We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and peaceful surroundings - amazing honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa to your Saves list
Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Largo P. Shelley 18, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and peaceful surroundings - amazing honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

We booked this excellent hotel for our honeymoon through Citalia Hotel and we weren't disappointed. This Hotel is beautiful - a marvellous building with very ornate ceilings but also very intimate so perfect for a honeymoon. We were warmly welcomed by the manager to a beautiful suite with a bottle of prosecco and fresh fruit awaiting us. We also got a free cocktail at the bar. The bed was incredibly comfortable also (which makes a change as normally foreign beds are very hard). We also got free slippers to wear and the standard of cleanliness was absolutely brillant. The maid cleaned the room three times a day, arranged my nightwear and overall did a marvellous job. There were also heavy shutters in the room to completely black out the room which helps you sleep better also as the windows were pretty large and so otherwise the level of light could wake you otherwise.
The hotel was very quiet when we stayed but this suited us as it was our honeymoon and it seemed a place more for couples as there weren't any children. The bar was very expensive though and we only used it once for that reason - preferring to have a bottle of chianti in the local restaurants at night.
The spa facilities are excellent especially the heated indoor pool with natural spa water - we used it every day. I had an all over massage treatment which was lovely - if a bit on the pricey side - 90 Euros!
We were glad though that we only went on a B & B basis as the food is very healthy (a bit too much so for on holiday) and more catering for those on a proper health farm type visit! Having said that for thebreakfast, I enjoyed the fresh fruit salad and croissants. But don't expect bran flakes, weetabix etc and normal toast - they don't exist! We ate out in the local restaurants ( two of them within minutes of the Hotel walking distance) which were perfectly reasonably priced and very traditional - doesn't seem to be built so much for tourists so it feels much more authentic and charming, The waiting staff didn't seem to speak much English though so it was more of a guessing game with the menu and we had to use a translation book to work out the menu. Definitely worth a try is the traditional pork cooked in the oven for a long time in a red wine and olive sauce - gorgeous.
You really need a car to make the most of Tuscany as this hotel is in a small village with no shops (apart from a few grocery shops). We fortunately had hired a car and took our Tom Tom (which did at times get confused - went round the motorway in a loop - but ok in the end. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting Pisa which is very close by - about 15 mins drive from the Hotel and a lovely town called Lucca is also worth a visit. We also went on a Wine tour in the Chianti part of Tuscany - this took around 1 and a half hours to get to but well worth it! This part of Tuscany is beautiful - so picturesque - I really want to go back there.
Florence is also worth a look - although quite a drive - over an hour from this Hotel and it rained when we arrived - very heavily - so we didn't stay for long. You have to really book a lot of the museums etc well in advance as the queues are massive.
This holiday and location is fantastic if you are more of a culture vulture, love Chianti, green countryside, good wholesome Italian food which we do - and not for you if you just want a beach holiday holiday, sunbathing and tacky touristy bars/entertainment, Englified food etc,

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    154
    61
    18
    17
See reviews for
89
291
27
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

The good things:
-The property is wonderful, grand yet understated, with a charming old world romantic feel. Very special and unique, I loved that certain sanatorium atmosphere.
It was deserted, no one there but few guests, a ghost palace. But I loved that "The Shining" atmosphere in the corridors and salons. Wonderful olive tree garden on the back, extending up on a hill, with arches on the top. Amazing views of Pisa, we could see the tower in the distance.
We reached San Giuliano Terme by train from the airport, changing in Pisa Centrale. The little train station in San Giuliano is quite charming although semi abandoned, with a nice tree lane leading to the village and the grand entrance of the building (the entrance of the hotel is from the side wing though). The train is also great for visiting Pisa as it stops in Pisa San Rossore few minutes walk from Piazza dei Miracoli and the tower.

-Room was perfect with perfect service, in the "new" wing, had a separate living room area, big marble bathroom with twin basin, separate shower and bath tab. Spotless and well kept.

-Bar was quite grand and cosy. Loved having drinks there. (It had no curtains when we arrived, they hanged them later on).

