We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flamingo Hotel and Apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flamingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Flamingo to your Saves list
Hotel Flamingo
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de l'Esglesia 112, 17258 L'Estartit, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in L'Estartit
Halesowen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Flamingo Hotel and Apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent facilities, clean, tidy, can recommend the breakfasts. Apartments spacious and adequate.
All of the staff polite, extremely helpful and pleasant.
Snack bar at pool very good.
Pool cleaned daily.
Short walk to beach and town.
Best Spanish holiday ever. Resort is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Recently returned from a week's stay at The Hotel Flamingo, L'Estartit. The hotel is rated a two star but I think at least a 3 star is in order. It has recently gone through a refurbishment but not the bedrooms which are pretty basic, although spotlessly clean. Food was good, served buffet style, not a great choice but enough to suit everyone and good quality.
The pool was very good, quite large with a very nice garden, more than enough beds for everyone. The best part though was the staff, they were excellent, very helpful and friendly, definitely gave the feel of a family hotel. The hotel was only five minutes from the beach so perfect all round. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Think they were all of the same standard, but they were clean which is most important
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from an 11 night stay ( july) at the Hotel Flamingo, Estartit. it was our first visit and i would definatley go back again. The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome, the food was served buffet style and there was something there to suit everyone. The ground floor had recently had a refurbishment and was therefore quite modern, but the bedrooms were very basic and need some updating, a chest of drawers would of been nice, but otherwise comfortable.The pool area was excellent plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas, and a nice pool bar, also serving food. Estartit itself is a typical spanish town with plenty of shops, restuarants and an excellent beach

Room Tip: pool side nice to look out but noisy if above kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I last stayed at Hotel Flamingo in Estartit in Aug 2013. I have stayed there for many successive years.
It is a lovely place to stay, proven by the fact that the same people return year after year after year.
The public areas are excellent,and whilst the bedrooms are basic,they are never less than spotless and comfortable.They also have the blessing of Air Conditioning ,much needed in August.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and there is always a very reasonable choice of food available at Breakfast,Lunch and Evening in the dining room.
A great hotel for a holiday at modest prices in a beautiful resort which is not over commercialised.

Whilst you are there give Joyce, David and Jojo a visit at The Fighting Cocks bar just 250 metres down the street. I have had some great nights there.

Peter Britcliffe,
Oswaldtwistle
Lancashire

Room Tip: Overlooking Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This Is the second time we have been to the Flamingo the first was 15 years ago.The reception bar area and dining room have all had a refurbish and look great.A special mention for the toilet by the lift -Its 1st class.The bedrooms are just the same as 15 years ago there are no drawers In the room and not a lot of places to put things but you are only sleeping In there but having said that we managed to get things stowed away nicely.The bottom line Is It was clean we had a fab view overlooking the pool and mountain with the evening sun on the balcony.The food was ok the hotel was very quiet , busy for breakfast then the divers went off for the day and we had the pool to ourselves.Last time we came If you had a heavy downpour all the rain hit Estartit and flooded the streets and you could not walk across the road because of standing water.Nothing has changed, the roads still flood.What Is changing very slowly Is that Estartit Is turning Into a timeshare resort where during the week you have large blocks of flats that are empty and shuttered until the weekend.There Is perhaps only one British pub and that Is up for sale.We went early June so perhaps July and August will fare better.The weather was very warm around 24deg but a pesky wind spoilt It sometimes.When It Is windy at nights It can get a little uncomfortable sitting outside so the ladies might need a light coat or cardigan. It's not really brilliant here for families any more - just beach in the day and bars at night (may improve high season) but its a gorgeous place for a relaxing break .

Room Tip: Room 122 Is on the 1st floor overlooking the pool It's also above the kitchen and I was able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Flamingo in the apartments, when we arrived staff were friendly and carried our bags up the flights of stairs. Got into the room late at night and first thing was the rooms were a bit old fashioned and in need of refurbishment. Which doesn't really bother us as we planned to be out most of the time. When at reception we were asked if we would like to pay for wi-if which we did, but staff didn't tell us that wifi could only be reached from lobby or bar. The pool wasn't clean and one morning sitting on the balcony we seen the owner of hotel fishing out poo from the pool with a net and he then put it in the bushes next to pool. So we then never used the pool for the duration of the stay. Also had a problem with ants in our apartment in the beds and kitchen area, couldn't leave anything in the bin or we would come back to thousands of ants. We only ate at the hotel once and the good was good. I wouldn't stay at the hotel again due to the ant problem but would definitely revisit l'estertit was a beautiful place

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Hotel Flaming is really two hotels. On the ground floor you have a nice lobby, a modern bar/lounge area which is large, comfy, well-equipped bar, pool table, great bathrooms and more, a huge dining area, a great outdoor pool area with grass and sun beds. 4 stars.

Then you have the rooms. The rooms are shockingly old and in dire need of renovation. The door is a single turnkey lock, there was no hand soap, no do not disturb sign, the lights in the hall are on sensor and barely work, making the place look like a horror movie and upon check-in we were told that although we explicitly requested a double bed we were given two singles that we could then manually push together because the double beds were old and uncomfortable. 2 stars.

Overall I wouldn't stay here again. However, it seems to be very good for large groups like school groups (which there was a very noisy one), dive groups, reunions etc. But if you want to hang in the rooms, forget it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo

Address: Carrer de l'Esglesia 112, 17258 L'Estartit, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > L'Estartit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in L'Estartit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Flamingo 1*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Flamingo Spain/Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.