We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday at Playasol Roquetas de Mar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playasol Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Playasol Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Playasol Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. de las Gaviotas, S/N, 04740 Roquetas de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Roquetas de Mar
Costa Blanca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday at Playasol Roquetas de Mar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We have just returned from a weeks stay and had a really good time, the food was varied and excellent, staff very friendly, our room was clean and had everything needed for our comfort .There were plenty of areas in which to relax and play games (cards etc) The hotel surroundings are great for lovely walks The gardens and pool areas were beautiful and time was spent sunbathing around the pool, yes, at the end of January! plus a jacuzzi that was most popular, evening entertainment varied each night.
Sand sculptures on the beach were in progress fascinating to watch.
All in all a hotel I would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    274
    121
    46
    46
See reviews for
410
107
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flanders
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Normally we were going to Italy, but unfortunately my dad died 2 months ago. As I did not want to leave my mum alone we decided or to cancel our vacation to Italy or change destination. Because we booked already in January. So we found something for about the same price in Hotel Playasol "Roquetas de Mar"!The evening we arrived we could still eat in the restaurant, which was for us more like a refectory. The food was cold, there was terrible a lot of noice, the personel was not overwelmed to be nice, ... The day after at the swimming we wanted to drink a nice aperitive for my birthday, we got the JB cola and the Campari Orange in a carton cola cup!! Which seems to us not very attractive for a 4*. When we went for a drink at the bar inside it was way to much and to hard for them to say hello or thank you (even in spanish), and the dirty dishes and glasses were standing there. Even when we went to the "refectory" for diner we needed to pass the bar and the dirty glasses and dishes where still standing there!! Once we wanted to eat for diner we discovered that it was the same as the day before, and that happened everytime we went to eat in the hotel. Because we wanted something else so we went outside a few times which tasted much better as well, and we had a warm meal instead of cold. The only thing which was ok was the swimming pool for the kids because they had a slide and tunnel. I am very sorry but never again we will return to a Playahotel no matter where. We were disapointed because we paid for it and did not get the service for it. All the guests which were staying in a Playahotel where not ravished. Belgium 2008

  • Liked — swimming pool
  • Disliked — all the rest
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Stayed at Playasol with my husband and child. Pool facilities are excellent, the water slides really made by 4 years holiday! Beach very close but "gritty" rather than sandy, so not much fun for building sandcastles. The hotel was very dated, stuck somewhere in the 70/80s, room very small for 3, clean but in desperate need of renovation. Meal times are very spanish and dinner at 8 is quite late for most young UK children. Entertainment starts at 10pm, again late, and all Spanish with no interpetation for the Brits. Also very amatuer. Childrens club ran by Spanish entertainers that speak no or very little English which meant that none of the english kids attended so it wasn't used by us. Bar staff not too friendly but waiting staff in restaurant were brilliant, making a real fuss of the kids. Had a fab holiday but wouldn't return to the Playasol again, just too spanish for us, timings and entertainment were a let down.

  • Liked — Pool was fab
  • Disliked — Rooms - small and in need of a facelift
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

We have recently returned from a 3 day break at Hotel Playasol and found the hotel very nice and the Spanish people very pleasant.

A bonus at the hotel was that new beds were being delivered so we had a nice clean fresh bed. The rooms looked recently painted though admittedly some of the decor looked alitte tired, but not off putting. Some of the pool area was receiving a make over but that is a credit to the hotel, there was no inconvenience to the guests and plenty of other room by the other pool to relax-subject to the weather (it was cool when we visited).

At first we felt disappointed by the food, then realised there was another room where the chef was cooking fresh food and there was plenty of choice - always pasta and spahetti but the meat/fish varied with about 3 choices per night. There were potatoes and chips, salad, veg and plenty of sweet choices.

With regards to the drinks, we did feel that the drinks were abit on the high side but we hadn't had a holiday in Spain for a while so maybe that is inflation/the euro. We found the Spanish bar by the hotel very friendly and enjoyed 2 for one drinks till 11.00 (the hotel also does that till 10.00).

The hotel is located well for the shops and bars and by the sea. The beach is just by the hotel and a nice walk along the edge of the beach.

We found the staff at the hotel and surrounding bars very nice, English wasn't always spoken, we don't speak Spanish but that is all part of a holiday.

The marina next to Roquetas was nice for a drink and a meal especially "altamar".

