We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evenia Zoraida Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Evenia Zoraida Garden to your Saves list
Evenia Zoraida Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Mariano Hernandez 131-133, 04740 Roquetas de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Roquetas de Mar
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Overall we had a great holiday and we would recommend the Zoraida ...

The good, the okay and the not so good.

Good
Water slides yayyyyyy ...fab fun even for the over 40's like me
Calories burned whilst doing the water slides. Apparently, there is something like 0.5 calories per step. I calculated 150 calories per 10 goes down the slide. Not bad if you are trying to fight the flab (like me unfortunately)
Variety of food. They had every thing .... Fresh fruit, salads, yoghurt, meats whilst you wait, selection of other hot dishes, Pancakes till they came out of your ears. Breakfast you can ask for eggs and omelettes whilst u wait
Quality of food was good but not great. Cheaper cuts of meats often used .. So had to cut off fat etc
All inclusive great value for money. Only named icecreams eg cornetto and cocktails were excluded. Bottled beer, water house wines (not too bad), water, bottled pepsi, coffee, etc
Fake turf by the pool... Nice for kids and much cooler and more comfortable than hard floor
Bathroom was newly done out
Great hanging thing on balcony
Car park underground at 10 euros per day. We opted to hire a car for less than £20 per day via goldcar. It was great car .. VW polo diesel ..so clean. Drove to lovely beach at San Jose and Mojecar.

Okay bits
Room .... Very clean but lacking any frills
Toilets
Reception area
Limited space for clothes

Bad
The beach! The sand is more like builders gravel... Seriously don't bother.
The beds ... So hard ..
Go for brekky before 9am, lunch before 2pm, and evening meal before 8. Don't say i didn't warn you. I think hotel is victim of own success.
Sun beds ... Slightly short of beds so u have to get up before 9am or suffer without a bed.

But seriously, at the end of the day, we paid 650 each all inclusive, and I really thought it was great value for money, average age of kids is about 6 years old.

Room Tip: I thought sea view was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    107
    65
    22
    9
See reviews for
167
78
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Nothing works in this [--] hotel. It looks nice but that is about the most positive thing I can say about it. It is dirty, full of Spanish people and children and therefore extremely noisy.
When we checked in the door to the balcony could not close, they fixed it within an hour, fine. Then the problems started! The air-conditioning could not be regulated so we asked at the reception if they could fix the thermostat, but they told us it was centrally controlled and we could not decide if we wanted 18 or 25 centigrade in our room, LIE!! We have stayed in many many hotels and it is always possible to control the temperature in the rooms. Then we needed to get on the internet and the hotel does have free Wifi, but it does not work! The next day we went down to breakfast, it is a health danger, cold semi cooked food, undrinkable coffee and a dirty restaurant. We went to the reception and told them about these problems and they just told us that we could check out if we were not happy. We have never experienced anything like this, it is the last time we are ever going to that hellhole.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just got back from a week here, had the best time ever! we got 2 children aged 6 and 4 and there was more than enough for them to do, the new slides etc located at zoraida park is fantastic!!
the food was nice, alot of choice. rooms nicely decorated. staff very friendly. we stayed on the all-inclusive band and wasnt disappointed.
plenty of bars and snack bars, staff always at hand to serve you.Alot of spanish guests (aug) and we found the entertainment catered for them mainly. great location on the beach front.
only downside was the sunloungers get 'claimed' early on!!!!! people getting up early hours, we personally just went to the pool afta breakfast about 11am and got afew then.
we enjoyed the train which stops outside hotel evry 40mns or so, which cost about 16euros for a family of four. it takes you around and about sightseeing which was nice!. few shops over road from hotel and few bars. we also got local bus 2 the castle and harbour which was nice aswell. HIGHLY recommend to familys

Room Tip: we stayed in room 360 on the 3rd floor nice view (front of hotel) thou we requested pool view (extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just taken a couple of days to unpack and settle back home after 1 full on week in this hotel. I stayed with my family of 7 adults and 5 children ages 18 months to 5 years. Adult pool for swimming and aerobics and the children's pools with water slides all very clean and tidy, as was the sunbathing area. The children were kept happy and entertained in the pool for most of the day and with the beach just across the promenade everyone was happy. We stayed all Inclusive and it was worth it just for the drinks and ice cream which would have been expensive. The food in general was not the best quality! I soon realised the omelet bar was the best option for breakfast there your omelet was freshly made for you, you could also get freshly fried eggs to your liking. After a couple of days the snack bars became preferable for lunch. Evening meal not to the standard you would expect from a 4 star hotel and only the house wine (which was awful) came with the all inclusive package even though Cava was included at the bars. We also ate out one evening. We thought the onsite pizzeria would be a welcome change but soon found you have to pay and the all inclusive option only provides a discount voucher. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are large and kept clean and cool with the air-con. The bar staff in every bar were very good and friendly and the kids loved the disco! wouldn't say the same for the restaurant staff, although to be fair it gets very busy. The outside area wins it for this hotel and it's location on the beach. For a family holiday it was ideal if only they did a B&B option!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

