We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marco Polo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marco Polo to your Saves list
Hotel Marco Polo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Orlanda 115 | Campalto, 30030 Campalto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Campalto
Westcliff
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at the Marco Polo hotel from 11-14 October and it was perfectly adequate for our needs. We chose it as it was close to the airport and to Venice and was a lower cost than a hotel inside Venice - we paid €240 for 3 nights including breakfast. It was possible to get the no. 19 from down the road straight to Piazzale Roma (the bus stop is very near - you go out of the hotel turn right and walk down via Orlando until you get to the bus stop on the same side of the road). We caught an airport buses (no 5) which stopped near the hotel (the road crossing via Orlando - via Gobbi I think) and caught this back too. The first day we asked at reception for and received a kettle for the room, along with tea, coffee and biscuits, which was all complementary. We were given a quiet room near the back and it also had a door onto the flat roof behind which was just as well as the room was very warm and the air conditioning didn't seem to work so it was useful to cook the room down. The shower was excellent and the room was very clean. Breakfast was fine - continental breakfast with ham/salami/cheese, plus rolls, toast, jam, boiled eggs (they would do you scrambled if you requested) and little custard filled doughnuts and fruit tarts. I would recommend this hotel but would also point out that the buses back from Venice get very crowded as a lot of people (workers, tourists) use them to get into and out of Venice. For that reason alone it might be worth paying for a hotel inside the city as it can be quite unpleasant returning on a packed bus when you have been walking a lot all day already. The benefits were that you got back to somewhere quiet which still had a couple of bars and restaurants locally where you could have a drink and a meal. The gentleman at reception was helpful although his English was minimal and Martina was very helpful on email before our trip but we hardly saw her when we were there as we were out most of the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the road if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    96
    30
    5
    11
See reviews for
51
111
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Marco Polo for 2 nights Oct 6 - 7, 2013. We chose it because of the closeness to both airport and Venice. Our experience staying here was very positive! We were greeted by Alessandro who was very friendly and helpful (even though we asked a ton of questions! LOL).
The room was simple, yet clean and comfortable. The lobby and breakfast area were always kept neat and tidy. It was a bonus to have breakfast included each morning, which included cappucino, fruit, cereals, eggs, cheeses, meats, yogurt, juices, croissants, breads.

The location to Venice was so simple - 1 bus (#19) to Venice. (and the #5 back to the hotel). The surrounding area was fairly quiet once shops closed, but we found a nice restaurant a short walk away.

The hotel provides a shuttle service to the airport for 10 euros, so that was also a nice feature.

The only negative I would say is our TV was not clear - fuzzy and not a clear picture but hey you're in Italy... Who needs to watch tv!!!

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the Main Street, which was fairly busy with lots of airport traffic. Although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Marco Polo September 213 before and after our cruise from Venice. Hotel located nicely away from busy Venice and very lose to the Airport. It's a Great small Hotel with really friendly staff. Martina on reception always answered our questions about things to do in the city and great tips on transport to and from Venice. Orlando too was really helpful and always had a smile even though he seemed to work from dawn to dusk. Hotel was clean and the breakfast was good. The Hotels shuttle taxi to and from the airport cost fifteen euro for us both and that was only three euro more that it would cost for the two of us on the local bus at six euro each and that bus number 5 is always packed so your unlikely to get a seat. Would I recommend this hotel? Well yes I would and I look forward to staying there again.
Luc and Sheila Dunne

