We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Vesuna

Save Saved
You added Locanda Vesuna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Locanda Vesuna
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Podere Pecorile | Localita Sant'Ambrogio, 53020 Trequanda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Trequanda B&B and Inns
David Cizek
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed in Locanda Vesuna for 2 nights and we were sad that we cannot stay longer because of our itinerary. We had studio and it was amazing - very good and large bed in really nice, bright and spacious room, divided by a few steps into a two large spaces. Nice bathroom and from the garden door you are immediately in the garden with a stunning view. Owner was very kind and found a solution for my gluten free diet. I hope we will come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night in March of 2012. We were driving through Tuscany and because it was early in the season a lot of the more popular agriturismos were closed (many open in April/May). We had some difficulty finding the place because we neglected to print the directions- it would be pretty easy to locate had we not forgotten to bring the helpful directions they provide for getting there.

We arrived at night and we didn't fully appreciate the beauty of the surrounding countryside because this place, though close to Pienza, really is in the countryside- and it was very dark out since there are no streetlights etc. where it is located. But we were led to our room by the friendly caretaker and found it to be very large and thoroughly adequate. The bed was comfortable and the room had a TON of space: bedroom with closets, living/sitting room with a television, and a bathroom.

It is soooo quiet out there- an amazing night's sleep. In the morning we woke and had a very satisfying breakfast, there was a lot of choice in the little dining room which had amazing views of the countryside.

The view was INCREDIBLE. You are really in an old, Tuscan villa and the surroundings are just totally unspoiled and amazing. There is not a whole lot to do out there but I would not hesitate to use this as a base while driving to other places in Tuscany, including Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano, etc. There is enough space in the room that you could really make it an apartment, have a little wine and a snack at the end of the day, etc. It's a little off the beaten track but the price is not bad and the service is friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Having travelled a lot ,I have to say that Locanda Vesuna so far is the most beautiful, relaxing and charming place I have been to. The location is perfect. In the middle of Tuscan hills, overlooking fields and etruscan villages in the distances, it gives you the feeling of total relaxation. Our special thanks to Monica and Loretta who have made our stay outstanding. The hospitality we have been welcomed with at Locanda Vesuna was overwhelming and we can highly recommend to spend a few days at this hideaway. Thank you Monica for the lovely food and all your effords, we hope to be back soon!
Locanda Vesuna is perfectly located to explore Val d'Orcia and nearby villages and towns, but also to relax by the pool and enjoy the sunset at the end of the day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

My daughter, Rachel, booked the Vesuna for her wedding - Midsummer Day 2007 - after viewing other villas in the area. It was perfect. 22 guests stayed on site, another 20 in local farmhouses/ hotels. Monika & Gian Petro, who run it for the absentee owner ( a famous Italian actor, & a buddhist - the influence of the mystic orient shows in much of the decor) made us all feel like family. Food top class, all traditional Tuscan fare; grounds unbelievable - you can see for miles in all directions, & within 15 minutes drive (40 minutes on a bike!) you can be in Pienza ( marriage was in the Town Hall there), Castelmuzio, Petroio, & other ancient, completely unspoilt hill villages. Vesuna (named after an Etruscan godess) has its own pool & hot tub, pool table, BBQ facilities, & the most heavenly views on earth. Completely peaceful, relaxing, & if , like me, you don't mind if you don't bump into too many other Brits abroad, and run a mile at the sight of the dreaded British Pub, then you couldn't choose a better place. And if you go, just say the Vesuna was recommended by Rachel - they'll roll out the red carpet!

  • Liked — scenery, food, hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda Vesuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Vesuna

Address: Podere Pecorile | Localita Sant'Ambrogio, 53020 Trequanda, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Trequanda
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trequanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Vesuna 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Locanda Vesuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Vesuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.