We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cheap. NOT FOR WINTER!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Rialto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Camping Rialto to your Saves list
Camping Rialto
Via Orlanda 16, 30030 Campalto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Bremen, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice and cheap. NOT FOR WINTER!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were in Venice during the annual "Carnevale" at the end of February. Since we were travelling on a tight budget, and all other places on the main island of Venice were booked out, we chose this campsite. It was only 13 EUR a night per person, and it was connected well to the main center in Venice by a bus service (takes about 15 mins, EUR 2.60 return fare).
The experience was pretty good, apart from the fact that it gets ridiculously cold at night in winter as the wooden huts in the middle of a field. They do have a small heater in each hut, but its not sufficient.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    55
    30
    11
    9
See reviews for
13
37
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I liked..very cheap, and nice, nothing fancy...toilets and showers good, clean and plenty of hot water. The cabin was small but more than enough. The only bad thing I found was the mattress, very thin and obviously very old. Apart from that, it was a good place to stay considering the price and location (there is a bus that goes into Venice island). I recommend you to check in advance if there is any STRIKE on bus service. Bad luck for us on our last day and we had to pay about 50 euros for a taxi to comeback. We tried to walk but its not safe to cross the bridge at night. Also, get as much food from the Lidl (that its just in front of the camping), the food in the island not only is VERY expensive its baad, so this is a plus for the hotel. I would definetelly recommend it. Close to the airport in bus (10min) and the island (10 min).

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin if you don´t feel like to stay in a tent...and take mosquito repellent if you are go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We actually thought we would be staying in a room. For some reason we did not realize some of the rooms were tents, so we were disappointed that we were in a tent and not one of the little cabins. It was an extremely nice camping ground. The staff was amazing! They were really friendly! They let us use their phone and also let us print something off! It was a really nice stay and you could take the bus right to shopping areas, places to eat and where a lot of the gondolas were. The bathrooms and showers were set up like if you were at a campground but everything was really nice. There was an area you could sit and eat and they also offered wifi. It did cost but I cannot remember how much it was. It's very convenient if you had to use it to find where you were traveling next. Overall it was a really nice place to stay! Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: If you do not like tents make sure you get cabin but if you do not mind! Then it doesn't matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is such a convenient place to stay. It's almost exactly half way between Marco Polo Airport and the main island of Venice.

There is a bus stop right across the road that will take you into the heart of the island. The buses use RFID-enabled cards which you purchase before boarding at a ticket office (the Camping Rialto office sells them too), and swipe upon entering the bus (as opposed to paying the driver). I'm not suggesting any illegal activity, but the bus was so crowded when I boarded that I couldn't reach the swipe machine. Ever. It's almost as if buying the ticket wasn't necessary...

As for our tent, all was good. We didn't notice any bugs (surprisingly), but don't expect a complete bug-free zone - this is an outdoor situation, after all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed here in late August with my wife and we camped with our own tent. We arrived after a very long flight and was able to take a bus straight from the airport. We passed by the campground and missed the stop the first time and had to loop back around. The sign is very easy to see from the road. The check-in process was very easy and the girl working the front office was very nice and helpful. She gave me advice on the best way to reach my next destination. The restaurant had good espresso, breakfast, and pizza and the staff were great. In the evening, the place was very lively with an international crowd. You can buy bus tickets ahead of time at the front desk which was convenient. The bathrooms and showers were clean, but be sure to bring your own toiletries as there is no TP or soap in there. Staff made sure that campers quieted down late at night (the common area has a closing time) and we didn't have any problem sleeping.

Room Tip: Bring toiletries when you go to the bathroom, as there is no soap or toilet paper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

If staying IN Venice is not an option, then you should really consider staying in one of the camping grounds in the surrounds.

We landed at this place as everywhere else was booked out, and we did not want to break the budget by staying in ridiculously expensive apartments in Venice. We rented a cabin - timber everything, one light and a nice heater to take the edge off those chilly Venice nights. The (paid) wifi was as bad as the staff, and the pizza bar at the camping ground is as rough as drinking from the canals.