-Restaurant, only went for breakfast. The restaurant was a bit off putting and very cold, so we had our meals at a restaurant round the corner on the river side, or at a basic (but popular with the locals) taverna (they do cheekpea flour Cecina, a thin and crispy sort of pie, baked in huge flat iron dishes).

-Spa
Therapists are extremely good and professional. Had lots of amazing treatments. The Duke's Hammam is truly amazing.
The Well Being Center facilities are very good, could do with some redecoration though.
The indoor tiled thermal pool is absolutely amazing, but only available briefly in the late afternoon, as it's constantly in use for therapies.

Bad things:
-View from the room was terrible, looking on a small derelict courtyard with long forgotten debris and street rubbish. Really unacceptable in a Leading Hotels of the World and Tablet, five star hotel. When I tried to have a bath, the hot water was rusty yellow. They also play very loud pop music in the corridors, you can hear it from inside the room.

-The outdoor thermal pool (the only pool that is freely available) was out of order and empty for two days over three days of stay. Eventually, on the last day, it proved to be great though, elevated over the roof of the spa building. The outdoor lounge area didn't look sleek enough though, including a big plant pot that had toppled over and staid that way the whole day.

-The Thermal Therapy Center was closed. No one bothered to tell us, we found out when we tried to book some treatments after confirmation. No therapeutic mud or bath available. The therapeutic wing will be closed for the whole year as they are refurbishing it. It's basically false advertising.

-The Spa reception was a bit unfriendly, with the exception of one person. They kept on messing with bookings time and took the liberty of swapping a specific treatment we requested with one of their own brand treatments, claiming there was no availability as it was fully booked (although the place was empty).

-On the third night some guests took possession of the bar, watching football on the TV at full blast. No service in site, we waited and waited, no one came, so we left.

-Breakfast was ok, some things were very good, but it was not amazing the first two days. Then on the third day, by magic, the breakfast buffet expanded and improved dramatically. Very weird and inconsistent service.

-Courtesy kit was poor and cheap looking, with some harsh chemicals listed in the ingredients, so we didn't use them (apart from the hand soap, that was nice).

Overall, it's a wonderful property, and could be absolutely amazing once the refurbishing is completed, and if they get the management right.
At the moment it's a bit disappointing, but still enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ios greek island greece
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

dont be put off by other reviews
dont matter where you go if people look for flaws there find them
bagni di pisa !! love it !!
came here 2 years ago and would return again in near future for a treat,
this is the place to bring mum and dad for a treat beautiful place and great rooms ,
its a 35 euros taxi ride from pisa airport and 20 euro taxi ride into town ,
a little tip its a 5 star hotel with great qualitys of origin
so when ordering a cuppachino from the room service it will cost 4 euros for the cuppachino and 7 euros for delivery to your room total 11 euros
but if ya treating ya self go for it
love the place
dont be put off by the other reviews id hate ya to miss this hotel
oioi

  • Liked — the health spa and rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

Very disappointed in what is classed as a leading hotel of the world with a 5star rating. Not a welcoming atmosphere, a bit like a sanitorium feel and not in our eyes luxurious, food was mediocre with same menu each day just an option of one daily special. The spa and facilities are shared with non residents and so everything needed to be booked. There were very few staff in the hotel and the maitre d' had little personality or charm. They need to visit the Villa Aminta in Lake Maggiore and take lessons from them as a true leading hotel of the world 5 star rating.

  • Liked — thermal water properties
  • Disliked — the whole experience
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We were lucky enough to win a 3 night stay here in a competition. Based on some of last year’s reviews, I had quite low expectations, but the hotel was absolute luxury. True, we were allocated a palatial suite, so I can’t comment on the other rooms.

Welcome was extremely warm, we really felt like honoured guests.

Everything worked well, although you had to run the hot tap for up to 10 minutes to get the hot water. A larger window and more natural light would have been nice. And I would really have liked tea making facilities in the room.

