We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value in Quiet location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Picasso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Picasso to your Saves list
Hotel Picasso
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja de la gola del ter, 17257 Torroella de Montgri, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Mold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Excellent Value in Quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This Hotel is just about as far away from the typical stereotype Costa Brava Hotel that you can get. Its located in a very quiet location and offers true Catalan character and ambience. The Hotel has been family owned for years and the delightful and charming owners have been constantly upgrading it ever since we first came here some 30 years ago. We have only eaten here previously as we stay at the excellent El Delfin Caravan Park close by and have always enjoyed the superb value meal - only 13 euros for a three course meal with good quality modestly priced wines (11 euros for lunch - steak au poivre with chips, salad and creme catalane with inclusive large glass of wine)
This time we stayed in the Hotel for the first time for 5 nights. Our room was good sized, simple but comfortable with a large bathroom. The service as ever was excellent and the breakfast, contrary to some other comments was very good. The beach is approx 10 mins walking distance and there is nothing else around other than another small hotel and a childrens holiday retreat. A car is INMO essential. Car hire is cheap BUT DONT use GOLDCAR. Each time we have hired through them, we have been dissappointed, overcharged and provided with poorly prepared old vehicles. Within 10-15 minutes travelling time you have some delightful historic Catalan hilltop Villages such as Perratallada, Pals, Begur and Palau Satour. Torroella di Montgri is the closest town approx 5 miles away and has a huge market which takes over the entire historic Town Centre. within an hour, there is the cathedral city of Girona, the Dali Museum at Figueras, and the enchanting fishing village of Cadaques with Dali's strange. but beautifully located house, (now open to the public, but book first).The tourist town of L'Estartit is also close by. This is a bit brash in parts, however the harbour area is superb. Try Les Salinas, the last restaurant overlooking the port and the delightful Bay of Pals for a superb Paella and stuffed mussels. The views from here looking down to Begur in the South and the wooded Selvas to the south west are magnificent. This is a great place for a week break

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Great location to have your last days in Spain after being on the tourist track. Not much out there but the food is good service excellent. Its basic but you get what you pay for.

Me I had no transport so I walked alot it's 5-6 ks back to town which is still very much as it has been for centuries excellent street food, quiet cafe's beautiful everything.

Buses are plentiful, clean and cheap amazing things are everywhere and very safe. The locals where very hospitable and even better when they acknowledge your Australian.

Overall I would go back the beaches are amazing.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The rooms are nice and clean, and the bathroom is quite big for this kind of hotel. There is no elevtor, so be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs. The dinner was very good - we ate from the 13 euro dinner and loved it. Unfortunately the breakfast is nothing like the dinner - it's little to choose from. The service could be better. The food at dinner took a long time to arrive - and the coke ordered for my daughter never appeared.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor (just one staircase) - you have to carry your own bags up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Have been going to this restaurant for 25 years now and the food has always been good and the choice excellent for a 13 euro menu. Don't go on weekends or festival days however as they put a 4 euro surcharge on the bill.
Although the owners recognise us as we are usually there at least three or four times a year, the welcome is not particularly warm, although locals are certainly greeted with great enthusiasm. Staff are usually very young and for the most part untrained and never appear to be the same.
These negatives are however relatively minor and we would strongly recommend a visit to this good value restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

The hotel is located far from anything so a car is a must. Our GPS system got confused but fortunately, there were signs to guide us. After overcoming these issues we found an extremely nice hotel, with decoration being an attractive mixture of country and modern style. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good. We ate at the hotel restaurant in the evening a very good meal. The staff was very cooperative thogh they didn't know english well. The price of the room was very attractive which made our stay an excellent deal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Our grandad was joining us so I wanted a quiet place- no disco/karaoke bar thumping under your bed. This was the perfect choice. The location is ideal if you have a car- disaster if you don't. The staff were very pleasant- little or no English so bring your Catalan phrase book. The food in the restaurant was great and much cheaper than what we've become used to in Ireland. Lovely brekkie- included in price..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Picasso

Address: Platja de la gola del ter, 17257 Torroella de Montgri, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Torroella de Montgri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Torroella de Montgri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Picasso 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Picasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Picasso Torroella De Montgri, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Picasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.