We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel California

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel California to your Saves list
Park Hotel California
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia, km 338 | Madonna Dell'Acqua, 56010 San Giuliano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I travelled there with more friends last September. The hotel is good if you are on a budget trip, and you want a place to stay to visit Pisa. It is quite far from Pisa (although me and a few friends walk to the Piazza del Miracoli in approximately 50 minutes, but i would not recommend this. There are buses which can take you into the city and there is a hypermarket quite close, from which you can get food and drinks (E.leclerc).
The hotel has a nice pool, where you can relax, but unfortunately it is only open during the day, so if you come back from a hot day in Pisa, you can find the pool closed (closes at 18:00)
The restaurant is average. We had a half-board, but i cannot say that i enjoined any of the meals.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
I agree with the other reviewers that the room walls are quite tin, you practically here everything around you, so it should be quite for you to get a good sleep. The road and traffic however is not a problem as the hotel reception is blocking the street.
Just as a note, there are 2 and 3 bed rooms.
Overall, and budget hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    34
    26
    42
See reviews for
25
33
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hod hasharon , israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Excellent stuff , very helpful , most of all nice lady call Gabriella

Nice room and food

very close to Pisa

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a big family trip, 14 people (three generations from the age of 60 to two year) gathering in Pisa at the Park Hotel California, and having the time of our lives enjoying each other’s company, getting better acquainted and exploring this wonderful part of Italy.

The staff is nice, friendly and helpsome, the suroundings is nice quiet, the pool is great and the rooms are ok. Just a 10 min trip, Pisa center was easy to reach by public transportation.

A perfect base camp to explore the district of Tuscany and you can read all about our adventures on my blog: http://www.terella.no/?p=4851

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

While traveling in Italy, I spent one night at this hotel. They won't have to worry about me visiting with them again. The place was a dump. It has been described as mediocre by other travelers. I wish I had read their reviews, but I was in a hurry and just needed a cheap place to spend the night. I wish I had not been so hasty. Pass this place by. The room smells, water leaks, walls are paper thin, the breakfast is cold at 7:00 a.m. (they actually had bacon and eggs) and everything about this place was unremarkable. Mediocre doesn't describe it enough. Take a pass...

On the good side, the guy at the reception desk was helpful, friendly and fast.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I checked into this hotel on the last night of our holiday in Tuscany as we wanted to be close to Pisa Airport for our early journey home the next morning. From the front, the hotel looked okay and had a four star rating, so we thought we couldn't go wrong for a short stay. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful and everything seemed well organised. They also said they had a pool which was a bonus, so we checked in.

When we got to the room, which was in a block (as all the rooms are) over the back, we were horrified to see how awful it was. The room smelt terrible, it had carpet on the inside and outside of the doors, and the bathroom was the worst we had ever seen. The place was so bad that we didn't even want to get into the bed. The smell of the room was sickening and the bathroom so dirty that we didn't even want to wash in there through fear of becoming more dirty.

In fairness to the hotel, aside from the dreadful room, the swimming pool looked lovely, really big and very clean, and the staff were really nice. They even arranged for a take-away breakfast in a box for us as we were leaving so early the next morning. Unfortunately, the accomodation is so bad that despite the great pool and staff, I would recommend everyone to look elsewhere for somewhere to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

After booking the hotel I quickly had a look at the reviews (wrong way round I know) and was worried.
Arrived at what looked like a prisoner of war camp. Inside our room the smell of smoke was almost choking and the noise from the road made it impossible to sleep. Twice in the night our phone rang for no reason and nearly gave us heart failure. We checked with reception next morning that we were in one of the 'superior rooms' which we had paid extra for. We nearly laughed out loud when we were told it was definitely one of the superior rooms. Filthy windows, dark and miserable. Even the plants outside looked like they were suffering depression. This is definitely not a four star hotel and we feel very misled by the Nation's Favourite Airline who we booked through. Left early and paid for another hotel. This is the only time we have ever complained about a hotel it was that disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The most terrible hotel in Europe. More like a one star motel than a four star hotel.
- internet didn't work
- bed sheets were wet
- toilet was dirty
- aircon didn't work
- ugly cheap looking place
- breakfast was rubbish

I managed to get half of my money refunded after complaining!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel California

Address: Via Aurelia, km 338 | Madonna Dell'Acqua, 56010 San Giuliano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Giuliano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in San Giuliano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel California 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ask for our special offers!Park Hotel California, built in a typical Sixties style and skilfully refurbished, is surrounded by the greenery of the Mediterranean scrub which is specific to the coast of Tuscany. Open all year, it is the ideal place for cultural trips, for business or total relaxation. The restaurant of Park Hotel California can seat up to 200 people. It offers its guests a menu built around traditional Tuscan dishes, simple but full of local flavours, which are loved all over the world. The wine list offers a wide selection of wines, including the best Tuscan ones, such as Brunello di Montalcino, Chianti Classico and Vernaccia. Our restaurant is also perfect for ceremonies, with a wide range of menus personally selected by our ChefThe magnificent park of cluster pines and cedar trees offers an opportunity to relax in peace amidst the greenery of the park and enjoy the wonderful colours of the garden. During the summer season, the pines, stroked by sunrays, release such rich and unique scents that cannot be found anywhere else.Immersed in the park, the pool of Park Hotel California is an excellent alternative to the sea. It has generous dimensions in order to allow guests to swim in freedom. Open from June to September, free disposal for Hotel Guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel San Giuliano Terme
Best Western San Giuliano Terme
Park Hotel California Province Of Pisa/San Giuliano Terme, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.