We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXTRAORDINARY BREAKFAST” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel abba Formigal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel abba Formigal to your Saves list
Hotel abba Formigal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion Formigal S/N, 22640 Formigal, Sallent de Gallego, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Formigal
Sant Julia de Loria, Andorra
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“EXTRAORDINARY BREAKFAST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Although the rooms were a little bit older than expected for a 4****, they were big and comfortable. The breakfast was extraordinary: quantity, quality, excepcional! Only 2 cons: the windows shutter can be very loud when its windy as they keep slamming, and the wifi connection is doesn't work very well at the 4th floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Nice and beautiful surroundings for a hotel definitely oriented to families. Nice fittings as well with swimming pool, sauna, hammam, fitness and massage rooms, plus bar & lounge area, separate from the restaurant. This hotel's interior design is carefully done to let a constant mountain concept in mind. Rooms are fine and breakfast is great, with a huge choice of everything! Note that light meals are also offered and separate from "normal" ones, for breakfast. Attentive and nice staff, but hardly speaking everything but English or French, especially in the restaurant. You can easily manage to speak foreign languages wit some other nice staff on the other hand. There also are great ski facilities, i.e. free and regular shuttle on demand plus free ski rooms, which avoid any difficulty about the hotel's location. The biggest disadvantage would definitely be the bad soundproofing of the sleeping area, too noisy because of children, bathrooms, etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We've been there at the end of the Ski season. Rooms are pretty old but big and well furnished. Lobby and Dining room fantastic with plenty of space and high quality ambient. Breakfast was awesome, with quantity and quality. Exceptional service at Front Desk and very well prepared for Ski. Good spa and Gym. Very good transportation service to the slopes. Summarising, a very good choice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Spent 4 nights here with my two teenagers for a quick, late season ski trip to Formigal. The hotel is a lovely mix of modern (bedrooms & bathrooms) and traditional (public rooms). Our family room was a respectable size and very comfortable, although the views from the two windows were very disappointing, being of the side of another wing of the hotel! The staff in general were welcoming and professional, although the clearly overworked chambermaid was none too happy with us when she decided to make up our room at 2.30pm one afternoon, half an hour after we had returned to the hotel and were showering ourselves.

The star of the hotel, though was undoubtedly Javi, the excellent Bar and Restaurant manager. Nothing was too much trouble for him and the service he gave us at dinner was both friendly and highly professional. We had half-board, which consisted of a wonderful buffet breakfast, and three course dinner in the very pleasant hotel dining room. Whilst we couldn't fault the quality of the dinners, the three choices of main course were rather "pretentious"; clearly perceived quality (with an inflated price to match) rather than quantity is the motto of the kitchen.

For skiing, the hotel ranks very highly indeed. The complimentary mini-bus service to the slopes and back each day is wonderful; we never once had to wait to be taken in a morning, and the very friendly driver was always there waiting for us when the slopes closed. That said, we went late in the season when there were barely any other guests in the hotel so that might change in busier periods. The ski locker room is located a couple of steps from the pick-up/drop-off point so couldn't be easier either.

Overall a very pleasant stay indeed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I went with my son for two nights. It was the third time we stayed here and the last. Rooms were very hot and loud. Every person above and below were heard at all hours of the day. Children were running around and unsupervised while their parents were in the bar. Staff tried to calm the children down after complaints from spa but there was little they could do. My biggest complaint was the soundproofing. Will not go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed for one night enroute to Spain but I'd stayed a few years before. It seemed the hotel was short of staff although having said that they did a great job of managing everything.
The room was well up to standard. Comfortable, clean, nice size and well-equipped. No tea or coffee making facilities but this is usual in France and Spain. There was a well-stocked mini-bar.
The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful. However, when we went to the bar to get a pre-dinner drink it was an age before any staff appeared or we could find any (we were also the only people in the bar!). Finally we were served and then went for dinner where there were around 30 diners being served by the bar person and one other. They were very polite and cheerful but clearly run off their feet. The menu was very limited and the food certainly wasn't four star - although quite edible - portions were very small and some of the dishes weren't piping hot as I like them to be when they're served.
The breakfast was better but we were very much left to it as there were no staff to be seen!
There was an error on our bill when we checked out but this was corrected without fuss.
We would stay again just to see if it returned to its previous glory of my first trip.
Exceptional setting.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We already visited this hotel about 10 years ago. At that time it was exellent. Now.......it still is even better. Most of the desk-staff are very helpfull and do their best to speak French or English. The breakfast......as never seen before so, EXELLENT. Evening meals: choise out of 3 intro's, 3 mains and 3 desserts. so you have to go on a diet when back home.
The rooms are just the same as 10 y ago , large bed, exellent equipped bathroom, a lot of place to store your clothes. The extra services may be a bit more expensive then axpected but the rates are clearly noted in an information book.
The surroundings are stunning and the possibilities for motorbike users are limitless.The same for walkers. So I really would recommend this hotel (also very child friendly).

Room Tip: An overall exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel abba Formigal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel abba Formigal

Address: Urbanizacion Formigal S/N, 22640 Formigal, Sallent de Gallego, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Sallent de Gallego > Formigal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Formigal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel abba Formigal 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Huesca, Abba Formigal is located in an area of natural beauty and offers an ambiance of peace and tranquility in the heart of the Pyrenees. Located in Formigal, the hotel offers many facilities for you to relax and unwind. There is a massage service, hot tub and Turkish bath to leave you feeling new after a hard day on the ski piste. From the terrace there are great panoramic views of the Pyrenees, where you can enjoy an aperitif and take in the fresh mountain air. In summer, enjoy the public exterior pool in Formigal, 20 m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Budget Places and Tingo so you can book your Hotel abba Formigal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Abba Formigal Aragon, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel abba Formigal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.