We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Capanne

Save Saved
You added Le Capanne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Capanne
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Loc Le Capanne, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

San Guillano is a beautiful town. Worth visiting especially since it is only 1 eur on the train from Pisa! However do not stay in one of the villas near the Hotel Capanne. It was disgusting. Damp walls, broken toilet seat tiny shower and ants everywhere! We ended up leaving after a few hours and ended up haveing a brilliant holiday! Visiting pisa florence and rome! I would really suggest that you avoid this apartment.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    27
    21
    12
    8
See reviews for
33
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Le Capanne is in a fantastic location. As everyone else says, the road up there is a little tricky to find, and quite narrow, but its fine. I think one of the main 'problems' we had was that we were sold this as a hotel by Expedia, and after the first day we found out that the rooms aren't serviced or cleaned at all, and we were there a week. The rooms are very basic, and the "satellite tv" is dire. However the rooms are clean and reasonable for the price you pay. We only ate at the restaurant once, which was nice but not very cheap if you want to eat there every night. Consequently the kitchenette in the room is very useful for money saving.
Overall, Le Capanne is beautiful and rustic, but basic and not for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

The location is 3/4 up a mountain that you reach on a narrow winding road. Since there is little to no travel the road is not much of a problem though it does tend re-think dinner in the valley when it is readily available on site. Dinner was good and reasonably priced with a great local wine. The rooms are fine and well maintained. Now the complaint - their web site is TOTALLY inaccurate and does not include a phone # - which combined makes it nearly impossible to find. Thanks to some local business people that could re-direct us even though we did not speak Italian and they did not speak English.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

Tucked away, fantastic view, lovely people and amazing resaurant. We have been going there since our daughter was a few months old and happily go back each year for a restful break, many times taking friends with us who are also hooked on the place. It's greatest appeal is its rustic charm and fantastic views over Tuscany. Cannot recommend it enough. Downside is you do have to hire a car, otherwise you are stranded without food as it is a 3km climb up a very steep and winding road to the village.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

my husband and I booked this hotel for one night, I would advise anyone against staying there. The road to the hotel is hard to find as its no wider than the average household driveway and literally takes you up the side of the mountain, if you dont have a head for heights then dont even condsider it! It was raining when we arrived and the receptionist refused to show us to our room as she didnt want to get wet (she didnt actually tell us this she just stood and spoke in italian to another woman then went and yelled for a chef to show us 500 yards to our room). the room was big and vey basic, the bathroom was in need of steralisation and the kitchen sink and hob were in a cupboard (if this is some sort of Italian tradition Ive never heard of it, but I bet the fire dept has)!
as we were leaving early in the morning we asked the dry woman on reception if there was any way we could get an early breakfast, she told us there was nothing she could do.
so when morning came we was more than happy to be leaving, once we were at the bottom of the hill that is!
good view, nice pool, rubbish staff and pre war rooms.

  • Liked — we only booked one night!
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights in May 08, and found it nicely tucked away in a perfect location overlooking Pisa itself. We loved the place, and as you walk round it there are lots of little secret pathways and places to explore. The grounds are beautifully established and well-tended, and the outlook is stunning - however, the price you pay to get here is having to drive up a hairy mountain road, which has no barriers as such and so is quite scary (it does only go to the hotel, so it's quiet - but still needs a lot of care!).

I have to disagree with a previous reviewer and say that we found the cleanliness of the room to be good, but you should allow for being out in the country (so expect the odd ant and spider, etc!). There are two sorts of rooms, those in the main building (more like a hotel room), and the separate 'apartments', which is what we had. These are very rustic in feel, with small windows and basic furniture (comfortable bed, mind), and are equipped for self-catering. The fridge came in handy, as we could stock up with beers and snacks from the local Carrefour! The only niggles I had with the room were a lack of comfortable chairs (a sofa or armchairs wouldn't go amiss, rather than so many dining chairs), and the towels - traditional, but I prefer fluffy cotton to the smooth, tablecloth style we were provided with!

The service was excellent and the staff very friendly - especially the chap who brought over his own Sky box to allow me to watch the Champions League Final in my room, when there was a problem with the bar's own Sky reception!

