We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location - top! Room - OK, but needs modernization” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bahia Serena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bahia Serena to your Saves list
Hotel Bahia Serena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Playa Serena, s/n, 04740 Roquetas de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Roquetas de Mar
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location - top! Room - OK, but needs modernization”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in this hotel. As soon as I entered the room - it was like coming back into mid 90's. Old furniture and a museum-like TV. Dark bathroom. Prefered not to turn on AC (air condition). On the positive side - it was warm in the room (for January and with AC turned OFF) and mattress was really good. Later I have visited few other rooms on the same (2nd) floor and impression didn't change.

What I liked more apart from the bed - sea view from the room and proximity to the beach. Balcony. Separate bedroom. Sofa. Entrance hall and patio. Gym. Friendly staff. Possibility to find and book excursiones directly from the hotel. Some small details like: extra pillow in the room.

Rooms were clean. But, as already mentioned, wooden and metal surfaces in the room are too old, leaving an overall negative impression. Housekeeping has nothing to do with it.
It was a bit noisy in the room when some children were playing near swimming pool... Also, I could hear some music coming from the street, but it didn't disturb me. Sound isolation between rooms is poor.

Coming to food in the hotel. Missed some dishes during the breakfast... E.g. they offered only scrambled eggs, but no Spanish tortilla or blintzes (which is a standard in other spanish hotels). Fried bacon was, to my taste, too dry.

Buffet during the day and in the evening was good. Not excellent, but for the hotel buffet - good. Several types of fish and meat dishes, fresh fruits and sliced vegetables, ice-cream, two types of soupes, etc. I couldn't complain.

Internet - Wi-Fi connection was stable and quick enough to check e-mails and news.

In spite of my first impression I enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor and in the part of the building which is closer to the sea and not so close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    89
    73
    37
    26
See reviews for
131
71
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was a quick choice of hotel where we have a 2 year old, and we wanted all inclusive or full board ( full board we had), but a kitchenette so that we could at any time have a few items for our little one. The food was excellent, there was something for everything, although our little one does eat what she is given.

The restaurant staff were amazing and loved Imogen our 2 year old, the Reception staff were good, but not as conversant. The beach was amazingly clean and the location good. Although I think it was 2 - 3 weeks away from start of the season it was enough for a quiet but good break. It is a shame that the economy has got to this area

Room Tip: This was quiet, spanish friendly environment. Good facilities, shop / supermarket over the road. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Not quite 4 star but since we paid a bargain rate then we couldn't complain. Good to have a seperate bedroom, so plenty of space to move around and plentgy of wardrobe space.
Kitchen area had basic equipment - Spanish hotels do not provide kettles so we ALWAYS travel with our own!
Beds comfortable.
Reception staff grumpy on arrival but very pleasant on departure.
HUGE balcony with good side sea view.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, West Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

I booked this holiday via www.onthebeach.com and I must admit that I was apprehensive about the accommodation based on the reviews available on the website. I travelled with my wife, son (age 10) and daughter (age 6) and when we arrived a t the Bahia Serena hotel I was pleasantly surprised. The reception of the hotel is modern and impressive and we were warmly welcomed by the staff on reception despite earlier reviews of the hotel describing the staff as rude and unfriendly.
We stayed in an apartment within the hotel and we were very impressed with the cleanliness, space and quality of the apartment. My wife was particularly pleased with the balcony which was a large balcony and safe for the children to look at the scenery. The room was cleaned and towels changed on a daily basis and cleaners did a wonderful job as we spent most of our time on the beach! The location of the hotel was 'perfect' as it was actually located on the beach! The beach was accessed at the rear of the hotel and we would be on the beach within a few yards which was perfect with young children.
The only criticism of the resort was the stony sand on the beach although this did not hinder our children having a wonderful time on there. The facilities within the hotel were again impressive providing the opportunities for beauty treatments; gymnasium and an actual arcade with a soft play area for the children which was just amazing.
We spent 10 nights at the Bahia Serena hotel and were able to eat out at a variety of good quality restaurants every night with again very good service. We have travelled to many hotels and resorts over the past 12 years and I would confidently say that the Bahia Serena is one of if not the best family hotel we have stayed at so far. I would strongly recommend the Bahia Serena for a young family.

