clean and good quality towles, Light and airy, excellent wardrobe space, a safe for valuables, desk and flat screen TV. This had good digital channels and lots of them as well. I believe the WIFi was available but I did not confirm that as we did not need it. Comfortable and good size bed ( I am 6ft 2"). The whole place was non smoking so fresh and clean. There was air conditioning (again vents were dust free and it was quiet - yes we ran it in February to get 17C ambiant). To add to the feeling of space there was a small balcony with views up the street to central commercial area and also to the old marina and port. The outside surrounding area is very clean and tidy (well groomed) although there is no garden or outside space with the hotel. The beach is a 1 minute slow walk.

Breakfast was included and a selection to please everybody. Continental style but lots of variety. If anything looked like it was running out we saw the proprietors replace this immediately. There were newspapers, magazines and even games and childrens books and toys available but not to excess; I would say child friendly for children whos parents placed importance on the childs welfare in consideration of other hotel guests. The families we saw there were very well mannered and a pleasure to see.

The price of the stay was very good at around £60 per night (depends on euro exchange rate). It is the kind of place you leave feeling like they did not charge you enough for what they did. This is budget hotel but definately only in the charge levied and not in value or the attention to detail that the owners have made. They have obviously used designers and not done a DIY..

The surrounding area offers a lot; beaches, shopping, restaurants (proper ones). Do not go if you want English food. There is a new marina in the lagoon and it is on the edge of a nature reserve. I would say that the resort is sophisticated and unspoilt but not arrogant (meaning it does not think so much of itself that it will rip you off).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

)ctober 2008

We stayed at the Hotel del Port, which is a lovely hotel, very clean, comfortable & beautifully furnished. The owners & staff were very friendly & spoke good english. The resort itself is very pleasant & safe for people to bathe on the beaches - good for families, as one has to go out a long way before the sea gets deeper.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Port

Address: Av. Constitucio, 6, 43540 Sant Carles de la Rapita, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Terres de l'Ebre > Sant Carles de la Rapita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sant Carles de la Rapita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Port 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel del Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.