We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little isolated and the area is run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Clipper & Villas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Clipper & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Clipper & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. de Torroella de Montgri a Pals, 17257 Torroella de Montgri, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Saint-Clar, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A little isolated and the area is run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Firstly the good points: The hotel pool (indoor & outdoor) are very good, the restaurant & bar very elegant - although the menu is somewhat limited. The price point was fair, and they can accomodate a family of 5 or 6, which not many hotels cater for. Wi-fi is available in the hotel and villa's for free, although a tad slow.
Bad points: The villa's are basic, the tv (if you have bad weather) only has a couple of channels, no dvd player - they don't supply soap, and only limited toilet roll - so go supplied ! The area around the hotel is quite run down/scruffy, and needs investment & the beach was dirty with lots of flotsam washed in. If you want to eat out then you will need to travel 5 minutes in the car. We were recommended to visit papibou, which was an excellent tapas restaurant in a very pretty fortified village 10 minutes away - we would highly recommend a visit when you are there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelclipper, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Clipper & Villas, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Nick:

Thank you for your opinion. We appreciate all the opinions because make us improve in one way.
Just to inform you that I know that the beach was dirty but is a question of the environment law.
As for sure you will know, the hotel is located in the Montgrí Natural reserve and nobody can clean the beach for their own...

The concept of our villas is accomodate families that use it as their own home.. and this is wy they use to bring all they need...The villas are located inside the hotel but it is a different concept.

I hope you do not mind I clear all this points it is just to give you answers for us the key is a customer happy.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    4
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011 via mobile

Fuimos a pasar una noche para escapar, la localización esta muy bien porque esta alejado de cualquier ajetreo , muy tranquilo, las habitaciones impecables, con una pequeña cocina, la comida del restaurante exquisita, tambien contratamos un masaje, y fue excelente, ul unico pequeno fallo fue q no funcionaba la sauna del spa

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Not a great hotel, but not bad either, the reception is the best part, when I checked in I thought if would be a nice hotel, but the room was much different. the hotel is very noisey, It is full off teenagers and people in their early 20's partying. Surprisingly I slept really well, but I can imagine that for some you wont be able too. In my room I had the noise of the traffic and the noise from other guests.

The rooms were not dirty but not that clean either, towels and bedding were clean though...

A cheap hotel, friendly reception staff and good if you just need a bed for the night. My family were staying at another hotel down the road so all I needed was a last min bed for the night...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

stayed at this hotel for 2 nights because our flight had been cancelled, very noisy all night in the hotel and neighbouring hotels. I'm all for them having a good time but there was no respect at all for anyone staying there
no aircon in rooms which also made it unbearable, otherwise clean and very basic, breakfast ok but nothing special

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Clipper & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clipper & Villas

Also Known As:
Hotel Clipper & Villas Torroella De Montgri, Spain - Costa Brava
Address: Ctra. de Torroella de Montgri a Pals, 17257 Torroella de Montgri, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Torroella de Montgri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Torroella de Montgri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Clipper & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in la Costa Brava the Hotel Clipper****& Villas is surrounded by three golf courses and a pitch and putt course and just from 50 metres from Pals beach . This combination is what makes Hotel Clipper**** the perfect destination for the practise of a broad range of activities both cultural and sporting and of course for relax. The hotel offers all his guests 2 paddle courts and 8 tennis courts. Free WIFI. Hotel Clipper**** has 39 rooms, all which are suitable for single our double occupation, including 1 room especially equipped for handicapped guests and 6 rooms that can be interconnected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Clipper & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Clipper & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.