We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lava pools” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Pools

Lava Pools
Porto Moniz, Madeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$74*
and up
Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and...
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lava pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The lava pools were spectacular and the waves crashing against the shore were fabulous. I wanted to watch them for hours. We had a very good meal overlooking the pools. I'd recommend the scabbard fish with banana. The portions were very generous - fish, potatoes, rice and vegetables.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    82
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good place to go visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We visited here on a blustery day in December. The pool was closed and I'm not surprised, the sea was crashing over the edge of the pools and it was a sight to see, I'm glad i didn't see anyone in the water! It was still nice to go and have a look, there are a few cafes and restaurants in the area and a very small aquarium that we did not think was worth the money to visit. Still it was a nice drive over the island and the roads are pretty good if you stay on the main roads. I;m sure it would be lovely on a nice day but bear in mind the North of the island seemed more rainy and windy than the South

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Örebro
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pool in natural water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is natural salt water pools that cast concrete and stone around natural rocks. It is neat and effective. My husband thought it was an almost eerie feeling to be here when Atlantic swell rumbles into 4-5 meters high in the rocks outside and could be in the water a short distance away without risking anything. The bath also has plenty of space for visitors, changing rooms, toilets and showers. However, lack of sunbeds. Anyone who wanted to sunbathe got put on the hard concrete.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ultimate infinity pool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Fab place. Only cost €1.50/adult €1/child! Beautiful swimming in the sea waters whilst the waves break on the rocks outside the walls and occasionally crash over. Great day out with our 2 young boys. Restaurants serve everything from bowls of pasta to skewered calamari and giant prawns. Worth the drive (only 45mins thru 32 tunnels from Funchal on pretty fast roads)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A must see attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

From your first glimpse of Porto Moniz ( pronounced Monish ) as you descend one marvels at the colour of the sea. On arrival at this quiet resort all eyes centre on the Lava Pools with the sea surging over them, the whiteness of the breaking spray accentuating the fabulous sea colour. It's a charming little place and the gift shops sell the usual tourist stuff ( some items half the price they are in Funchal so a good place to buy!) with cafes dotted around. It's isolated with a limited bus service so if you chose to stay there taxis (not cheap) or a hire car would be advised. On my next visit to Madeira this will be high on my agenda to visit again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Pools also viewed

 

Been to Lava Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Pools, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.