We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No comfort in the rooms BUT great view!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Capanne

Save Saved
You added Le Capanne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Capanne
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Loc Le Capanne, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No comfort in the rooms BUT great view!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a perfect hotel for people who don't want to spend lots of money but who expect "something else".
The outside of the hotel is beautiful and the view is spectacular.
The rooms are old, are not very clean and are very very basic.
We stayed at the hotel several times; every time we say it's the last time (comfort) but every few years we return!!
For us the price><quality is reasonable and the good things compensate the small irritations...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    54
    28
    20
    11
See reviews for
32
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Me and my family go to Italy all the time, and we went to this hotel 3 years in a row, it is amazing and so worth it, only a short journey to Pisa and absolutely wonderful views! We met some other people there and are still keeping in touch, good pool, beautiful place. One of the members in my family had dropped some jewellery down the sink and one of the 'handy man's' came and opened up the sink to get it for no extra charge, overall brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It looks nice but indeed the apartment was really old and crappy, furthermore the apartment was full of ants and the heater were off and we had to pay and extra to have it on. You can definitely find something better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed only one night before visiting the Tower of Pisa the following morning. As other reviewers have noted the entrance road leading to the Hotel is a mountain goat track with a small turn off from Lucca – Pisa the road, but once we navigated it once, it was fine. Tip, if it is the first time heading there – when you feel you have gone too far just keep going as you cannot miss the hotel.

Upon arrival we were checked in quickly and the staff were kind enough to let us use their printer for our Pisa tickets. The room allocated to our brief 1 night stay was a 2 bedroom family villa with bedding for at least 4 people, 2 full bathrooms, full kitchen with full size fridge! This would be a great location for the traveling family.

The bed was comfortable and there was hot water with reasonable water pressure. The view from the hotel complex (and pool area) was over Pisa with the Leaning Tower and airport clearly visible. In fact you could hear the engines of planes landing and taking off which was amazing.

Unfortunately the night we stayed the gas in the restaurant was not working, otherwise we would have eaten there and enjoyed a delicious sounding menu and set dinner options including wine for 20-25 Euros.

(+) Positives
+ The view is spectacular and for those who want to get out of the city this is a great option
+ The hotel is a mere 10-15 minute drive to Pisa (The Leaning Tower) first thing in the morning. This provided the perfect launch pad for our visit to the Tower
+ The villa was too big for my wife and I, but think it was great value for the traveling family
+ There was free WiFi in the reception area, we didn’t use it but a number of guests were taking advantage of this
+ A nice pool area and as mentioned restaurant/bar services are available
+ Staff are friendly and always willing to help

(-) Negatives
- You do need a car if you want to visit this hotel. Do not book if you are using public transport as you will never make it up the hill!
- Parking was located above the accommodation areas and the steps leading there was quite treacherous. There was also a shortage of parks for guests, this was mainly due to inefficient parking by guests rather than the allocation of space.
- Breakfast was an additional fee but we had to leave before it was available so cannot comment on the variety, quality or value.
- The towels were a thin tea-towel like to feel but very absorbent and worked well when jumping out of the shower!

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Le Capanne and would recommend it as an alternative for those wanting to unplug from the city, visit the Leaning Tower or just enjoy a more rural retreat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This place is in no way an Agriturismo. They grow oil, yes, but they don't sell it, offer it, use it in restaurant or ANYTHING. The property is full of fig, apple and other fruits trees that were all full of ripe fruit that was just dropping and rotting on the floor. A little initiative to offer these fruits at breakfast would go a long way.

I didn't even meet the owners... common practice at an agriturismo. My only experience was a rude phone call at 5pm the day of check in demanding to know where I was, apparently reception closes at 5pm (no one told me when I booked that I had to be there by a certain hour) and as a result had to rush from Florence there.

Upon arrival we were put into our room (hot and stuffy, no air con, tv didn't work, bed was a matrimonial not twin, and hardly any natural light) but i twas cute and clean and the bath room was massive.

Breakfast is joke - cappuccino from an automatic coffee machine. It was horrible. We are in Italy - make a decent coffee!! and is offered only from 8.30 which is a little late if you plan on making an early start.

