We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa to your Saves list
Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Largo P. Shelley 18, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I went to San Guliano for our honeymoon, and the hotel gave us an amazing experience. We were picked up promptly and had a lovely drive from the airport (private transfer recommended!), everyone was very helpful and luckily for us spoke excellent English. Our (extremely large) deluxe double suite featured period furniture with views over the town, mountains and beyond to Pisa. The cleaning service did a great and discreet job every day. The location was fantastic (as it's near the train station we found it very easy to explore Tuscany- although you need to buy train tickets from the hotel reception and be very careful to check Italian train times as they are at best erratic!) Breakfast was great, featuring a selection of cheeses, Tuscan meats, hot selection, pastries, cakes, bread, yoghurt, fresh fruit and bread (to name just a few!) Dinner was expensive but wonderful quality, however the prices meant we spent most evenings eating at near-by restaurant Salustri. It is located just on the river and offers great quality food with huge portions for very little money- we had starter, drinks and a main every time and the bill was never over 35 euros. If you want wine, the vina de casa is cheaper and still excellent quality- a real Tuscan experience! The spa and pool facilities were also great. Overall a wonderful stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    150
    59
    18
    17
See reviews for
89
275
26
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed one night here which was fine. Our major problem was finding the place. Travelling in our own car and using our sat nav which is usually very reliable we found ourselves in the middle of the Tuscan countryside and nowhere near the hotel. There are no sign posts to the hotel, the directions given are non existent and when we did finally (after 1.5 hrs of trying) find the hotel we were met with a shrug and told the post code covered several miles (great)! The hotel itself is fine, rooms clean and spacious, we had room service, not the best and very expensive for what we got. Breakfast ok. Make sure of your directions if you travel yourselves.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Looking at the negative reviews posted here, I had thought twice about whether to book or not, but I am so glad I did. This is a fantastically beautiful hotel, run with typical Italian panache and flair, and definitely deserves its place in the LHW collection (I have stayed in many, so feel able to judge). My husband and I stayed for 4 nights with our 2 teenage daughters, my son, and his girlfriend. The staff were all, without exception, an absolute delight. Luca, the Maitre'd, runs a wonderful restaurant with the help of his charming and attentive staff - Gregory, Mariella, Roberta, Giusepe, Gianluca and Debora, and Valerio mixed the best cocktails in Italy in the American bar where we convened every evening before dinner. The menu choice and food was outstanding and beautifully presented, both at dinner and breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We enjoyed here so much we booked to stay a night at the end of our tour of Italy and were impressed to be given the same table at dinner, by Luca, with the view of the tower. Such a nice touch. If you're looking for uniformed lackeys to anticipate your every whim, try an American hotel chain. This is old school, 5 star luxury and charm at its best.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a room facing the front. Great to watch the comings and goings in the square. We d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We only visited the spa as day visitors. I booked a couple's experience which was really amazing. We only had 5 days in Tuscany and decided it is the perfect way to start our holiday. The staff were all very friendly and extremely flexible. As part of the treatment we also had 30 minutes in the grotto/cave which was quite romantic after a lovely back and foot massage and mini facial.

We had lunch at the restaurant which was also very good.

Try book your appointments early so you have the rest of the day to relax and enjoy the facilities.

They do an evening experience every Thursday evening where you pay EUR 25 or 35 (sorry can't remember) and have access to the facilities in the evening. Sounded fun but we didn't do it as we were on our way to Volterra.

Room Tip: It took about 30 minutes to get there from Pisa. Book an early morning appointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here recently as a family of four, and found it to be great. The hotel is elegant and gracious, and rooms were spacious and well appointed, and the staff were very helpful and courteous and gave us additional assistance as we'd left a wallet on our flight from London. The breakfasts were generous and of good quality, and we had room service one night which was delicious tho a little pricey. There is a great little bar and gelatissimo in the town square across the road, and a fab little deli as well. The pool area was lovely and the gym adequate, and ample free parking. I agree with one comment that it would have been nice to have a balcony, but that aside all good. Location is great as it's between Lucca (a must see) and Pisa, and the little town has some eateries and basic shops.

Room Tip: Not sure if any have balconies, should ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

POSITIVE
- Classy and historic hotel in 18th century palace style building with an olive grove
- Nice big rooms with a gorgeous bathroom and walk-in closet (at least the deluxe room we were in)
- Some rooms have a nice view over the pool area and country side (and the leaning tower 10km away). Other rooms just overlook the open-air corridor though, and seemed to be dark.
- Fantastic restaurant "Dei Lorena" (gourmet Tuscan food, wide menu, great service, good wine list - worth coming here for the food alone)
- We were lucky to get a great deal on "full board" and were super happy with 4-5 course lunches and dinners, the best Tuscan and Italian food we had on our trip.
- Nice pool area (with 38 degree thermal water), plenty of deck chairs, OK hotel gym
- Only a short drive from central Pisa and the sights
- Free parking

NEGATIVE
- The air con didn't cool as much as we wanted. It was also a bit warm in the restaurant (they only serve food outside certain nights)
- Half the hotel guests are there for the medical spa or for serious dieting so the place is very calm and has a certain "hospital feeling"
- The (cable) internet was free but didn't always work

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are brighter and overlook the pool area and village (and from the 3rd floor also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We book LHW to have great hotels, this is not a great hotel. Rooms are dirty, airco didn t work even when we asked to repair, I m still waiting for the extra pillow. Why not a terrace in the front iso at the back. Such lovely weather but not possble to eat outside. With more efforts this could be a good hotel. Positive, close to main cities, breakfast was ok, enough parking space.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa

Address: Largo P. Shelley 18, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Giuliano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in San Giuliano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 5-star resort affiliated with "The Leading Small Hotels of the World," prestigious brand of the luxury hotellerie, completed by a large thermal Spa, with the brand "Leading Spa." Set amid the gentle hills of Tuscany and kissed by the scented winds of the Mediterranean sea, Bagni di Pisa Palace is a magnificent and sumptuous building of great historical value. Now lovingly restored to its original splendor, it was once owned by the Grand Duke of Tuscany and chosen by the European aristocracy as a place to spend their summer holidays. Dating back to the 18th century, the building is set in a beautiful park of olive trees and combines classical architecture with modern facilities. Accommodation ranges from well-designed comfort to elegant and spacious suites, which have separate living rooms, marble baths and original 18th-century frescoes. Groups visiting this luxurious hotel have access to modern meeting facilities, to a refined spa and thermal centre, as well as plenty of outdoor leisure activities in the natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Escapio, Splendia and Odigeo so you can book your Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagni Di Pisa Palace And Spa
Bagni Di Pisa Palace Hotel San Giuliano Terme
Bagni Di Pisa Natural Hotel
Bagni Di Pisa Natural Resort
Bagni Di Pisa Palace & Spa Province Of Pisa/San Giuliano Terme, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagni di Pisa Palace & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.