Although only open for three of the seven nights we were there (two of the others there were local functions on), the hotel's restaurant was so reasonable and the food so good we ate there twice. Breakfast was quite basic though, with mainly bread and jam plus brioche.

All in all we were pleased with the hotel and especially its position - it proved easy to drive to Lucca and Florence. I'd also recommend Florence by train, as the local service into Pisa made it easy to pick up one of the frequent express links - Italian trains are quite reliable, comfortable and very cheap.Pisa itself feels a bit run down apart from the area around the Duomo and Tower - worth seeing, but your time's better spent exploring the many hilltop medieval towns, such as Volterra and San Gimignano, which were easily reached on a day trip.

If you've not been to Tuscany before I can heartily recommend this as an excellent place to start!

  • Liked — The view and surroundings - to die for
  • Disliked — The road up to the hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSLO, NORWAY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

If you do not care about bad standard and bad hygiene and bad cleanness, but love nice view, we maybe can recommend this hotel....We have booked one night in a standard hotelroom with breakfast, and after we had read the reviews from other guests and seen the websides for the hotel , we thought we had found a nice place to stay....When we arrived, we got a flat with two bedrooms and two bath. We have travelled a lot, but this was the worst experience..The shower in the bathroom was in front of the toilet, on the wall, with a curtain to the sink. One of the bathrooms had lot of dead insects on the floor, the mirrors were dirty, and two of three bulbs on the mirrors were out of order and one was broken.
In one of the bedrooms none of the bulbs were in function.
Ants on the floor.
A maschine motor started twice pr hour during the night, and it was terrible to get awake all the night.
In the diningroom it was just a lamp on the roof, not possible to read or write.
The lamp close to the exit-door was terrible and full of dead insects.
Just two small windows that made it dark all the day, and the furniture outside the door was in bad condition.
We had to pull out the electricity to the fridge during the night, because that motor also made strong noise. The door inside the fridge was full of hair.
So we left the hotel disappointed and tired !!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The bad standard, cleanness and hygiene on the flat.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Capanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Capanne

Address: Loc Le Capanne, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Giuliano Terme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Giuliano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Capanne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The locals call this "paradiso," and quite rightly so. The Residence Capanne is well worth the steep and winding climb for its spectacular, unbeatable views extending to Pisa. From the pool and flowered terraces, Pisa can clearly by seen in the middle of the plain below and it is just 4 km down to the little spa town of San Giuliano Terme. Restoration of this 17th C villa, and its cleverly converted five adjacent buildings, provide varied accommodation and the setting for a delightful restaurant. Stone steps link pathways and apartments to the main courtyard of the villa, with a parking area above. We are able to offer two self-catering apartments, both with a slightly different aspect. Simply furnished, they are equipped with kitchenettes designed for only light holiday cooking, to encourage guests to take full advance of the restaurant. When this is closed, a pizzeria opens in the courtyard below. Apart from the obvious attraction of the Leaning Tower of Pisa, it is also easy to make day trips to Lucca, Florence or Siena. The nearest good sandy beaches are to the found at Tirrenia, a short drive from Pisa. The splendid nature reserve of San Rossore, which stretches along the coast from Pisa to Livorno, is also well worth a visit-although check with the local tourist offices for opening times, which are restricted. Apt. Studio (2 people): ground floor living area with double bed, kitchen corner, bathroom with shower. Private equipped terrace with view. Apt. Bilocale (2+2 people): ground or first Floor living/dining room with kitchen corner (equipped with fridge, freezer, gas fires), double sofa bed, double bedroom, bathroom. Private and equipped area Apt. Trilocale (4+2 people): ground or first Floor living/dining room with kitchen corner (equipped with fridge, freezer, gas fires), double sofa bed, double bedroom, twin bedroom, bathroom. Private and equipped area 8 Dbl bedrooms with bathroom have been recently introduced on the second floor of the main building . All with TV Sat and Air Cond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Capanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Capanne Hotel San Giuliano Terme
Le Capanne Province Of Pisa/San Giuliano Terme, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Capanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.