We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wish we had more time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casina Valloreci

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trequanda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casina Valloreci
Save Saved
You added Casina Valloreci to your Saves list
Podere Valloreci, 40, 53020 Trequanda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Trequanda B&B and Inns
Howell, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We wish we had more time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Perfect!!! Casina Valloreci was absolutely perfect. Our host, Angelo, has definitely put his heart into making the stone cottage a home away from home. The photographs on the internet show exactly what you get. There is no exaggerating the beauty and warmth that is portrayed in the images of this agriturimo. It was very clean, the bed was amazingly comfortable (which we cannot say about most places we stayed in Italy) and the location was perfect. Valloreci was located off the beaten path but was close enough to Highway A that we were able to take day trips to Sienna, Montepulciano, Orvieto and Civita di Bagnoregio. There were so many other small hill towns that we wanted to visit but ran out of time. However, there are so many within a reasonable distance of Casinia Valloreci.

When we arrived at Casina Valloreci, Angelo had a plate of crackers, mozzarella cheese with olive oil, tomatoes and basil, a bottle of wine and a tasty cake waiting for us in case we had not eaten. He made our dinner reservations at a wonderful restaurant in Castelmuzio the night of our arrival. When we arrived at the restaurant he had a glass of champagne waiting at our table. One evening we arrived back at Valloreci very late and there was a bottle of wine sitting on the table outside our door with a note telling us to enjoy the rest of our evening. He emailed us when we got home to make sure we had a great time. He was an absolutely perfect host who gave us privacy when we wanted it but was always available for questions when we needed him.

We exchanged emails with Angelo several times before our arrival to request that he help us set up a private tour around the wineries and small hill towns. We had a car but we wanted one day that we did not have to drive ourselves in case we tasted to much of the Tuscany wines. He emailed us several times asking questions and getting specifics so that he could make our day perfect, and it was. Our private guide Elario from Il Postalino della Vald’ Orcia was very, very accommodating. He stopped when we wanted to take pictures. He took care of details like making sure he had water for us to drink in the van and that we were not rushed while exploring Bagno Vignoni, Sant’ Antimo Abbey, Montalcino and San Quirico D’Orcia. He dropped us off in Pienza for dinner and more exploring. Angelo scheduled it so that he could pick us up when we finished our incredible dinner at a wonderful location picked out by Angelo and reserved by him. Angelo took care of so many details that we would have been lost trying to do ourselves.

I can’t say enough about our stay at Casina Valloreci but I can say that we would stay here again, we would recommend it to everyone and it is our plan to see Angelo again and enjoy another romantic, peaceful week in this Tuscan gem.

Room Tip: It is a cottage for two. You don't need to pick a room. Just pick Casina Valloreci and you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We just returned from a fabulous 6-night stay during our honeymoon at Casina Valloreci, a charming little stone cottage (just the right size for two) on a villa in the middle of olive groves. Casina is located near Sinalunga -- a central location that allowed us to easily day-trip to Siena and many other towns in Southern Tuscany.

The cottage had everything we needed, including a full kitchen, and was very comfortable -- plenty of hot water, a cozy bed, and lots of personal touches. We were sad to miss out on the beautiful swimming pool during our mid-October trip, but others who come during the summer would certainly enjoy it! The grounds are also lovely, with beautiful views in every direction.

From the moment we arrived, host Angelo went out of his way to make us feel welcome, with a fresh-baked cake, champagne, and other goodies. We were initially worried that we might run out of things to do in scenic but quiet Tuscan hill country, but Angelo had great suggestions for activities (wine tour, lunch at a working farm, nearby hot springs, etc.) that helped us slow down, savor the countryside, and relax! He hand-drew maps to all our activities to help us navigate, and we didn't get lost once. Angelo also gives the best tips for restaurants -- follow his advice and you won't be disappointed!

One tip for future travelers is that there are scented candles and down bedding at Casina Valloreci -- we enjoyed these homey comforts, but if you have allergies you might want to ask Angelo to remove them ahead of time (which I'm sure he would be happy to do, as he is very attentive to his guests).