Saturday night there was a weddign reception held there which didn't stop till past 3 am in the moring. The music and people created such a racket, it was impossible to sleep before 3.30am. We had to get up at 6.30 to drive back to rome so the lack of sleep was not appreciated. Ofcourse, there was no one there to ask to monitor the noise as the owners leave once reception is closed at 5pm. A little warning may have been nice, we had decided to stay on the top of a mountain to get some PEACE and QUIET! Not a 'Casino"

The best things about this place is the View, the restaurant (which is completely separate from the 'agriturismo') and the Pool.

If it wasn't for the staff at the restaurant the stay would have been a major disappointing. As such i suggest going to the Restaraunt for dinner one night, getting there early so you can enjopy the view and staying some where else. The food is great and they are so friendly! 10/10 for the them!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Apartment was basic and old fashioned. Had to go back to reception to ask for some soap and towels were of the thin linen variety -not especially efficient in October!
We were only booked in for one night and dinner was excellent -probably the best meal of our stay in Italy. Breakfast was horrid -one croissant each, dry bread, cornflakes and coffee from a vending machine.
My husband was the only one of our party of four who managed to have a hot shower as by 8 a.m there was no hot water at all to either of our showers or the wash basins. I find this unacceptable for the price charged per night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We spend a week in le Capanne in September. It was close to the end of season, so expect the hotel to be quite empty around here.

The first 2 nights we spend in a pretty dark apartment that was rather damp. Moreover we had limited direct view from the room and no view what so ever from our terasse. We were a quite disappointed with this. Fortunately the bathtub was leaking, so we were offered a much better apartment with a wonderful view of the sunset and no damp, which saved our stay.

Overall we find the hotel to be a mixed experience.

On the good side:
- Decent restaurant with very friendly service
- Nice pool area
- General nice shared outdoor areas
- A few of the apartments have direct view - (Try to get them!)
- Fantastic views from the shared outdoor areas.
- Good location for exploring Pisa and Lucca

On the down side
- Basic rooms - many without view and with damp
- Cleaning of rooms could be better
- Service pretty much non-existing
- Value for money seems on the low side
- Restaurant sometimes closed (no alternatives around)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giuliano Terme
Free Parking, P...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Airone Pisa Park Hotel
Airone Pisa Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in San Giuliano Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Locanda Sant'Agata
Locanda Sant'Agata
#1 of 6 in San Giuliano Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
3.1 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#5 of 58 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
5.7 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#15 of 58 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
19.8 mi away
Albergo Roma
Albergo Roma
#1 of 8 in Casciana Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Pets Allowed, F...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Cribo
Bed and Breakfast Cribo
#3 of 31 in San Giuliano Terme
5.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Capanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Capanne

Address: Loc Le Capanne, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Giuliano Terme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Giuliano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Capanne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The locals call this "paradiso," and quite rightly so. The Residence Capanne is well worth the steep and winding climb for its spectacular, unbeatable views extending to Pisa. From the pool and flowered terraces, Pisa can clearly by seen in the middle of the plain below and it is just 4 km down to the little spa town of San Giuliano Terme. Restoration of this 17th C villa, and its cleverly converted five adjacent buildings, provide varied accommodation and the setting for a delightful restaurant. Stone steps link pathways and apartments to the main courtyard of the villa, with a parking area above. We are able to offer two self-catering apartments, both with a slightly different aspect. Simply furnished, they are equipped with kitchenettes designed for only light holiday cooking, to encourage guests to take full advance of the restaurant. When this is closed, a pizzeria opens in the courtyard below. Apart from the obvious attraction of the Leaning Tower of Pisa, it is also easy to make day trips to Lucca, Florence or Siena. The nearest good sandy beaches are to the found at Tirrenia, a short drive from Pisa. The splendid nature reserve of San Rossore, which stretches along the coast from Pisa to Livorno, is also well worth a visit-although check with the local tourist offices for opening times, which are restricted. Apt. Studio (2 people): ground floor living area with double bed, kitchen corner, bathroom with shower. Private equipped terrace with view. Apt. Bilocale (2+2 people): ground or first Floor living/dining room with kitchen corner (equipped with fridge, freezer, gas fires), double sofa bed, double bedroom, bathroom. Private and equipped area Apt. Trilocale (4+2 people): ground or first Floor living/dining room with kitchen corner (equipped with fridge, freezer, gas fires), double sofa bed, double bedroom, twin bedroom, bathroom. Private and equipped area 8 Dbl bedrooms with bathroom have been recently introduced on the second floor of the main building . All with TV Sat and Air Cond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Capanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Capanne Hotel San Giuliano Terme
Le Capanne Province Of Pisa/San Giuliano Terme, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Capanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.