We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting accomodation close to Pisa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Sant'Agata

Save Saved
You added Locanda Sant'Agata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda Sant'Agata
SS12 dell'Abetone e del Brennero Km5+812, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“interesting accomodation close to Pisa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked the accomodation due to a good location and value for money. This is an interesting place to stay because you are actually in the middle of the field, so parking isnt a problem. Note that I would like to put forward relates to the fact that noone was at the reception desk practically when ever we passed , so we could get infos we needed.The thing that I would point out is that at the reception practically The rooms (at least the red room we got) are relatively comfortable, due to unfortunate solution with a big closet that occupies a huge area and it is completely non-functional, so in the rest of the room you actually dont have a space to open 2 normal size suitcase but only one. The bathroom is also very small but functional. Slippers, vanity set, bathrobe you are not getting, just a bath foam and shampoo. Stairway to climb to the first floor (where the rooms are) is quite narrow so you can have a problem with a large suitcase. The breakfast is very nice, you have a wide selection of homemade cakes, chocolate croissant / corneto is fantastic not to be missed (the best I've ever tried) and a nice choice of prosciutto crudo and cotto and one tzpe of cheese. Bearing in mind how it looks classic Italian breakfast food selection was very good also for those who are not supporters of sweet breakfasts. Also it is practical that you have a restaurant for dinner but by our opinion it is a bit overpriced having in mind the offer and the quality of the food. Pisa is very close (Pizza dei Miracoli only 5 km), Lucca, Livorno, Montecatini terme are apx 1h drive from hear, so it is a good starting point to explore the region. If you are a vine lover near Livorno you have Lagone producer and many others local small producers of vine an olive oil. For the end I would suggest the management to consider improvement of the quality of service and politeness of a staff.

Room Tip: Dont choose a red room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    44
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
68
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

In a typical Tuscan ambience, greeted by owner thoughtful and careful. An old farmhouse renovated with style and elegance, in a perfect mix of old and new. Spacious and comfortable rooms, clean and well heated. Only few minutes from the famous Piazza dei Miracoli in Pisa, from the beautiful village of San Giuliano Terme, and the historical center of Lucca (need to have a car!). Excellent and rich breakfast, with fresh and genuine products. Must try the restaurant! Excellent Tuscan dishes skillfully cooked and presented. Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We checked in mid afternoon so that we could drop off our luggage before sightseeing in Pisa. The woman at the front desk was very helpful in giving us driving directions and advice about where to find parking closest to the city gate for the Leaning Tower and cathedral.

The location of this hotel is lovely, in the quiet contryside with mountain views, but just minutes into Pisa and less than half an hour to the airport.

The room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was the very best I have ever slept on in Tuscany.

We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed it very much. Quality and value!

There was a glitch on our departure morning. Staff had overslept and we had to summon someone by phone to the front desk so that we could settle our bill before our departure to catch our flight. That also meant that breakfast was not ready before we left, but we were served a cappucino while we paid the bill.

In spite of the glitch, it was a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beuatiful spot, looking at the Tuscan Mountains in the country side. It was fantastic and something very special. Very good restaurant too (our favourite during the whole 11 days - reviewed speratly).

Although in the country side, it was very easy to get around without a rental car, it wasnt needed. The shuttle service was quick and reasonably priced. Plus some nice places in walking distance. And a train station not so far off (20 mins casual walk).

Places to visit: We enjoyed La Spezzia, Florence, Pisa, Lucca, San Giuliano itself, and a very nice Spa near the Hotel itself (You get a discount if staying in Locanda).

Room Tip: All great, but the best in my opinion are those in the main house facing the mountains (for the fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We chose to stay 1 night at Laconda Sant’Agata in this family run hotel in mid September due to its close proximity to Pisa Airport (normally about 20 to 30 min drive by car).
On arrival we were shown to a clean, comfortable and quiet room. We then visited Lucca during the late afternoon to do some sightseeing before it got dark.
In the evening we had dinner in the hotel restaurant - it was one of the best meals we had during our 9 day stay in Italy.
The continental self-service breakfast (served from 7.30 am) this allowed us to depart at about 8.00 am to return our hire car to Pisa Airport at about 9.00 am. Due to rush hour traffic, roadworks etc it took about 45 mins to drive from the hotel to the car hire depot at the Pisa airport.
Thanks to the owners and their family for their help and kindness during our stay.
We would have no hesitation in booking a future stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Locanda Sant'agata and we had a amazing time
We cannot praise the level of service we received enough - it is a family run business and they are so kind and helpful and make you feel at ease.
The food is very good and the accommodation is lovely - rooms very clean, well furnished and with lots of English channels on sky
We have stayed at many 5* deluxe hotels throughout the world and have not received the level of care we did at Locanda Sant'agata and we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

The best high class hide away in Toscany. The stay was short but beyond amazing. Lucca and his family was super cool, attentive and the service and quality of product worth 5stars. Definately try the restaurant for dinner. Would return anytime to this lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Sant'Agata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Sant'Agata

Address: SS12 dell'Abetone e del Brennero Km5+812, 56017 San Giuliano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Giuliano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in San Giuliano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda boasts nine rooms and suites, all spacious and fully equipped with every possible amenity. To provide a warm, inviting atmosphere, all accommodations have been elegantly furnished in the original Tuscan traditional and look out onto the broad green expanse of the estate. The main hallway of the erstwhile farm house leads to the Locanda’s most alluring accommodations: the white room, with its wrought iron balcony giving out onto courtyard, the enchanting play of lights in the bedroom that was once the granary, up to the large glass door of the wing offering a panoramic view of the horizon and mountains. The architecture and furnishings have been designed to make your stay at the Locanda Sant’Agata a unique experience: the large walk-in closets, comfortable oversized beds, bathrooms cared for in the smallest detail and the Italian-designed room furnishings. What’s more, your house pets are welcome; we will even provide pillows and bowls! . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Locanda Sant'Agata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Sant'Agata Province Of Pisa/San Giuliano Terme, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Sant'Agata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.