All in all, we had a terrific time and would definitely return in the future! Grazie, Angelo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Not only is Casa Valloreci charming and comfortable as other reviews mention, Angelo is a fabulous host!! Not only did he help with recommendations and reservations for lunch & dinner, he was extremely helpful guiding us towards laundry and cooking class options. We stayed for a week in the middle of our Italian holiday - a vacation within our vacation. My husband likes to cook, so having a kitchen and shopping at the coop in Castelmuzio was fun, too. The outdoor space was wonderful, we cooked and ate outdoors, just like we were home! We trust we'll be back sometime soon! Thanks for everything Angelo!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent six nights at Casa Valloreci. It provided us with a peaceful spot to recharge ourselves after our days exploring lovely Tuscany. The stone cottage is in a great location, (15 minutes drive to Pienza and also close to Montepulciana and other historic hill towns). It is clean, comfortable, quiet and of quality construction. But the best part of our stay was meeting the owner, Angelo. He is thoughtful and kind. On our first evening there it was wonderful to find a treat waiting for us after a busy day. Angelo made sure we were well taken care of by helping us make wise choices to make the most of our time. We really enjoyed the food from the restaurants that he recommended. We'll always remember our wonderful time in Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights here last week. Based on the previous previews we were excited to see this lovely stone cottage and to meet the infamous Angelo. Both exceeded our expectations. Upon first arriving, we were greeted with open arms and a bottle of wine along with some fresh fruit, meat and cheese. The cottage has been completely restored in the Tuscan style, of old weathered brick and stone, along with lovely accents throughout. The interior of the cottage consists of one bedroom, one bathroom and an attached sunroom which contains the kitchen. The kitchen is stocked with enough utensils to cook a variety of meals, along with two Italian coffee makers. The bathroom is spacious with lots of hot water in the shower. The bedroom is very large with lots of storage space and outlets for charging cameras, laptops, etc. The bed is very large and comfortable with good quality comforters. The entire interior has ceramic/stone flooring and is tastefully decorated and immaculately clean.
You have use of the pool, which is large and well maintained surrounded with a large patio for sitting around in the afternoons.
Angelo was so helpful, by setting up wine/cheese tastings and making dinner reservations for us. Thanks some much Angelo and Umberto for a lovely visit. We sure hope to make it back in the future for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Casina Valloreci for a few days on our honeymoon and we could not have had a better time! It was everything we were looking for. This is a gorgeous property on a working farm with amazing views of the Tuscan countryside. It is quiet and relaxing and every inch is filled with rustic charm. We stayed in the cottage and it was so comfortable, it really felt like home. There was even a nice hair dryer in the bathroom! The owner, Angelo, has put so much attention into every detail and you can tell he really loves what he does. As soon as we met him, he was incredibly welcoming and we were greeted with a bottle of prosecco and a delicious pie.

In addition to Casina Valloreci being such a wonderful place to stay, you get the added benefit of Angelo’s knowledge of the area. Our first night he made us reservations at a restaurant in town and it was literally the best meal we had in Italy. It was unbelievable. He also arranged a wine tour and lunch at a Montepulciano vineyard that was fantastic. To top it off, he even gave us restaurant recommendations for Rome where we were headed next!

I would not hesitate to return to Casina Valloreci. You really don’t have to plan any activities before you go. The location is great and there is so much to do close by. My only regret is that we did not spend more time there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We enjoyed some early contact by email with Angelo and got to know each other a bit first.. We arrived by escort of two lovely young villagers on motor bikes, as a result of asking directions.. What a great start to the warm hospitality and gorgeous villa awaiting us.
Angelo and Umberto toured us through cottage and grounds and we felt excited but completely relaxed..A wealth of information and recommendations for the region was available to us, and Angelo was able to book reservations for us at restaurants and local cooking school..Podere Il Casali...wonderful. We also had a special treat cooking in the outdoor kitchen at Casina Valloreci
We felt like we were at the most delightful resort, but it was all to ourselves!! Everyday there we will cherish and we certainly miss Val d'Orcia. We hope to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casina Valloreci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casina Valloreci

Address: Podere Valloreci, 40, 53020 Trequanda, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Trequanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trequanda
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first time I fell in love with this place was several years ago while watching the movie, "The English Patient." I loved these forests, cypress trees and valleys. I was impressed in particular by the Abbey where the movie was filmed, at Sant'Anna in Camprena. And now this movie is repeated for me every night, and every night is always more beautiful. I would like to share these feelings with you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casina Valloreci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.