The toilets were cleaned regularly, and getting into town is not that much of a problem as the bus stops right outside the ground. There is a supermarket across the road too, however if you do not have a cooktop or utensils it is not much use. DRINK BOTTLED WATER!

However this place is cheap, and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

DO NOT stay here unless you are willing to risk BEDBUGS!! My boyfriend and I arrived to Camp Rialto on Oct. 10th and stayed our first night in the mini chalet. We arrived in the late evening so it was already dark out, so we didn't have much light to see the chalet well. But we could see bugs crawling in and out of the wood and some were crawling onto the beds. They looked like little Beatles at first and although we were grossed out we decided to tough it out because we were camping and that's usually expected. In the morning, I woke up and complained to the girl working at the front gate that the bugs were bad in the chalet and she apologized for our experience and told us she would upgrade us for our second night to the bigger chalet (has a kitchenette and private bathroom). We slept one night in this chalet and I woke up with BEDBUG bites all over my hands, back, feet and even face! They left lines of bites and they were awful itchy. We started to search the bed and the sheets (which were white when we went to sleep) and they now had 3 blood stains in different areas - in case you don't know - finding this blood in the sheets is know as " fecal streaking" which is secretion from the bed bugs after feeding.

After going through this terrible experience - I don't recommend staying here ever. I know it may be a cheaper option to seeing Venice (that's what we thought) but it has turned into a nightmare. Not only am I itching - I've had to wash and dry all of our clothing and backpacks and have had to worry about that the bugs could have hitched a ride with us for rest our travels.
This has been the Worst accommodation experience of my life and I have done a lot of travelling.
Do not do it !!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Rialto

Address: Via Orlanda 16, 30030 Campalto, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Campalto
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Campalto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping Rialto is the best departure point to visit the wonderful city of Venice! Very well connected with the center thanks to the convenient local public bus service that stops right in front of the campsite entry, it is possible to reach the hearth of the enchanting city of Venice in just 10 minutes at a very low cost. Busses are running till late at night so you will be able to enjoy Venice by night too! Camping Rialto can be easily reached from the train station of Venezia Santa Lucia or Venezia Mestre as well as from Venice Marco Polo airport or Treviso airport. Surrounded in a green area perfectly shaded, here you will breathe a friendly atmosphere, ideal for relaxing after an intensive day excursion to Venice. Camping Rialto offers a nice bar pizzeria with "terrace" facing the pretty and well cared campsite garden, where you have a good Italian coffee or cappuccino in the morning, a cold drink when coming back from Venice and in the evening taste the best pizza ever! Having a good drink or an ice, it is possible to use our Wi-Fi connection service comfortably seated, or just have a chat with other guests of the campsite hearing good music. Between our services, a nice well stocked mini market where you will find food and drinks. (Bar Pizzeria and Market will be open from the 15th of April.) Clean bathrooms facilities and laundry facilities available 24 hours. For camping lovers Camping Rialto offers camping emplacements of different size, shaded or not, suitable for tents, campers and caravans. Electricity (6 amp) is included. If you are looking for a comfortable accommodation, you have only to choose the one you like between: Chalet for 4/5 persons: wooden chalets consisting of a bedroom with double bed and bunk bed (+ one single bed in the one for 5 persons), fully equipped kitchen and a small lounge area, bathroom with shower, heating and air conditioning. Mini-chalet for 2 persons: wooden basic mini-chalet with two single beds, no ensuite. Mini-chalet for 3 persons: wooden basic mini-chalet with one single bed and one bunk bed, no ensuite. Rental tents for 2 persons: tent equipped with two real single beds. All accommodations comes with bed sheets and blankets. Towels for rent. Possibility of car/motorbyke parking. Camping Rialto is the best typical Italian friendly, clean and safe place for your stay in Venice! You will feel like home! Excellent location to get to Venice and great value for money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Camping Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Rialto Province Of Venice, Italy - Campalto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.