We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - spectacular view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Capanne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Giuliano Terme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Capanne
Save Saved
You added Le Capanne to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Loc Le Capanne, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Stavanger
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food - spectacular view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We enjoyed four nights in this hillside charm. However, our stay was not "hassle free". Upon arrival there was some trouble with our (prepaid!) booking, so we were offered a smaller room than we expected. The pool and pool area is very nice - with a spectacular hillside view. At dinner time it turned out that our table reservation had not been registered. You might want to do an extra check on this, since the drive to the nearest restaurant is more than 20 minutes on an unlit and winding road. We were offered to wait, and after 90 minutes we got a table (at that point our kids were nearly falling asleep). The wait was worth it (at least for the grownups). The food was excellent, and one of the best meals on our trip.
During high season this place is booked for weddings in the weekends. An Italian wedding is more or less a full day event... The restaurant is then closed (so you have to either stay at the pool, in your room or take the winding road down the hill). We really missed having a poolside bar or a small market up on the hill. So with two kids we had to plan ahead what to bring with us back up to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    27
    21
    12
    8
See reviews for
33
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Stayed there 3 nights in July '09. Really special. You will have problems findng this hotel, even with a TomTom! And that's part of what makes it so cool! After we drove back and forth in the nearest small town ,San Giuliano Terme, we did spot the sign for the hotel. The drive up is spectacular, with such a bending road that you'll have to use your cars horn before every turn. And I'm from Norway, so quite used to "bending roads", but only seen something like this once before.
Shortly, this is a 3-4 star on the outside (pool, restaurant, etc.) with 2 star rooms.
Which by easy kalculationn adds up to a 4 stars, right!?! The place is just special; you'll have a breathtaking wiev (remember, I'm Norwegin, so I'll know..Fjords, right?). You can see for miles, and easily spot that strange tower leaning to one or two sides.. If you want a quiet, relaxing, "read-a-book-with-a-vew" kind of hotel, THIS IS IT!
We have a daughter (11) and a son (10), and they both really loved this place! Especially the pool and also the outside aria where we played a lot of football.
NOTE; The restaurant is only open for dinner on wed.- to saturdays (?).
NOTE 2: Our friends; a couple with children of the same age, came 2 weeks later.. and left after 1 night for a more comfortable hotel... If you want truly 3-4-5 star "luxury", this isn't it.
But we normally stays at 4-5 stars, and all of us really wants to come back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We went with much trepidation after reading the reviews on this site expecting broken toilet seats etc!
As everyone says the loaction cannot be beaten, you could see the leaning tower of Pisa in the distancefrom the pool. The drive up hill was fine, not as bad as I expected, (allow a 7 min drive from village, and follow signs for Agriturisimo Le Capannne, ask for directions at information centre in village,on first floor, as the girl speaks perfect English and is very helpful).
Our two large rooms made an apartment, with 2 bathrooms, both extremely clean, intact toilet seats, and fantastic water pressure in one shower (not the other)
Rooms could do with a bit of updating - (broken lamps and horrible cheap pictures on walls etc - then it would be fantastic.
The kitchenette was more than I expected - a little odd that the hob and sink was housed in a cupbaord but the doors closed and kept everything neat. Each apartment had an outside terrace and table lots of people bought food and ate outside and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.
The chef is also the owner, very nice, but his miserable wife lets the place down.
We had AC the first day, but on the second it was turned off. When we enquired at reception she told us it was not included in the price! We told her we'd had it the first day and her husband had showed us how it worked etc. Then she changed her story (via one of the waitresses) and said that the apartment next door had complained as the unit was noisy on their roof. It was indeed on their roof, and I suspect very noisy.
Within 30 mins some maintainence guys came, fixed the noise, and we had A/C once more. My husband was less impressed by this place than I (said the staff made it a bit Faulty Towers like!
American 5 star luxury this is not, but rustic Italian it is - and that's what I wanted.
It's not perfect, but if it was it would be too expensive probably!
I've never been to a nicer pool, clean with breathtaking veiws, never too busy, always an available seat, (no need to put towels on beds!) The waterfall into the pool was great fun for the kids.
The restaurant was fantastic - one of the nicest meals we had in Italy, with the best views but you need to book and it was closed on Wednesday.
Looking at all the other hotels nearby I reckon this is the best of the bunch and gave us good value for money

