We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great campsite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Castell Montgri

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in L'Estartit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Castell Montgri
Save
You added Camping Castell Montgri to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Ctra. Torroella-Estartit, Km. 4,700, 17258 L'Estartit, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really great campsite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Second time holidaying in Castel montgri and was really happy we returned . Got the bigger Vista type mobile this time which was great . Our 2 kids are aged 13 and 10 , and this is the perfect type of holiday for them and Castel montgri is the best we've been to so far .We would definitely return .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    117
    48
    44
    33
See reviews for
276
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent a week there with the family and had a great time. Lots to see for all the family. Stayed with lifestyle sports and had a good spot, not to far from the pools and restaurants which was grand. If your planning to go i would recommend it. A car is a bonus because you are quiet close to Figures where the Dali museum is, Gerona a lovely town with great places to eat and of course Barcelona. Need i say any more.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

returned on 12/7/13 from castell montgri after having a great family holiday wife/daughter/
grandaughter. was here many years ago and was really surprised at how good the site and facilities were. we booked through siesta holidays and could'nt fault them, from the luxury coach to our accomodation and the on site reps, dan,leeann,megan and amanda, it was brilliant. I'm a great believer in your holiday is what you make it. yes it is a bit of a trek up & down, but overall this is a good site we found all the site staff to be friendly and polite.and as most people would agree if you treat people with respect you get it back. the free bus into town is great and the town itself is very nice, very laid back and friendly,there's a little train runs round the resort and stops at port greils where there's a lovely quiet beach.yes i would recommend a holiday here. well done siesta;

Room Tip: we booked a siesta 8 lodge deluxe because it had 2 bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mloolly
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Castell Montgri and have booked for next year!
I read previous reviews where people said it had become run down. The only area I saw for improvement was the roads. However, having witnessed a freak floodstorm there I can see why the roads are damaged! Not even the floodstorm could dampen our enthusiasm though.

We booked via Keycamp and they really listened to our requirements. When we arrived, we were greeted by Emmet from Keycamp who I could best describe as a smile in a Keycamp uniform. The tone was set at that point and the week lived up to that initial impression.

The site was well run - Security in and out was excellent which was reassuring with a child.
We got up early each day and our 11 year old never stopped. It was the first holiday that we did not have to entertain or worry about what to do next. He went to kids camp and then back to the decked mobile for lunch. Then off to one of the 3 pools. We favoured La Bassa and we were happy to sit there and watch him. The lifeguards were excellent and ran a tight ship whilst being very patient with all of the kids. Anything dangerous and kids were asked to leave and come back tomorrow (Jumping off heights etc). This ensured kids learned their lesson and had the opportunity to come back.

The evening entertainment was a bit cheesy but it is a family holiday and got us all into the spirit. The pool by the entertainment area was open until midnight and was well lit and supervised. This allowed the young fella to play in the pool and keep coming up to us and for us to keep an eye on him whilst we had some down time also.

There was an excellent butchers down the road and a local market that served us well. Much cheaper than onsite but that is fairly standard with all resorts.

The restaurant is overpriced and I would recommend that people head into L'Estartit (There is a free shuttle bus from site). We wandered around and came upon a beautiful restaurant with main courses from €6 - Seriously!
Apart from that we enjoyed cooking on the BBQ and just relaxing.
There is a coffee dock and takeway spots around the site which are handy and cheap enough for convenience.

I cannot recommend this place enough. We had a really relaxing time and you really do not have to spend a lot once you get there. I know that people had an issue being charged for sun loungers but to be honest, there are grassy areas by the pools that people seem happy enough to spread their towels on and relax.

Thanks to all of the wonderful staff - Rueben the lifeguard who showed endless patience for the millions of questions from the kids and watched them constantly and made you feel 100% happy that they were safe.

See you next year! :o)

Room Tip: The location of your pitch is likely to influence your experience - Some people will prefer quiter u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carndonagh, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

my husband, my 5 kids and I spent 10 days in Castell Montgris in June. Overall we had a wonderful time. The Keycamp Villagrand although not particularly grand was perfect for a family outdoor holiday. We eve had a small garden which was an unexpected bonus. we did not have a car and managed perfectly well without however it helps to be physically fit as we had numerous trips to the local Lidl store! The pool complex was lovely if a little on the cold side!the weather was lovely but an extra layer of clothing was necessary in the evening. Night time entertainment was enjoyed by kids up until 9, however the noise did continue to 12 despite many signs requesting respect for those who wished to rest. I met a lady who had 2 young kids and her chalet was right beside the bars, needless to say she was less than impressed.All in all great campsite for all ages. I would definitely recommend it. Our neighbours from Liverpool had been to the camp 17 times! I guess that says it all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for one week at the end of June and I must say from check in to check out we could not fault the campsite. This was our first campsite holiday and I can say it wont be our last! We have 2 children aged 7 and 4 (boys) and they had a great time, even my little 4 year old cried when he was saying goodbye to his little friends that he had made!You can make is as expensive or as cheap as you like. With a BBQ on site we cooked every night except one.This allowed us to eat healthily and avoid expensive take aways, however I must say the takeaway pizzas onsite were amazing!
We stayed with Lifestyle holidays & got an amazing deal. We stayed in the gold area which is ideal as its right in the middle of the campsite. Yes, it is a hilly site but if you're fit and able its great! We did have a car which was great to do the shopping and Lidl is down the road which was so cheap! Bottle of decent red wine €1.89! The butcher next to Lidl was amazing also.
The beach in Estartit was fabulous, very sandy - no shingle and very safe for the children.
Overall a brilliant holiday which allowed myself and my husband to relax and enjoy our children having fun. We are definately going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, N Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time at Castell Montgri and once again we had a fantastic holiday. The first time we were at the top left side of the site and it was quiet but a climb to and from the pools and shop. This year we were close to the entrance and although it was a bit noisier than before it was handier to all the amenities and entertainment. The three pool complexes are great, L'Ombra pool with slides, the Panorama pool is large with a diving board which is popular and then there is La Bassa pool at the top end of the site which is worth a visit. There is a free bus from the site to the town and beach which is a fantastic service.

The only downside is the restaurant on site, the quality and service leaves a lot to be desired. However there are numerous eateries in the town, Harvey's is good food at good value with great staff whereas we had a nightmare eating in O'Malleys.

Things you should do in l'Estartit are No 1 - Snorkelling with la Sirene, brilliant experience, No 2 - Aquabrava water park, also Emporiabrava and Pals are worth visiting and Girona is beautiful. All in all we had another lovely holiday at Castell Montgri.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Castell Montgri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Castell Montgri

Address: Ctra. Torroella-Estartit, Km. 4,700, 17258 L'Estartit, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > L'Estartit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Specialty Lodging in L'Estartit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping Castell Montgri 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Castell Montgri Hotel l`Estartit
Camping Castell Montgri Spain/Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Castell Montgri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.