We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Conte Matto

Ristorante Conte Matto
Via Taverne 40, Trequanda, Italy
0039 0577 662079
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Ristorante Conte Matto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Trequanda
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Wells, Maine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a gem of a restaurant in a small Tuscan town, Trequanda. There is indoor and outdoor seating but we opted for indoor as the evening was cool and the mosquitoes were out. There is a view as well. The food was excellent, especially, the homemade tomato soup, which was thick and creamy. THE best tomato soup I have ever had -- anywhere! The desserts were superb -- the Morbidezza (chocolate mousse) was divine, the fruit tart was splendid and the caramel dessert was exquisite. Although the town may be a little out of the way, the restaurant is well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    66
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montefiascone, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Food good, view great but watch for the extras”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

It was a splendid day - we ate on the terrace - a great simple Tuscan meal. Only bummer was that in the bill - they charge for "cover", water was Euro 4 and a glass of house wine was Euro 4 when the bottle cost Euro 5. Too bad - it would have been perfect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

It was the first stop on the way from the airport in Rome to our Toscana vocation. And we were not disappointed ! Very good food ( pasta ,meet and other) , great ( their own ) wine and olive oil ( by very fare price) . The service was also great, the owners are very friendly and speaking not bad English , so we had a perfect lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrace dining with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've cycled Tuscany on a few occasions and was looking for 'a quick bite at lunch' on my way back in thru' Asciano before the afternoon rains arrived. Stumbled on Conte Matto, tucked at the top of a steep hill, around a corner, and through an arch -- and on may way out of this lovely town. Directed there by a teacher in the school opposite, I wasn't entirely convinced that I'd even made my (restaurant) request clear. View is great from the terrace. Menu is good and varied (dinner looked even better). Can't speak to the wine -- another 40 Km precluded sampling that part.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have been visiting this area for over ten years and probably have eaten here at least 25 times. It is a family owned and operated restaurant in town, with great food, wine and service. It is probably the best value in the area. Their pasta is cooked perfectly, try the pici and to gnocchi. The main courses are very good, lamb chops is our favorite. Their wine list is well-priced, the house red at 7 euros is a nice table wine from a near by Colle winery. And the service is excellent, even when crowded. You cannot go wrong here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Conte Matto also viewed

Trequanda, Province of Siena
Trequanda, Province of Siena
 
Trequanda, Province of Siena
Trequanda, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Conte Matto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Conte Matto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.