Overall an enjoyable break.

  • Liked — location/food/accommodation
  • Disliked — no where to visit - all shops and bars
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

As somone has previously mentioned the road that leads to the hotel is a dead end at the beach so be prepared to take your own luggage approx 100m which doesn't sound too bad, but if you are pushing a stroller and wheeling cases it can prove to be a bit tricky.

Hotel - The hotel was very nice. The reception area was lovely and clean as was the majority of the hotel. The pool area was fantastic and one of the best points of the hotel. The rooms were clean but a little cramped and due to the location of the beds the door leading to the balcony wouldn't open more than half way. The cleaners were fantastic although they did not clean the balcony - so if you have a small child that spills alot (crumbs, drinks etc) you have to clean it up yourself. We were in room 532 which had a fantastic view over the hotel grounds and beach. Rooms are well air conditioned. So well I was cold!

Food - Wasn't too impressed with the food on offer. ALthough there is a wide selection of foods they are mainly foreign and do not really appeal to small children. My son lived off Sausages (salami) and chips for a week! Also be aware that as the spanish eat their dinner later, the dining rooms became very busy from 9pm onwards. You may also struggle getting the waiters attention to get your drinks. Watch your drinks bill aswell as they charge this to your room and at the end of the holiday we had a 100 euro bill. I think this was ridiculous considering we were half board and we only ordered diet cokes! We chose to eat out alot as the food seemed to be much the same each day.

Resort - This resort seemed to be Blackpool for the Spanish. There are alot of Spanish people that holiday here and I noticed that the staff in a lot of the bars and restaurants could not speak any English and were quite difficut and rude about trying to understand you. Good thing I took someone who could speak the lingo! The resort itself is quite poor which you will notice from the graffitti dotted around the place.

Transport - Something worth noting is that there are quite a few bus stops. We took the local bus (I think it's the number two) to the Gran Plaza shopping centre a couple of times. Its only 95 cents. Bargain. You can also catch the Number one (they may be the opposite way round - not sure now!) which is a coach into Almeria. I think this cost approx 2 euro each. Almeria and the Alcazaba castle are definately worth a visit. Fantastic views and it is free entry. The tourist information is right outside the station so just pick up a map and away you go.

Excursions - If you plan on going to the mario water park you could use the bus. It isn't too far from the Gran Plaza. I think we would have saved ten euro each if we had have done it this way. The park is great fun though. It is only approx 20 mins from the hotel.

I would definately take the trip to Granada and the Alhambra palace also. This is a little more costly but well worth it. Be warned - the palace and grounds are full of steps and cobbles and not great for wheelchairs or pushchairs. Something that our rep did not tell us! There are approx 89 steps to the gardens which I couldn't go to as I had the pushchair with me!

I would also suggest you go to Mini Hollywood. This was a great day. Again - not really made for pushchairs or wheelchairs as there are quite a number of steep hills and the main square is sand. The heat in the tabernas desert is approx 8 degrees hotter than the coast and beleive me I felt it. It was approximately 38 degrees the day we went.

All in all a good holiday. I don't think i would go back to Roquetas de mar but may well visit Costa Almeria again. Brush up on your spanish though.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, facilities & Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, José Mª Rossell Recaséns. Presidente- Director General at Playasol Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2007
Google Translation
First of all I would like to thank you for your opinion, as thanks to your comments I can know your perception of our PRODUCT and the most important thing the QUALITY and KINDNESS of THE STAFF.

Hotel -

Regarding your comment about the luggage, we are aware that the hotel is in a complicated street, however I would like to inform you that in the case of guests who arrive with their own car, they can go up to the main hotel door, where our bellboy will help with the luggage. In case you travel by bus, if the guide or any other person informs us about the arrival time, the bellboy also waits at the hotel corner to help with the luggage, stepping up this service with up to 4 people if necessary.

I would also want, to inform you that the rooms are daily cleaned, including balconies. We are very sorry for not having known this fact through the manager or the reception, as we could have sorted out the problem immediately. In any case, we would be very grateful if you would be so kind as to contact us. In that way, we could find out the exact period of time we had the honour of having you as a guest and check who your chambermaid was to carry out the appropriate training measures, so that it never happens again.