Those quibbles aside, it was a very positive experience. We used the roof thermal pool, but didn’t have an opportunity to try the spa treatments, although we were given an escorted tour and it looked very nice.

I think the hotel must have been refurbished since the negative comments, I wouldn’t say it was at all run down; a few carpets in public areas could be renewed perhaps.

Breakfast was good, and dress casual; some guests turning up in their hotel-provided dressing gowns and slippers.

We didn’t eat dinner in the hotel, instead sampling three of the local restaurants. Of these, the one on the left at the far end of the square provides the best dining experience.

A nice pre- or post-breakfast short walk is from the terrace (2nd floor I think) up the private hill-side, great view from the top all the way to Pisa, you can see the Tower etc, especially with binoculars.

The local train reaches Pisa in 10 minutes and Lucca in 15; the station is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Tickets must be bought in advance and are available from hotel reception.

  • Liked — Suite was fantastic, service was good
  • Disliked — Hot water took too long to arrive, and cold water could be quite discoloured till run for minutes.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We recently stayed at the Hotel Bagni di Pisa.
It was the most wonderful time, the staff are incredibly curtious, insightful and suprising in their ability to give you the feeling that you are royalty.
From the reception clerks to the waiters to the pool assistant, every bit of quality in their professional behaviour.
The food in the restaurant is outstanding, the flavours as we have not tasted them that many times before.
The interior of the hotel is grand as are the rooms.
The thermal waters are relaxing and made together with the above for a superb stay in a beautiful part of Tuscany.

Best stay we have ever had in a hotel!

  • Liked — Being treated like royalty
  • Disliked — _
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

This property is elegant with excellent attention to breakfact and dinner selections. We arrived at this location to relax and recuperate after running the Florence Marathon and found it to be the perfect tonic. Spa services were great, spa space was nicely arranged.
The first room we were given was unbearably hot and after some discussion, the desk manager upgraded us to a corner suite with great natural ventilation, which made this a wonderful stay.
Located within 3 blocks of the train station, making it quite easy to travel into Pisa or to Lucca for sightseeing, then an easy trip back to this lovely sanctuary.
On this trip we traveled from Pisa to Cinque Terre (Vernazza) to Florence to San Giuliano Terme then back to Pisa all by convenient train.
At the time of our stay, the Hotel had only a few guests, so we had the property nearly to ourselves. We only noticed other guests at meal times or at the spa.
I would recommend this getaway for relaxation. The food was outstanding!!
San Giuliano Terme is a small community with limited options for lunch or touristy stuff, but it is so easy to catch the train for unlimited sight seeing, it fit our needs perfectly. Our goal was to have a spa vacation for 5 days.

  • Liked — Room Meals Spa Convenience to Train
  • Disliked — Somewhat remote
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa

Address: Largo P. Shelley 18, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Giuliano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in San Giuliano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 5-star resort affiliated with "The Leading Small Hotels of the World," prestigious brand of the luxury hotellerie, completed by a large thermal Spa, with the brand "Leading Spa." Set amid the gentle hills of Tuscany and kissed by the scented winds of the Mediterranean sea, Bagni di Pisa Palace is a magnificent and sumptuous building of great historical value. Now lovingly restored to its original splendor, it was once owned by the Grand Duke of Tuscany and chosen by the European aristocracy as a place to spend their summer holidays. Dating back to the 18th century, the building is set in a beautiful park of olive trees and combines classical architecture with modern facilities. Accommodation ranges from well-designed comfort to elegant and spacious suites, which have separate living rooms, marble baths and original 18th-century frescoes. Groups visiting this luxurious hotel have access to modern meeting facilities, to a refined spa and thermal centre, as well as plenty of outdoor leisure activities in the natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Escapio, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagni Di Pisa Palace And Spa
Bagni Di Pisa Palace Hotel San Giuliano Terme
Bagni Di Pisa Natural Hotel
Bagni Di Pisa Natural Resort
Bagni Di Pisa Palace & Spa Province Of Pisa/San Giuliano Terme, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.