We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay not quite up to par.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Sant'Agata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Sant'Agata to your Saves list
Locanda Sant'Agata
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   SS12 dell'Abetone e del Brennero Km5+812, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Second stay not quite up to par.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed for one night for same reason as we stayed two years ago - it is an excellent location to visit Lucca , which is one of our top favourite Tuscan cities - and then very good for access to Pisa airport for early morning flight. Problem this time was that although we were told breakfast was available at 7.30 am, at that hour nobody was about, when a staff member did arrive she asked if we could give her ten minutes which meant we got a very rushed breakfast at 8.05 am. May not seem much but when you have a flight to catch you don't want to lose 35 minutes just twiddling your thumbs. This time we stayed in one of the rooms inside the main building which was smaller than the one previously stayed in in the converted barn but fine for a one night stay, well decorated, nice bathroom - although impossible to work out how to get the plug in the basin plug-hole. A few maintenance issues since our last visit - dead plants and rusty planters on the terrace - however, all these gripes are forgiven because of the quality of the meal in the restaurant. This was perfectly cooked and presented local specialities - very well explained by the waitress (the menu is only in Italian) the antipasti was excellent and both the rabbit and pork dishes were really tasty with well matched contorni of spinach and roast potatatoes. The wine list is good and reasonably priced. In fact for a one night stay, dinner for two with wine, the total price of about £150 was very good.Shame about breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    59
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
33
93
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed 1 night in one of the 2 (larger) rooms in the annex building. The room was very comfortable, all amenities present and excellent beds.
Location is in rural area close to Pisa, ideal to visit the city.
Another reason to visit the Locanda is to have dinner in the family-run restaurant. Superb local food and lots of wines to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

As a general rule, we always stay at 5 star or 4+ star hotels.

This was a total stab in the dark based upon reading trip advisor and we were not disappointed.

Firstly you have to realise that this is a restaurant with rooms. The rooms are very pleasant and the beds are extremely comfortable.

We stayed in the green room and the bathroom probably could have been a bit better, but for a 3 night stay it was more than adequate.

The restaurant is simply superb in terms both of the food offered and the standards of service, worthy of any 5 star establishment.

Luca, Nicola and the rest of the team work very hard to give you a great dining experience.

If you visit in the summer, there is plenty of outdoor seating - however there is no bar or lounge area to use if it’s raining (and the Prosecco in the mini bar sadly is sweet Asti !!)

So would I recommend this place? – well if a comfortable bed to sleep in and a great place to eat are top of your list then yes – if you want somewhere with a bar and a lounge then no.

PS – it is less than 10 minutes to get into Pisa from this location (and only 15 kms or so to Lucca) – if I was looking for an ideal base for two or three days in the area, and was also looking for great value for money, then Locanda Sant’Agata ticked all the boxes.

If I compare this to other recent stays in Italy, then just on a simple cost basis, I spent the same on dinner, bed and breakfast here as I spent on just bed and breakfast elsewhere (so you could say that we effectively consumed fine food for free).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains
Level Contributor
194 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Locanda sant'Agata offers good value for money: a comfortable room with nice amenities near Pisa and very convenient as it is right on the road that leads to Lucca and the autostrada. They also have a dining room that offers a full breakfast that is included in the price of the room. Well worth the price. It is not a luxurious accommodation but at these affordable prices that is not expected.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms,as the regular double is quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife stayed here for two nights during a 'road trip' of Italy and France in August 13. The setting is stunning, rural views of the mountains, but close enough to Pisa and Luca. When we arrived the welcome was warm and our cases were taken to our room on the first floor. The room was well equipped and and the bed comfortable. Breakfast is excellent with a large array of cold and hot food options The very best part of our stay was dining. The food a superb, may be a little expensive, but you pay for quality. The owners son was very attentive and enjoyed explaining the wine options and provided a wide range of choice. Overall a very relaxing stay. Can't wait to go back again

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I booked here only because of the excellent ratings, for which few places get. I was not disappointed , the staff are all family and treat you as a visitor to their home. Rooms were clean and functional, and nothing is dated or old. The food in the restaurant was superb, and we eat there every night. The service overall was A plus.

Everything was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My Mom and I spent two nights here (one on our way to Orvieto, and one on our way back). It was our first trip to Italy and we were a little nervous about the experience, especially because we were arriving at 10pm into a country whose language we don't speak. We asked Luca and family for a ride from the airport (we emailed them as a complete "shot in the dark" request), and they responded very quickly and agreed to pick us up! It was a HUGE relief!! Nicola transported us to the resort where we fell in love with our room! The beds were AMAZING!! Best beds we had in Europe! Thankfully they have a restaurant on-site, so we could eat upon our arrival. Food was very tasty! The next morning, Luca took us to the train station as we were headed South. We were so impressed that we stayed there on our way back. We sat in the garden/lawn and the staff brought us delicious wine and snacks - everyone was very nice and accommodating (and it didn't hurt that almost everyone spoke great English!). I would recommend this place to anyone stopping in Pisa!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giuliano Terme
0.8 mi away
Airone Pisa Park Hotel
Airone Pisa Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in San Giuliano Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,885 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Abitalia Tower Plaza
Abitalia Tower Plaza
#13 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
3.1 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Sant'Agata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Sant'Agata

Address: SS12 dell'Abetone e del Brennero Km5+812, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Giuliano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in San Giuliano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Sant'Agata 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda boasts nine rooms and suites, all spacious and fully equipped with every possible amenity. To provide a warm, inviting atmosphere, all accommodations have been elegantly furnished in the original Tuscan traditional and look out onto the broad green expanse of the estate. The main hallway of the erstwhile farm house leads to the Locanda’s most alluring accommodations: the white room, with its wrought iron balcony giving out onto courtyard, the enchanting play of lights in the bedroom that was once the granary, up to the large glass door of the wing offering a panoramic view of the horizon and mountains. The architecture and furnishings have been designed to make your stay at the Locanda Sant’Agata a unique experience: the large walk-in closets, comfortable oversized beds, bathrooms cared for in the smallest detail and the Italian-designed room furnishings. What’s more, your house pets are welcome; we will even provide pillows and bowls! . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Locanda Sant'Agata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Sant'Agata Province Of Pisa/San Giuliano Terme, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Sant'Agata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.