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slave Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nice hotel.. Awesome restaurant close by.. Right by bus stop to go into Venice.. Really nice. Staff was a little poor w English but helped as well as they could. Rooms we're clean.. Beds we're ok. Really nice breakfast.. Even made provision for my wife's gluten allergy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrived late at night but there were two helpful staff at reception. Check-in was a breeze. We booked four average size rooms but ours had the largest most luxurious (by standards of our previous hotels in this 5-country cross drive European tour) bathroom, ever. Walkable space inside, shower stall spacious, hygienically white toilette and bidet, towel heater racks, floor-to-ceiling window panels looking out to the street below (yes, inside the bathroom, so mind the drapes please) and even a small neat sitting stool beside it. Soft fresh smelling towels, hair dryer and toiletries...which aren't standard in other hotels. If you just look at the bathroom it feels like you are in a 5-star hotel, maybe better. The bedroom though, is an average hotel room and between the big double bed and desk there is just enough space to walk sideways. It did have the same floor-to ceiling window/door as the bathroom, stepping out to a small balcony which trembles when a vehicle passes below. Bed is comfortable enough. Wifi is free for first two hours per room per day, but cumulative so make sure you log off or turn off your tablet/phone wifi when not in use. We used the hotel as a base to explore Venice and Verona. If you are tired of small bathrooms in Europe, this one will surely be a pleasant unexpected luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were basic but clean which is to be expected for a hotel of its category but the service was truly terrible. The rooms are noisy and on a main road.

Firstly, we were not greeted at all when arriving to the hotel. We had "free wifi" in our rate, however this was only for 2 hours and for one device, if you want more you have to pay.The airport shuttle is outrageous, 20 euro for 4km.

We asked where we could go for dinner outside the hotel, the older man on reception pointed to the hotel bar without speaking or acknowledging us further.

We were told we were leaving too early for the full breakfast but that there would be a "piccolo breakfast" waiting for us on the bar. When we got downstairs, there was nothing there, and when we asked about it the man on reception laughed and said he has no food.

Lastly, we had left something behind, I emailed to ask if they had found it hoping it could be posted back, I am still yet to receive a reply more than a week later.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmarcopolo, Direttore at Hotel Marco Polo, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
the hotel staff is sorry to found your negative review. Carefully reading all the information of the hotel in our website or in the portal where you booked surely you could know in advance the gratuity and the extra charges for the internet. As for the shuttle, we informed you of the prices of all possible means. You have chosen the shuttle to save on the price of the taxi certainly more expensive. If you wanted to save money you could use the bus service as indicated in the email. In any case we do not find proper complain of your choice. Receptionists ever book a table for our customers nearby restaurants, but after 10:00 pm the restaurants are all closed. Only the bars stay open until late, while offering meals and it is for this reason that my colleague advised you to go eat at the bar.
Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I promised the receptionist I would write a review & she asked me to go ahead. So here goes:

We checked in at 645pm and there was no welcome or hello. Then we were told that the hotel is fully booked & our assigned room is still occupied. The previous occupants were due to check out but has yet to return to pack their bags & neither did they pay for late check out. The receptionists requested that we go for dinner first & come back @ 8pm. They also shared that they had no contact details of the previous occupant & did not know what time they will return.

At this point, it is clear that they had no contingencies for us when our reservation is paid in advance and check out time is 1030am. They must have hoped that we did not turn up. We then insisted that we wanted a room right away and finally one receptionist stormed off with a key. He got back 30mins later and placed the key on the desk. Was that the right way to tell us the room is now ready? There were no apologies through out this entire incident & no water offered while we waited for our room.

When we left the next day, there were no apologies, thank you or farewell. Yes the room is clean but Thanks for making our trip to Venice a complete nightmare.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmarcopolo, Direttore at Hotel Marco Polo, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
in your review you have written that your stay was a nightmare. We are sorry at your check-in you didn't have the room for a mistake due to another customer. We proposed you to have dinner that on your return you could have your room. Just needed the time to solve the problem. But you said that you were free to wait only with a discount of 50% of the room price and this has very bitter us. Our staff has accelerated the time to solve the problem only making you wait 15 minutes and once you had the room key you straight out to dinner. Surely your objective was to get the discount otherwise there was a negative comment. This has badly impressed us.
Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco Polo

Address: Via Orlanda 115 | Campalto, 30030 Campalto, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Campalto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Campalto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo is a modern and comfortable Hotel in Campalto: totally renowed in February 2008, it’s only 3 km far from Marco Polo International Airport of Venice and along the main street to Venice Downtown; the closest highway A4 and a convenient public bus service makes the Hotel the ideal stay to reach Venice at only € 1,00 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marco Polo Province Of Venice, Italy - Campalto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marco Polo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.