We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experience early morning” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brdo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brdo to your Saves list
Hotel Brdo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Predoslje 39, Kranj 4000 , Slovenia (Formerly Hotel Kokra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kranj
Sofia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bad experience early morning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Travelling at night, I had to sleep for a couple of hours. I checked booking.com and I saw that 24 hours front desk is available at the hotel. However I found a security guy sleeping in the back office and I could make reservation because he was totally incompetent. And the point is that I couldn't get the deal of the day through booking.com because of this "receptionist"
I rate this behavior as a totally unprofessional one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
6
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ljubljana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was very satisfied with all services in hotel( dinner, sauna and massage). It is very clean and nice. Employees are very kind and professional. With my housband spent a wonderful time there. I reccomend definetly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It was just a business trip to Slovenia, but this hotel and it`s surroundings are fabulous. Staff is very polite and helpful, rooms are very clean, very spacious and comfortable. I have enjoyed for 2 days and would love to come back during the summer time, although winter scenery with snow is also wonderful. Very nice and tasty food in hotel restaurant. Unfortunately, I haven`t had time for spa section so I really can`t say anything about that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is set near park Brdo and both are managed by state protocol department. Beautiful setting in a peaceful, almost in-the-middle-of-nowhere location, yet very close to the airport, Ljubljana, Bled... they have different room sizes, but even the smaller ones are decent, especially for the price. Kind personnel added to a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in March 2013. It is quite hotel, which is operated by Slovenian state protocol agency and looks like it has been recently renovated inside.
LOCATION: Hotel is conveniently located in a peaceful environment (Park Brdo, with one of the most famous premises of Slovenian protocol-Brdo Castle), which lies between Ljubljana and Bled (Slovenian Alps), close to Ljubljana airport (Brnik). From highway no more than 5 minutes.
The ROOMS are very comfortable, with large cable TV, free wireless internet access,phone,A/C, minibar, etc. They have excellent quality beds, so I did get a good rest.
The hotel has a fitness (did not use it) and wellness area (finish and turkish sauna), which is very nice, has discrete lightning and offers free fruits, teas, towels and sheets. They also offer massages which in my case was carried out by a very professional employee.
As for the FOOD: The breakfast was very good with all the usual stuff that has to be there in a 4* hotel. The food was fresh, there was a good selection of breads. Plus point was cook that freshly prepared omelets for you and fresh bio juices (as in addition to those from a machine). I also had two dinners there and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Prices from 5-10 eur for 2-4 course dinner (from special menu) seem a very good deal for food and presentation of that was was prepared. tip: try their self-made pralines.
I believe there are quite a few activates around hotel and Park Brdo grounds (walking, fishing, etc), but I had no time to explore it. However I would recommend to arrive (or rent) a car, as I am not sure what type of public transport is around the hotel.
For any younger travelers seeking for bar crawling, disco, nightlife a hotel in center of Ljubljana would be a better option,as around the hotel there aren't many party places.
At the end: I would recommend this hotel without doubt to couples and families, and also to business travelers (that have business in the areas around), who are seeking relaxation, beautiful nature and cozy luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I travel frequently for business and have three basic criteria when selecting and/or staying somewhere. Convenience, Clean and Comfotable. This hotel ticks all three boxes; it's easy to get to from the airport (€20 fare), the guest rooms are very neat and tidy with a comfortable bed and basic amenities. This is a full service hotel with great food and lots of areas for business or pleasure. The grounds are nice, check out the nearby castle, and there's a good health club too. Highly Recommended++++

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful location next to the mountains, in the middle of the nature and far away from crowded places. Friendly staff, good service and excellent cuisine! Free wi-fi, fitness centre and silence! I'll be back definitely!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brdo

Address: Predoslje 39, Kranj 4000 , Slovenia (Formerly Hotel Kokra)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kranj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brdo 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Brdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brdo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.