Food-

I am very grateful for your comment on food as well, as it is a subject which worries us and in which we work constantly to improve it. With relation to your comment on lack of menu variety, let me inform you that we have a cycle of menus of 11 days, where there are salads and some garnishes that are logically repeated but this doesn’t happen with the main courses. Furthermore, we have the show cooking support, which we have remarkably increased over the past few years specially, crossing over a logical but very fast evolution, as at the beginning, we only offered some meat and now we are offering Meat, Fish, Vegetables, Pasta, different kind of Rice and Crêpes, among other products. Regarding children food, in spite of the fact that we think there is more variety every year, if it doesn’t bother you and in order to get to know your opinion much better, I would be very grateful if you could make contact with us and send us a list of dishes which you consider should be included in our children buffet offer and that we are not offering. Finally, let me explain that regarding drinks it is usual to charge for them in all hotels, apart from the ones where there is an ALL INCLUDED service. We have this service at your disposal in all Playa Senator establishments.

Resort-

With regard to your comment about the staff for not speaking different foreign languages, I am pleased to inform you that during all year long we offer free English, German and French courses to the staff and we subsidize any other language that they speak or wish to learn. Up to know we have got an average of 20% to 25% of English and we make a great effort increasing this percentage between 3% and 5% every year.

I have transmitted the manager your comment about the graffiti in order to solve it as soon as possible.

We are very sorry for not having achieved your satisfaction during the most appreciated days of the year: YOUR HOLIDAYS. I would be very grateful if you would make contact with us to study your comments in depth, as this is the only way to improve our service and your satisfaction in future stays among us – in case you give us your confidence again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire U.K.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2006

Stayed at the PlayaSol in Roquetas de Mar, Costa de Almeria, Spain, from the 8th June to the 22nd June 2006.
The Good

The Reception Area and corridors were very tasteful. The grounds and lounges were quite acceptable. Views from the outside lift were magnificient. In general the staff were helpful and the cleaning staff were superb.

The Bad

The road leading to the Reception was so narrow, the coach could not gain access and upon arrival and departure, a walk of approximately 100 yards with luggage was necessary. The rooms were so small that the door leading to the balconey would only open a third of the way. The fitted wardrobes were not high enough to hang dresses, trousers etc from coathangers without the garments partially lying on the base. Some rooms had bedside cabinets whilst others had drawer space in the fitted wardrobes. At breakfast it was sometimes difficult to attract the attention of waiters/waitresses to serve you with tea or coffee, but not so at dinner when you were literally surrounded by them selling you water, wine etc and no doubt thinking of their commission. Cold plates were available for cooked breakfasts and hot plates for ice cold desserts. The quality of food was not consistent with hotel rating.

The Ugly

Upon arrival we were given room number 132 which was on the first floor. The outlook from the balconey can only be described as horrific. Two feet below the balconey was a flat roof which in the past had been coloured green, but now had a brown colouring down the middle and at one end was a variety of discarded fruitskins. Air conditioning outlets were in abundance and two glassed buildings with rusty frames took pride of place. However to be fair to the reception staff after complaining, we were given a room on the 5th floor three days later.

We would certainly go back to the resort,this was our 6th consecutive year there, but certainly not to the PlayaSol.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

Arrived at the Playasol in the evening but the hotel had reserved a meal for us, there were 8 of us but only enough meals for 7!! Cold meal which was very mediterranean (salami etc.) The hotel seemed very quiet and all other holidaymakers must have gone to bed early. Rooms need renovating badly, very tatty for a 4 star hotel. The pool area is lovely, best part of the hotel, slides are good fun and the jacuzzi is nice and warm (sometimes.) The food in the restaurant is good, there is plenty of choice but it is so disorganised, the show cooking is a nice idea but it can get very busy and you have to wait a while for your food to be cooked and on some occasions we found the meat undercooked/overcooked so be careful. The entertainment is boring, mainly for spanish guests, the animation team don't speak English very well and the evening entertainment needs to be alot better for a 4 star hotel. The checking out procedure is ridiculous especially when you have hundreds of people checking in at the same time. The hotel is generally OK but needs updating in alot of areas.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playasol Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playasol Spa Hotel

Address: Avda. de las Gaviotas, S/N, 04740 Roquetas de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#13 Luxury Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playasol Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Playasol Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playasol Hotel Roquetas De Mar
Playasol Roquetas De Mar
Playasol Spa Hotel Almeria/Roquetas De Mar, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playasol Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.