First time we have been to this hotel but will definitely be going back again.
I can only agree with everything Lesley150 says.Although not full on the first week, both hotels were full on week 2. Several reviews mention queues for meals. We found that this was due to the locals who tend to eat later than us Brits. Get to the restaurant within the 1st hour of opening and there isn't a problem. All staff were very friendly and helpful in every area of the hotel. Tried to book a late checkout room (cost was 36euros) at reception but as the hotel was fully booked none were available. The manager, however, said no problem, use the pool. beach etc and in both gents and ladies toilets they had showers with towels. Just request key at reception. Found both rooms had two shoers with cupboards full of fresh clean towels and shower/hair gel etc. so saved on this cost. Plenty of choice at every meal for even the most difficult eater. Would highly recommend this complex and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

just arrived home from a two week stay at this hotel, me my hubby and our 7 year old. The pool and the outside surroundings was great, water slides, pirate ships for the kids brilliant , lovely big clean pools with lots of lifeguards large sunbathing areas with loungers and parasols. You do need to get up early to reserve a sunbed though. Drinks, nuts, crisps, ice cream, milkshakes even cava and sangria and coffee are avalible all day long from the poolside bars. Bedrooms lovely and clean, good air conditioning and even a mini fridge to store cool drinks ect in. Hotel in its self fairly modern and clean, the toilets though smelt very unpleasent !!,
The biggest let down of the holiday was the hotels restaurant, it is ment to be 4 star but the plates, glasses and cutlery was filthy dirty, and the food was disgusting, we knew we was going to a predominatly Spainish resort and had no problem eating Spainish food but the food on offer was disgusting !!!! everything was cold the meats were raw and still had blood coming from them, fish was under cooked and raw, we attempted to eat in there twice and the food was that bad we just avoided it full stop. We ate out every morning, lunch and dinner. I am not fussy with food and enjoy a wide range of continental foods but the food served at this hotel was just inedible. I would recommend this hotel for the pools and its location and a nice small town and the drinks but i would strongly advise that if you have booked here take extra money so you eat else where.

Room Tip: choose a room away from the entertainment area as its very very very loud till about one in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The first time i visited this complex was 2 years ago and in this time it has come on immensely, gaining another star rating making it 4 star now.
We booked through Thomas Cook and stayed in the Zoraida Gardens part of the complex on all inclusive. The pool at the Zoraida Gardens is large and spacious and certainly when we were there it was very quiet meaning getting a sunbed was easy at any time of the day,
Our room had 2 double beds, flat screen TV with a couple of English speaking news channels, bathroom with bath and shower over the bath, mini bar (un-stocked), safe (deposit required) and a nice balcony with a fab sea view. Air con was not turned on at this time of year although we were having a bit of a heatwave and so the ceiling fan was needed and worked a treat.
Outside there is a bar/snack bar where you can get drinks while you are at the pool and then another bar for the evening which has indoor and outdoor areas and entertainment in the inside part. When the summer gets going there is an outside entertainment area for shows etc. They also use this during the day for activities. And there is also a disco open certain nights for those who want to keep the beer flowing :)
Food in the main restaurant was good with a nice variety and show cooking available too. We found it funny to see the chef in the picture in the brochure behind the counter! Breakfast had a good variety of food too and the chef makes pancakes to order.
If you are staying at the Gardens and have kids, just take a walk next door to the Zoraida Park and there are the new waterslides along with a pirate ship and a really great kids pool. You can use the facilities of either hotel and getting from one to the other takes literally a minute.
The beach is directly in front of the hotel and is sand and shingle. Very quiet which we were told was because the Spanish do not go into the sea until mid summers day so make the most of it by travelling before then! I can't see it being busy after that to be honest though as there is such a lot of it.
I really loved the Zoraida, the staff were excellent and we had a comfortable stay.
Free wi-fi in all areas too, just ask reception for a code that lasts for 2 hours and then you can get another code when the 2 hours has run out.
Any questions, just ask and i'll do my best to answer.

Room Tip: High floors (4/5) have some excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Evenia Zoraida Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evenia Zoraida Garden

Address: Avda Mariano Hernandez 131-133, 04740 Roquetas de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#4 Family Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Evenia Zoraida Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Evenia Zoraida Resort and enjoying a beachfront location, the Zoraida Garden shares all the facilities of the Zoraida Park: extensive gardens with sunbeds, palm trees, a tropical pool, a brand new Aquapark with slides and pirate ship, 2 tennis courts , Fitness Room with sauna and heated indoor pool, Snack bars, pool bar, hairdresser, shops, free parking facilities… The 342 rooms were completely renovated and are modern, comfortable, with stunning views and equipped with wood floor, queen size beds, 32” LCD flat screen TV, individual air conditioning unit, telephone, safe, fully fitted bathroom with hair dryer and beauty mirror, and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Evenia Zoraida Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evenia Zoraida Garden Hotel Roquetas De Mar
Evenia Zoraida Garden Almeria/Roquetas De Mar, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evenia Zoraida Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.