We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but felt 2nd class on All Inclusive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parc Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Parc Hotel to your Saves list
Parc Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Brolo 2, 37014 Castelnuovo del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel but felt 2nd class on All Inclusive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed Wednesday August 8 to 15th 2010

Good Points
Nice roomy but bland hotel. Excellent bedrooms. Excellent reception service. Great swimming pools, always plenty of sunbeds. Good hourly bus service to the town centre. Could have been timed better. left on the hour and arrived at app 10 past the hour. The Ferry timetable had most of its start times at 10 past the hour you would think the hotel would spot that!!!'

Bad Points
Food invariably lukewarm but always a reasonable choice. Appallingly bad wine, sodastream orange and coca cola.

Treated as a 2nd class as an all inclusive holidaymaker. If you paid for coffee or wine, beer, soft drinks you always got a glass or china cup and you could choose whatever you wanted. As soon as you showed your inclusive tag everything came in a plastic beaker and was only the cheap and nasty wine or soft drinks/coffee out of the vending machines. Also they sold wine in the evening - surely a sad indictment of the rubbish you got out of the vending machine. During the day there was supposed to be free ice cream. Again if you paid for it it was soft scoop in a nice cornet or bowl. As soon as you showed your inclusive tag - you've guessed it all you could have was a cheapo ice lolly. 2nd class again

It's the very poorest All Inclusive we have ever been too and it in no way compares with the normal All Inclusives that are offered outside of Italy.

Entertainment
Very poor entertainment. Also we were looking forward to the two musicals in the hotel on the Saturday and Monday in outside theatre which was advertised on reception but the day before they cancelled both musicals. Very poor.

Other
Internet was Euro 7 per hour - unbelievable rip off.
Quite a few mosquitoes about
Every day ther was a business conference on and therefore filled up a quarter of the dining room and guess what, when they were in the restaurant the hot area and two salad bars were roped of and, of course, far better food. 2nd class again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGarda, Web PR Manager at Parc Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Dear Pete, we are sorry if you encountered some inconvenience during your stay. Yet, your review urges us to improve our service. We will take your opinion into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    90
    63
    24
    14
See reviews for
133
52
6
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Just returned from a 1 week stay at the Parc hotel with my husband and 11 year old son. the weather was lovely - we never found it a problem to find a sun lounger by the poolside whatever time we tried. Our room was clean and the bathroom very pleasant. The room was noisy - the sound of music and people chatting travelled up to the 3rd floor - it sounded so loud that we had to raise the volume on the tv with the windows to the balcony firmly closed.
The reception area is lacks charecter and soul - feels like an office building reception area. The staff were helpful on reception - even though it felt as they were more admin staff than front of house staff there to greet customers.
The food was okay - a bit hit and miss on the temperature - several evenings - the pasta I was served was tepid but it was hot on other occasions. This feels very much like a self service hotel. No waiter service at meal times other than to clear the tables. we were all inclusive and you "served" yorself from drink dispensers. The soft drinks were soda stream types - very 1980's. The wine was not good but the beer was fine.
We had to book 3 days in advance to use the grill bar for our evening meal (15 euro credit each) - so we only ate there once - and we were very impressed by the quality of food and the service there.

Pools are clean - crowded but you expect that in August. Pool towels provided. Very much a family hotel - I wouldn't go there as a couple or even with older teenagers.

the courtesy bus is reliable but not frequent enough. you can't see Lake Gard from the hotel - being closer to the lake so you could take a stroll in the evening would be nice but saying that the countryside around the hotel is beautiful.

Top marks to Lee, our Inghams rep at the hotel. Very knowledgable about the area and didn't hard sell the trips - but explained how the local transport system operated. Gave us maps of the area and Verona
Also a ferry timetable.

We got a cheap deal for this holiday through Voyage prive - so wewere happy with our value for money. If I had paid full whack as advertised on the Thompson and Inghams websites then I would not have been happy with the food arrangements.

We spoke to a family who stayed at the Golf Hotel (part of the same resort) and they had waiter service for dinner (half board option) and it sounded far better 4* standard.

Good base for exploring the area by public transport

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGarda, Web PR Manager at Parc Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Dear BristolBeachlovers thank you for your review, I'm sorry you found some inconveniences during your stay in our Parc Hotel, if you prefer a lakeside hotel with different restaurants I would suggest you our Parc Hotel Gritti in Bardolino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

After reading previous reviews we went with a sense of trepidation - however we had a great time. Do not be put off - if you want a great family holiday this hotel is an ideal option which is pitched unashamedly at the family market.

We travelled with Inghams - very well organised (a mini bus transfer from the airport rather than a big bus visiting losts of hotels en route) and a helpful Rep who was always on hand to answer queries

Having gone to Croatia last year we were accustomed with the concept of large cafeteria style dining so there were no surprises here. Always plenty of selection - meat, fish, pasta and salad and an array of desserts - the girls had a competition to guess what the flavour of the ice-creams were - we're still not sure what the acid green one was!

The swimming pools were never too busy and we never had a problem getting a sunbed - they were situated either around the pools or on the surrounding lawns with plenty of shade from the trees or umbrellas.

The free bus into town was essential and ran hourly - it would have been more convenient if it had ran more frequently but we soon got used to the timing. The fallback is always a taxi which cost Euro 8 for a trip to town.

The hotel is ideally situated for exploring the area - we used the local train service to travel to Verona and the ferries to visit towns around the south of the lake, We also went on an organised trips to Venice and the Opera in Verona - both are "a must ".

