We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit to see family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playaluna Hotel

Save Saved
You added Playaluna Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playaluna Hotel
4.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Avda de las gaviotas, s/n, 04740 Roquetas de Mar, Spain (Formerly lti Playaluna Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in Roquetas de Mar
Burton on trent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A visit to see family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks holiday in the Playaluna. First of all the staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant especially 'Mar' on reception. The food, we thought that the quality and selection could not be beaten (we only had breakfast) The facilities, all of the facilities were very good ( we didn't use the outside pool as it was a bit cold at this time of year) The room, We had a room with a sea view which delighted my wife which was spotless and very comfortable. All in all an exceptional hotel which well deserves it's 4 stars. We will definitely stay there again as we come to Roquetas every year. WELL DONE TO ALL

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    281
    82
    28
    15
See reviews for
470
87
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had chosen hotel Playaluna because of its' nice situation on the sea promenade. On arrival we were given a standard room with no view at all. By paying extra 10 euro/night we could upgrade to room with a sea view. So we got a very nice view and a very quiet room due to the fact that there was hardly anyone in that part of the building. We got also a lot to walk, long long corridors to the lift leading to the lobby area (restaurant, reception). I wonder if the hotel is saving energy because the corridors were dark and hardly luminated.
We had half board (breakfast and dinner): We are not difficult people to please and we always find something to eat. But this time we found the choice of food rather poor (low season?). A question about the food is always very subjective, we talked with another couple from Belgium who loved the food and they were afraid to become fat... Well, we didn't have that problem; anything we tasted we didn't feel like taking more.
Luckily for a lunch there is plenty of choice in the neighbourhood, we preferred a "chiringuito" on a beach nearby.
We were unlucky to be in the hotel at the same time with busloads of Spanish pensioners, they can make noice... goodbye quiet and relaxing breakfast!
Despite of these "buts" we had a good walking holiday in Roquetas del Mar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were transferred to the Playa Luna hotel from the Protur Roquetas Spa hotel which is next door. Unfortunately they closed early hence the transfer. You could tell the difference between a four and five star hotel (Playa Luna is 4*). We had an apartment which was very good except that there was no kettle provided, (an apartment without a kettle, just not on). Beds were very large and comfortable and apartment was cleaned every day. Now to the pool area, the management need to examine the sun bed situation because what sunbeds were not broken were very uncomfortable to lie on. This hotel was also closing the week after we left and whilst we were there half of the sunbeds were removed, to storage I take it. The hotel was not full so there were enough of them for the number of people staying there. Restaurant very large but most of it was cordened off, food was very good for most of the time. We were only there for the last 5 days of our holiday and by the last two days the quality and quantity had diminished somewhat. I would not like to stay there in high season as I should imagine that it would be crowded with families as it seemed to be very family orientated. We did not stay in the hotel for the entertainment as we like to visit the local bars after our evening meal. Unfortunately, our apartment did not get much sun after about 11 am so we were not able to take advantage of the balcony. We paid extra for a sea view room but only got a side sea view but, as we were only there for 5 days and did not get much sun that was not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were staying there for 2 weeks, All inclusive.

We took with us nice clothes expecting calm dinners but actually we didn't need it that much because most of the ppl just ignored evening dresscode. Families with kids came sometimes in shorts so it was no meaning to have an evening dress and high heels.

As to kids, over 95% of the families were having 2-3 kids so they were running everywhere and screaming. As it was august so 95% of the families were spanish which means VERY LOUD by default.

The restaurant was really big so the sound was penetrating in every corner. Kids were screaming and it seemed to us that we were staying on the market so loud it was. No feeling of the calm moments or romance. However after a couple of days we've got used to that sound.
Besides if you come earlier to the breakfast, lunch and dinner so there are not that many ppl so u can take your food without a queue.
Otherwise you have to stay in a queue and wait. Funny, ah?

BUT however food was SO good and different that I put 5 stars for the quality of the food and service. You can choose any wine or champagne from the wine card and will be served by the waitress. It's not like you have only 2-3 types of the wine in the box and take it by yourself.

Evening shows were oriented only to the kids so there were nothing to do for the adults.
It's just the bar option that is left.

Rooms were really nice and good looking. There were clean and a cleaning lady came everyday. We've got the corner room with a view to the beach and a pool and it was just fantastic!!! Amazing view for real so I put 5 stars for that as well. However most of the rooms don't have that good view so it's just a luck which room you'll get :-)

Beach wasn't a sand beach as I thought but near to water and in the water it was small stones. Water is quite deep directly from the shore. The temperature of the water can vary a couple of times per day.

When I checked the pictures it seemed to me that it's always windy and I supposed it will be waves on the sea always but the sea however was quite calm most of the time.

In general it's a nice hotel which is not that intimate and calm by default (it's 2 huge buildings for 1 swimming pool and restaurant).
However it doesn't deserve less then 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a place to go if you have small children and you don't mind the flip-flopping, stropping and screaming of other people's offspring. But that's ok. The Hotel makes that very clear.

I do have two gripes. One is that the knives in the restaurant don't cut. I asked a waiter for a sharper knife but there wasn't one. "Sources close the waiting staff" told me that it was a common complaint and that some regular guests bring their own knife. If this is true, that is an important and prolonged lapse of quality.

The bar staff in the main hotel bar could do more to keep an eye who is next to be served. This is a reasonable demand on a barman/maid but more than once I felt I was invisible. I even started to imagine that it was deliberate.

On the good side, there is a bar/restaurant next to the swimming pool and with a sea view. The chef Rosa was an absolute gem and the hotel is lucky to have someone who is so attentive to guests and has such a happy charm to her. The waiter Juan Luis was also great. He went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and well served. Again, the hotel is to be congratulated on attracting staff like that.

The food was ok. The room was fine. Our kid was 14 so, given the vocal toddlers, we probably got this one wrong. Next time somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have just returned from a really pleasant week at the Playaluna hotel. We were impressed with the hotel upon arrival and continued to be so throughout our week.

The rooms were nice and clean. We had a view of the beach and had the pleasure of the evening sun on the balcony.

The standard of food was great. The children tried pretty nuch everything. There was always loads to choose from, fresh salad, grilled meat and fish, paella, fresh made pancakes (which the kids loved). The staff in the restaurant were lovely and seemed to appreciate us trying to speak in Spanish (we actually improved throughout the week). We felt that the drinks included in the All Inclusive package were excellent, all house and branded drinks were included.

The pool was lovely, our 3 year old loved the waterslides and our 18 month old loved paddling in the shallow end. It was a little disappointing that there was building work going on poolside for 2 days!!! Not very relaxing when chilling around the pool. The hotel need to invest in some more umbrellas around pool area, only 3 were available.

The children's entertainment was good, our little ones really enjoyed it, they particularly liked Carmen who seemed to work really hard.

Overall a great week, a nice, quite family holiday without the Union Jack clad Brits abroad. We would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
col2
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Just got back from this hotel and i must say it was excellant, from receptionist to barstaff, nothing was to much trouble, restaurant and food was really good, would definately go back,

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playaluna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playaluna Hotel

Address: Avda de las gaviotas, s/n, 04740 Roquetas de Mar, Spain (Formerly lti Playaluna Hotel)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playaluna Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Playaluna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Playaluna Roquetas De Mar
Lti Playaluna Hotel
Playaluna Hotel Almeria/Roquetas De Mar, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playaluna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.