We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm near Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Poggio ai Merli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Poggio ai Merli to your Saves list
Villa Poggio ai Merli
Via Di Giogoli 5, 50018 Scandicci, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Scandicci
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Charm near Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

If you have a car, stay here.
This hotel is peace in Chiantishire. The staff are lovely, kind and considerate, without fawning.
The rooms are quiet, large and comfortable. Plus we had a fridge and sink, so could have made better use of our stay.
It took us about 20 minutes to reach Florence each day; we parked and ambled around.Then left the city for our haven, restaurants nearby make it ideal for evening escape.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    8
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
23
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place seems to be run by a brother and sister. The brother (i forget his name) is very friendly and helpful... however the same cannot be said for his sister. That aside it is a very charming villa in a really lovely setting. Close to Florence but far away enough to be in the Tuscan countryside. The drive to the villa is beautiful, especially of you go via Piazzale Michelangelo. However, the suite we booked was dark and had a very uncomfortable bed. Breakfast is also a measly portion of stale croissants, jam, orange juice and coffee. I think the setting is splendid and one should rather opt for a villa instead of a hotel when in Tuscany. However, i don't think we will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

You stumble on this place not realising its proximity to Florence. A beautiful villa in lovely surroundings. I booked a double room which comprised an ample bathroom, large double bedroom and a spacious lounge with kitchen facilities - a large fridgefreezer, sink, dishwasher and gas hob.
The welcome from the hosts deserves special mention - extremely helpful and friendly - even remembering your name hours after check in. Free ADSL cable provided by the owner as the wifi did not reach my room. Breakfast delivered to room a lovely touch. My only minor gripe - check-out at 10am does seem extraordinarily early! I will be back and have extended my one night's stay to two!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I´ll start of with the hosts. What a great couple. So friendly and really accommodating. Made us feel at home from the moment we arrived.

The property itself is amazing. It´s literally up the road from the centre of Florence but you wouldn´t know it. It´s such a tranquil place.The setting and surroundings give you that real Tuscan feel.

Inside, the room we had was ample. The kitchen well equipped and the beds (even the sofa bed) super comfortable and absolutely huge! Everything about this place from the trees, to the swimming pool to the rooms themselves were perfect.

The only thing I would fault is the breakfast. Although there was a array of things to choose from, the pastries and bread didn´t seem fresh.

I will definitely be back to this place and will definitely be recommending to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

A beautiful place to embrace the serenity and beauty of the Tuscany hills and valleys. Placed on a hilltop surrounded by olive groves, and age old roses we enjoyed the excellent accommodations and the friendly atmosphere created by the owners. A perfect retreat each day upon returning from a day trip to Florence by tram and surrounding attractions. A perfect location to relax and bask in the golden sunlight unique to a Tuscan sunset.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at the Villa Poggio ai Merli for one week in August, in a two-room apartment in the main building.

The positive aspects of our stay were:
• The villa is in a very beautiful and peaceful location, yet only a few minutes drive to Scandicci and local large supermarket (COOP) and the tram to Florence.
• Lovely swimming pool, which we had to ourselves most mornings. However, it was more popular with guests in the afternoon/early evening.
• Our apartment was traditionally furnished in the restored main building.
• The villa is ideally located for visiting Florence and other towns in Tuscany
• Verena was very helpful in advising of places to visit and providing maps etc.
• Friendly cats and kittens!

A couple of minor negatives were:
• The breakfast was slightly disappointing, comprising drinks, breads, jam, processed cheese and hams.
• The kitchen didn’t have an oven or microwave to heat or cook food. However, there was a hob, dishwasher and fridge.

You really need a car if you stay here and the villa proved to be an excellent base to visit Florence and other towns in Tuscany. Siena, Lucca and Pisa are all around one hour away. I would advise taking a Sat Nav as the narrow streets in Scandicci and other towns are quite difficult to navigate. Our highlights of the week would be the views over Florence from Piazzale Michelangelo, taking a cycle ride along the top of the ancient walls of Lucca and a visit to San Gimignano situated between Florence and Siena. The new Tram takes you from Scandicci to Florence in 15 minutes and only costs 1.20 euros per journey. (You can also buy a “Carte Agile” of 10 tickets for 10 euros, which can be used by all the family)
The Da Quai Ragazzi restaurant (at the first main road junction you come to in Scandicci from the villa) was very popular with locals and served excellent pizzas at very reasonable prices. If you want to eat back at the villa, it also does take-away pizzas (6-8 euros) which came with free drinks!

Overall, we found Villa Poggio to provide traditional accommodation with a lovely swimming pool and pleasant views across the Tuscan countryside. It was an excellent base providing easy access to Florence and Verena’s helpfulness and local knowledge is an added bonus!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We just returned from another wonderful stay at Villa Poggio ai Merli. We hadn't been back since we got married there five years ago and were wondering if it would still be as perfect, with our two small children in tow, but it definitely was.

This time we stayed in a one bedroom apartment - Masaccio. It was fine for the four of us as there is a double sofa bed in the living room. Each morning we enjoyed the breakfast provided then tended to hang out by the pool or go into Florence. Our two girls (2 and 4 years old) absolutely loved pottering around the villa and going in the swimming pool.

Verena and Serena are still as helpful, patient and enthusiastic as ever - nothing is ever too much trouble for them. The Villa is pristine and the views are incredible.

There is a new tram (Tramvia) which runs from Scandicci into the centre of Florence. We got on at the Neni Torregalli stop as there is a free carpark right next to it (outside the large Coop supermarket) and took it to the Santa Maria Novella train station. They seem to run every 5-8 minutes and the journey only takes about 12 minutes. Definitely a good way to get into town and avoid having to find and pay for a car park.

The main sites in Florence are absolutely mobbed in August so we didn't spent much time around them. However, if you go a few minutes away from the main tourist spots, it is much quieter. We headed to Piazza Santa Spirito for lunch one day and it was good.

We had a couple of nice meals in Osteria del Milione (amazing views) and in Trattoria Bibe (in Scandicci - on the other side of the river). BIbe was particularly good for our girls as they have a large courtyard. We didn't eat there but our friends' had an excellent meal in Giogoli Rossi (just up the hill, opposite Osteria del Milione)

There were loads of mosquitos around so if you go in the summer, make sure you are loaded up with bug spray/ coils. Apart from that, everything was just perfect.

We are already planning our next trip and hopefully won't leave it so long next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scandicci
2.6 mi away
Lebbiano Residence
Lebbiano Residence
#1 of 5 in Scandicci
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Cora
Villa Cora
#6 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Marzia
Hotel Marzia
#4 of 5 in Scandicci
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Torre Di Bellosguardo
Torre Di Bellosguardo
#13 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#19 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Belvedere - Florence
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#132 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Poggio ai Merli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Poggio ai Merli

Address: Via Di Giogoli 5, 50018 Scandicci, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Scandicci
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Scandicci
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Poggio ai Merli is located on a panoramic hill at just 6 km from the historical Centre of Florence. It is characterized by a large park and amazing swimming-pool through the olives garden. The sixteenths century Villa is made up of elegant apartments and Suites: each of them are unique and well cared. The hotel services joined with the historical charm and breathtaking landscape make its unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Poggio ai Merli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poggio Ai Merli
Poggio Ai Merli Scandicci
Villa Poggio Ai Merli Scandicci, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Poggio ai Merli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.