The hotel has an enthusiastic animation team with some great evening entertainment - including a twice weekly rendition of West End musicals (with firework accompaniment) in the hotels very own outdoor ampitheatre

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGarda, Web PR Manager at Parc Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Dear AmpsTraveller we are glad you enjoyed your holiday in our Parc Hotel, we thank you for your review and hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Definitely not one for the Saga brigade! As can be seen in any brochure, this is a family hotel. It's a large complex with an international feel. Our room was spacious and well equipped. The whole place was really clean, staff were polite and efficient. The restaurant was always busy but food was of a good standard with a variety of main and side dishes. Lunch was usually pasta, pizza and a simple meat dish with salad or chips (this was better than the "snack" were had been expecting). You can book a packed lunch if you are on a day trip which was ok but better to sample the authentic pizzas around the lake. The animation team were great. The evening shows varied in quality and were all mimed but they were good fun in a lovely outdoor stepped theatre. The kids club was excellent with a variety of activities all day that children could drop in and out of. Great as a way of keeping kids busy and helping them meet other kids but I wouldn't use as chilcare. All of the staff working with the kids were really friendly, enthusiastic and hard working.
The location is a bit of a nuisance as you really do need to use the courtesy bus (or taxi) to get into Peschiera but the bus is reliable (the 10am gets very busy in high season).
In all, a great family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGarda, Web PR Manager at Parc Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Dear lintysmum, thank you very much for having highlighted our strong points in your review. It is true that our position might be a little inconvenient, but we believe that the stunning environment makes up for it. We hope to see you soon again in any of our hotels in Bardolino (Parc Hotel Germano has amenities suitable for children), Limone sul Garda (Hotel Leonardo da Vinci) or again in Peschiera! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

great hotel very very clean helpfull staff 5 swimming pools golf course surounds the hotel the down side its isolated but does have a free bus service into Peschiera evry hour
food could of been better rooms very clean and large lake garda is wonderfull so is Venice

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGarda, Web PR Manager at Parc Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Dear Derekjanice56, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Parc Hotel. We will take your comment about our food into consideration. We hope you will come back next year: if you want to see another lakeside town, we suggest you Bardolino, with Parc Hotel Gritti or Parc Hotel Germano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braine l'Alleud, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I totally agree with James and many others. I booked this hotel through one of our travel agencies in Belgium and it was mentioned that is was nice for families with children but did not expect to see that there were 2 or 3 other hotels as well as hundreds of bungalows which means many many many children and you could also see some young football teams (it really looked like a summer camp). Very crowded and difficult to find a seat at the swimming pools.

I stayed there with my husband after a perfect week in Tuscany also in a Park Hotel in Volterra (which was worth the 4 stars).

The location is fine if you have a car (5 minutes to the town of Peschiera) but parking there is quite expensive so you have to park you car just a bit before you enter the city and it's free. Walking distance 5 to 10 minutes. Very well situated to travel in the surroundings and especially if you want to visit Verona and Venice or any other small towns around the lake.

If you don't have a car, you can always take a bus that brings you to the city but we didn't use it.

Despite the fact that we got an all inclusive for the price of halfboard, I can say that it's the worse I've ever been in. You still had to pay for some drinks, snacks and lunches in two of the snackbars. And, I must say the quality of drinks served in all inclused was worse than ever.

I must say that despite the number of guests in the hotels, the food quality was OK but served in an inside cantina underground so not possible at all to eat outside and this was one of the worse experience during any of my holidays.

This hotel is really not suited for couples without children nor single persons.

Also, they had internet but you had to pay 7euros per half hour even for WIFI connection which I think is a rip off.

The only good points for this hotels are: good animation, the room was fine with a balcony and location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGarda, Web PR Manager at Parc Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Dear Suzy, we are very sorry to hear that you are not going to return. Our hotel lies in a large Resort, which includes three hotels/complexes. On summertime, we use to organize summer camps for young football teams, as you could see. This might bring about some inconvenience, but, usually, it doesn't, because we make sure that, in spite of the crowding, every guest has their own sunbed. As for the dining room, we can't unfortunately arrange an outside room for it. We are very sorry if you encountered some inconvenience, which we hope didn't ruin your holiday thoroughly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Castelnuovo del Garda hotels

LOUGHTON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Travelling with Saga on a number of occasions, one gets used to a certain quality of holiday. This is clearly one to avoid, if you are seasoned Saga customers.
The location of the Hotel is on a large complex, which will take you 20 mins to reach the exit, and a further 30-40 mins into the town of Peschiera. A courtesy bus operates but given your dependence on it, your trip schedule has to coincide with its schedule.
A clue in its inapproprateness for Saga guests, is that wine is dispensed from a machine, as is coffee but into plastic cups. It also operates as a summer sports camp for children.
The restaurant has the look and feel of a cafeteria. The lounge facility (The Piano Bar), has no soft furnishings, and also looks very much like a cafeteria. The Lunch option is very poor , and the evening meal had a large selection but no where near that of the quality of other Saga holidays. I could go on, clearly this is an inappropriate location for Saga, and is more suited for families. By the way Lake Garda is beautiful, a complete contrast to this holiday experience. Not one that I would ever recommend to anyone else.
I was relieved when returned home.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParcHotelGarda, Web PR Manager at Parc Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Dear James, we are very sorry to know that your holiday in Parc Hotel wasn't as you expected it. If you would like to stay in a hotel in Lake Garda suitable for couples and adults, you should try Parc Hotel Gritti or Parc Hotel Germano in Bardolino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parc Hotel

Address: Via Brolo 2, 37014 Castelnuovo del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Castelnuovo del Garda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Parc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Castelnuovo Del Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parc Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.