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

San Guillano is a beautiful town. Worth visiting especially since it is only 1 eur on the train from Pisa! However do not stay in one of the villas near the Hotel Capanne. It was disgusting. Damp walls, broken toilet seat tiny shower and ants everywhere! We ended up leaving after a few hours and ended up haveing a brilliant holiday! Visiting pisa florence and rome! I would really suggest that you avoid this apartment.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Le Capanne is in a fantastic location. As everyone else says, the road up there is a little tricky to find, and quite narrow, but its fine. I think one of the main 'problems' we had was that we were sold this as a hotel by Expedia, and after the first day we found out that the rooms aren't serviced or cleaned at all, and we were there a week. The rooms are very basic, and the "satellite tv" is dire. However the rooms are clean and reasonable for the price you pay. We only ate at the restaurant once, which was nice but not very cheap if you want to eat there every night. Consequently the kitchenette in the room is very useful for money saving.
Overall, Le Capanne is beautiful and rustic, but basic and not for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

The location is 3/4 up a mountain that you reach on a narrow winding road. Since there is little to no travel the road is not much of a problem though it does tend re-think dinner in the valley when it is readily available on site. Dinner was good and reasonably priced with a great local wine. The rooms are fine and well maintained. Now the complaint - their web site is TOTALLY inaccurate and does not include a phone # - which combined makes it nearly impossible to find. Thanks to some local business people that could re-direct us even though we did not speak Italian and they did not speak English.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

Tucked away, fantastic view, lovely people and amazing resaurant. We have been going there since our daughter was a few months old and happily go back each year for a restful break, many times taking friends with us who are also hooked on the place. It's greatest appeal is its rustic charm and fantastic views over Tuscany. Cannot recommend it enough. Downside is you do have to hire a car, otherwise you are stranded without food as it is a 3km climb up a very steep and winding road to the village.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Capanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Capanne

Address: Loc Le Capanne, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Giuliano Terme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Giuliano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Capanne 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The locals call this "paradiso," and quite rightly so. The Residence Capanne is well worth the steep and winding climb for its spectacular, unbeatable views extending to Pisa. From the pool and flowered terraces, Pisa can clearly by seen in the middle of the plain below and it is just 4 km down to the little spa town of San Giuliano Terme. Restoration of this 17th C villa, and its cleverly converted five adjacent buildings, provide varied accommodation and the setting for a delightful restaurant. Stone steps link pathways and apartments to the main courtyard of the villa, with a parking area above. We are able to offer two self-catering apartments, both with a slightly different aspect. Simply furnished, they are equipped with kitchenettes designed for only light holiday cooking, to encourage guests to take full advance of the restaurant. When this is closed, a pizzeria opens in the courtyard below. Apart from the obvious attraction of the Leaning Tower of Pisa, it is also easy to make day trips to Lucca, Florence or Siena. The nearest good sandy beaches are to the found at Tirrenia, a short drive from Pisa. The splendid nature reserve of San Rossore, which stretches along the coast from Pisa to Livorno, is also well worth a visit-although check with the local tourist offices for opening times, which are restricted. Apt. Studio (2 people): ground floor living area with double bed, kitchen corner, bathroom with shower. Private equipped terrace with view. Apt. Bilocale (2+2 people): ground or first Floor living/dining room with kitchen corner (equipped with fridge, freezer, gas fires), double sofa bed, double bedroom, bathroom. Private and equipped area Apt. Trilocale (4+2 people): ground or first Floor living/dining room with kitchen corner (equipped with fridge, freezer, gas fires), double sofa bed, double bedroom, twin bedroom, bathroom. Private and equipped area 8 Dbl bedrooms with bathroom have been recently introduced on the second floor of the main building . All with TV Sat and Air Cond. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Capanne Hotel San Giuliano Terme
Le Capanne Province Of Pisa/San Giuliano Terme, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Capanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.