We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel that could be great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Cantico della Natura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Il Cantico della Natura to your Saves list
Il Cantico della Natura
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Case Sparse 50 | Vocabolo La Penna, 06063 Magione, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good hotel that could be great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in mid September. The drive up to the hotel is fine, just take it easy. The setting is beautiful, the view from the pool area spectacular. The staff are helpful and do their level best to make your stay the best it can be. The buildings are made from local stone and absolutely in keeping with what you would expect of an old Umbrian inn, especially the dining room and patio dining area.

Our room was majus, just off the dining terrace. The room is good sized and well furnished with an adequate bathroom. However, there are no windows because the room is a (well) converted cellar and to keep it cool requires the air conditioner to be running continuously. It would have been nice to open a window in such a beautiful old building.

Our only complaint with the hotel is the lack of attention to detail. Our minibar fridge did not work so we had no cold drinks available. One could say "so what"' but with an outside temperature of 34 and no hotel bar, a cold drink would have been good at times. The hotel we unable to fix the fridge or swap it over, we missed out on a drink - they missed out on the minibar profit. On our penultimate day our room wasn't made up at 1700 in the evening and we had to point this out to them. They attended immediately and we then noticed they had left a set of towels that were dirty, as if they,d been on the floor for a time. We asked them to change them which they did. Why not check and give us clean towels the first time? Finally the bed in Majus is just awful. It's two single, cast iron framed beds pushed together. There is an iron bar that runs down between the two beds that stops you venturing into your partners half and if you aren't careful you end up bruised. A triumph or style over practicality.

The meals and wine are excellent and good value for money.


Get the detail right and this could be a truly great hotel to spend a few restful days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window and a comfortable bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    174
    32
    21
    12
See reviews for
79
416
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This place confirmed our booking but made a mistake on the dates and we were left without a room. Worst of all, they dont answer emails for 2 weeks straight claiming they havent received anything...

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cantico, Manager at Il Cantico della Natura, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
First of all we would like to comunicate that this potential guest did not came to visit us. We consider not correct to make e reference only to have a revenge or make and express damage to us without coming and giving a vote on something (a trip) did not happen. Second the reservation was not confirmed because we received via mail an instant booking in a web site where we have a free sale contract and we have to give for legal and for honest attidude priority to that. Third we comunicate to the potential guest via mail directly the same day the situation and we never received and answer. He said i wrote but we never received and in any case i receive directly our comunication many days before. So we consider aboslutely false what have been said and we ask to remove it. We accept of course critic but not pure attack originated by range and uncorrect vision ot the reality from someone that necer came
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

A wonderful, beautiful, peaceful, scenic, perfect Italian inn. The view and setting are as good as you'll find anywhere in Italy. Exactly what you want for rest and beauty. Meals-especially dinners-were outstanding. The setting in the stone eating area is right out of a movie. Candles, white table cloth, sublte music, wonderfully decorated, in this stone room hundreds of years old. Our family ate there three straight nights, at least 3 hours each meal. We didn't want the night to end. And wouldn't have eaten any place else. Quiet and relaxed and romantic. A perfect setting. Cozy. It is what you would imagine a country Italian inn should be. Authentic. Just enough english spoken to handle all issues. But it is authentic Italian. Great wine selection. We loved it. Rooms are Ralph Lauren in feel. Antiques. But all modern amenities. No issues. The pool area overlooks a huge lake, several small quaint towns below, distant mountains and hills-just gorgeous. As good a view as Italy has to offer. The inn is perfect for couples, good friends, etc. Our kids are 15, 18, 21 and 22 and I thought any younger than 15 wouldn't appreciate what this place is. We have traveled Italy before-stayed at Locanda in Tuscany. We spent days traveling to small towns-Todi, Pienza, Assissi,etc after breakfast, were back by afternoon for swim, reading by pool, daydreaming. Had no desire to go anywhere else for dinner, which we began about 830. Then great sleeping. The smell of honeysuckle drifts throughout the inn. Flowers are all over the grounds. 12 rooms-all well appointed. I think you get the idea. It was perfect. We were very pleased with the prices. We flew into Rome, stayed for a few days and then drove to Magione. Would recommend a Garmin-not only to find the inn but to navigate your way to the small towns which are priceless. As is Il Cantico Della Natura. www.ilcanticodellanatura.it KH, KC Mo., USA

Room Tip: 12 rooms-one of our rooms was December-excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed there for two nights, which we had bought via Groupon (otherwise it would have been too expensive). We slept in April room (small but cozy) and enjoyed two great breakfasts in the restaurant (both sweet and salad food, really excellent) and a warm tea with handmade biscuits overlooking the lake in the afternoon.
We really appreciated the possibility to have the spa area entirely reserved for one hour!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Enjoyed our stay, room was clean and service was good. Charming room. It was slow season so not much going on at the resort. Our host was very polite and would provide us with what we needed. It was hard to find so get good directions. Would love to come back in the summer when we could fully enjoy the beautiful grounds and trails. Internet did not work in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed for three nights - the views of the Umbrian countryside are fantastic. The tasting menu was different and wonderful each night: antipasto buffets, two kinds of pasta (yes, you can have some of both!), delicious meat, flavorful vegetables and lovely desserts. The service was friendly and genuine (they work hard!). The cooking class with Aunt Rossa (making pasta and a torta salata), was fun - what a sweet lady! Afternoons by the pool were a highlight; you can order wine to enjoy by the pool. We had a couple of problems (hot water, paying by credit card), but once we let the staff know, they resolved them. Print their directions from the website (they are excellent and you will need them). It's a FARM stay, so please don't expect perfection. Go to relax and enjoy the tranquility.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

My husband and I were very much looking forward to our visit to Il Cantico della Natura. We stayed there for two nights, and out of the dozen or so agritourism places and small hotels we have stayed in the Umbrian/Tuscany region this past summer, this was the worst.

Our room (Octobre) was very small and dark. My husband and I had to do a dance to get by one another when we were anywhere near the bed (which of course took up most the room). It was almost impossible to read in the room, even with all of the lights on. The tub/shower--which was situated in the bedroom (giving the place a slightly "Poconos, NY" feel--was very difficult to get in and out of. There was nothing to hold on to, and one had to step down about 36 inches to get in or out. Plus, the design of the shower was faulty and water went all over the floor.

The pool was freezing--even in September. We did not expect it to be heated, but because the pool is kept clean by constantly circulating a strong current of fresh water through the pool, there is no chance for the water to get warm at all. We only saw one person use the pool the entire time we were there because the water was just too cold.

Dinner starts at 8:30 pm. Living in Italy for the past year, we are use to late eating times, but a start of 7:30--for those who have traveled and are tired--would be helpful. Finally, the food in their restaurant was not at all good--we ate out the second night. My husband and I were so eager to get away after our second night, we left before breakfast.

Please--go somewhere else. This place is very, very overpriced for what you get. There are so many very lovely agritourisms in the area--which cost much less and give you so much more for the value! (See my other reviews for some suggestions.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Cantico della Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Cantico della Natura

Address: Case Sparse 50 | Vocabolo La Penna, 06063 Magione, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Magione
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Magione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Cantico della Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Umbria in a wonderful panoramic position with Trasimeno lake view,this hotel provides the ideal base for your holiday.The old stone house was finely restored and furnished in 19th century style.It offers very romantic rooms with a fan and air conditioning.Typical umbrian food is served in the restaurant.Il Cantico della Natura has an intimate wellness centre with jacuzzi,sauna and turkish bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Il Cantico della Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Cantico della Natura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.