Nigel, Gill, Ben & Emily - Solihull, West Midlands

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maghull
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

In Jauary we checked in at the Bshia Serena Hotel, Roquetas De Mar for a 4 week
holiday. When we left the Bahia Serena Hotel 4 weeks later,we agreed that after
extensive travelling in recent years, and staying in hotels in 4 continents, 17
countries and numerous islands, we had finally stayed at the worst hotel we had
ever visited.
We would say that on the plus side, that the standard of cleaning carried out by the
maid who cleaned our room was excellant, but other than that, everything about the
hotel was abysmal.
The standard of food provided was disgusting. German guests were allowed to
totally disregard the no-smoking signs which were clearly indicated within the
interior areas of the hotel, and we even saw a member of the hotel staff light a
cigarette when behind the reception desk. English guests were not allowed to stay
in rooms which had a sunny aspect, these were allocated to the German guests who
could be seen removing sun beds from the pool area and taking them up in the
lift to their balconies. German guests wereallowed to ignore the signs forbidding
the taking of bags into the dining room, and would place food in the bags. ignoring
the signs forbidding the taking of food from the dining room.When we questioned the
dining room manager about this, he agreed that it was wrong but claimed that he had
been instructed by his Director to ignore these actions.
We had booked this hotel because it was rated (we assume) by the Spanish tourist
as a 4 star hotel, when we are of the opinion that it would be fortunate to reach a 2
star rating.We completed a questionaire on the standard of the hotel on the day
before we left the hotel, the 4th Feb, and accompanied that with a letter addressed to
the hotel Director which indicated all our complaints, and included our home address.
To date, 7 weeks later,the Director has not had the common decency of responding
to our letter.
It is our intention to write to the Spanish tourist board to ask what sort of system they
employed which gave the Bahia Serena hotel a 4 star rating. We would recommend
that anybody considering a stay at the Bahia Serena does themselves a favour and
STEER WELL CLEAR OF IT.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mablethorpe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

The woman on reception was rude and most definately did not like english people.The rooms were not cleaned properly and the food (The last time we had food like that was in 1986 in Bulgaria. Totally inedible and after 7.00pm there was nothing left to eat.
The crockery was dirty and chipped,however the waiters were helpful.
Guests and staff were totally abusing the no smoking signs therefore we could not sit anywhere in the hotel in the evening except our own rooms.Also there was no English channels on the TV. What does that tell you. To call it a restaraunt is an insult to a transport cafe.English people dont waste your hard earned money on this 2*hotel !!!!!! Sue and John Mablethorpe Lincolnshir You Have Been Warned

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

This hotel is tops!!!!!! situated in a very clean and upmarket part of almeria we went for a weekend may 11th-13th, 5 of us, girlie getaway (hen weekend). Really didn't know what to expect. From the time we walked thourgh the door till we left i have no compliants. All the staff were friendy and helpful. Concidering, although we were not a rowdy bunch, i dont think they were expecting a hen weekend.
the hotel overall is stunning!!
we had breakfast and dinner, which was excellent and of great variety considering i'm a fussy vegetarian and still managed to find something i liked.
The rooms were very clean and spacious and better than described. views froom balcony were great.
swiming pool was great bit cold but the heated pool was next to it enclosed, which was like a hot bath!
plenty of space round the pool.
if you walk out the back entrance to the hotel your staight on the beach. Although beach was a bit stoney, very clean with loungers for hire.
Although we went out of season the weather was great, and the outside bars were very friendly and very accomadating a group of girls dressed 4 a hen party.

The web site i saw this on did not do it justice! go to there own site and what you see is what you get.
I will probably have my hen weekend there next year!
would like to go back for a longer stay.

  • Liked — heated pool, spa
  • Disliked — stoney beach
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bahia Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Serena

Address: Avenida Playa Serena, s/n, 04740 Roquetas de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bahia Serena 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Bahia Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Serena Hotel
Hotel Bahia Serena Almeria/Roquetas De Mar, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bahia Serena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.