We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa to your Saves list
Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Largo P. Shelley 18, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taghit
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very pleasant hotel with nice thermal facilities and SPA. The bar is great. the restaurant not so great... but you can find nice restaurants especially in Lucca, which is not far and a must see.
temaperature in teh rooms was on the hotter side and they were not able to adjust it down :(

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    145
    55
    17
    17
See reviews for
85
258
26
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Loved this classic hotel with real spa water pool. So elegant and grand. The roof top pool really made it. The suite we had was stunning, classic marble floors and the most comfortable bed, slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Big clean and comfortable room, friendly, smiling and caring staff. Despite of a lot of visitors inside we felt our privacy. Good music, furniture details and pleasant smell of scented candles makes a perfect relaxing atmosphere. The spa and massage was good. The restaurant and the cuisine was delicious, relaxing music again and the silence, so you can enjoy the taste of dishes from fresh local products in each other`s company.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

the only good things of this place are 1) big and confortable room 2) the fact that it is natural spa 3) professional massage (not included). But if you are looking for something more, like an exclusive hotel, I don't reccomend bagni di pisa. average food, too many people in the spa (it is open to anyone) not nice view from our room, not such a good hotel location: you need to take the car if you want to visit something like lucca or pisa...
The hotel is not that bad but of course it is not a real 5 stars hotel!!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We received a complimentary upgrade and received good service throughout our stay. The food at all sittings was exceptional with care and attention not only to taste but also to presentation. The room was very comfortable and clean. The spa was good and the private grotto a treat. Close to Pisa and good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel pretend to be a 5 star SPA hotel, part of the LHW. Except for the prices, there is nothing like 5 star.

It was difficult to find it, then to understand where is the reception,nobody to come and help with the luggage and at least to greet you. The lady on the reception was nice but for the price we were paying it was the minimum.

We went to the SPA- the outdoor pool was quite warm but everything is so old that gives you the impression of being durty. To be honnest I think that all this story about Italy is exagereted. Ok, is nice,but everything is old, expensive,very bad service...so tipical for Europe.

The breakfast was nothing special,not even a real 5 star breakfast but the thing that put me really of was that quest are alowed to shown dressed with bath robes!!! I am sorry, but this is not very pleasant.

We were upgraded and had a really big room,but except for the size again nothing special (no, the bathroom was nice this is true).

The second day we had more time and we decided to stay more in the SPA-almost impossible. It was sunday and the SPA was open for visitors as well, not only for hotel guests and it was so terrible like experience. Crowded,noisy,durty...the pools inside are with really hot water but with all those people inside impossible to stay and find a place in the pool!!!

So, with two words- dispointed by this hotel. We like the LHW but not this one.Maybe if somone decide to go in Pisa it's better to go for a traditionnal 3 star hotel and it would be the same quality that we had,except for the price of course.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims, Switzerland
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed our third time in Bagni di Pisa. The new spa is a great improvement. All the renovations are carefully and authentic. You can see, it's difficult to make a luxury hotel out of a very old building. The rooms are very various. Check out the room first. We stayed in room #218 which is fascinating with a high dome roof. The beds are of good quality and everything is clean. This part of the hotel is quiet, we could sleep with open window, no noise. Most of the guest are couples of all ages. This hotel gives you a lot of privacy. You never see a crowd somewhere. This can be a strange feeling at the bar or lounge, when you see rarely any person. We can recommend this hotel for thermal treatments in a luxury old and authentic italien style. Be aware, this hotel is not for everybody's expectations. We love the unique and authentic part.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa

Address: Largo P. Shelley 18, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Giuliano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in San Giuliano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 5-star resort affiliated with "The Leading Small Hotels of the World," prestigious brand of the luxury hotellerie, completed by a large thermal Spa, with the brand "Leading Spa." Set amid the gentle hills of Tuscany and kissed by the scented winds of the Mediterranean sea, Bagni di Pisa Palace is a magnificent and sumptuous building of great historical value. Now lovingly restored to its original splendor, it was once owned by the Grand Duke of Tuscany and chosen by the European aristocracy as a place to spend their summer holidays. Dating back to the 18th century, the building is set in a beautiful park of olive trees and combines classical architecture with modern facilities. Accommodation ranges from well-designed comfort to elegant and spacious suites, which have separate living rooms, marble baths and original 18th-century frescoes. Groups visiting this luxurious hotel have access to modern meeting facilities, to a refined spa and thermal centre, as well as plenty of outdoor leisure activities in the natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Escapio, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagni Di Pisa Palace Hotel San Giuliano Terme
Bagni Di Pisa Palace And Spa
Bagni Di Pisa Natural Hotel
Bagni Di Pisa Natural Resort
Bagni Di Pisa Palace & Spa Province Of Pisa/San Giuliano Terme, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.