We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a Tuscany Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country House Croce di Bibbiano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country House Croce di Bibbiano to your Saves list
Country House Croce di Bibbiano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Bibbiano 1/3, 53036 Poggibonsi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Poggibonsi
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great choice for a Tuscany Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Croce di Bibbiano is a wonderful base for exploring Tuscany. Four of us stayed in a two bedroom, two bath apartment in this converted farmhouse on a holding on which they grow grapes and olives and produce wine and olive oil. The apartment (one of 5 or 6) was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The grounds are beautifully well-tended with many flowers and a nice pool. From its location on a hill, the views of the surrounding countryside, including a great view of San Gimignano, are spectacular. We spent several wonderful evenings drinking wine watching the sun set in the warm air. Just what one looks forward to on a visit to Tuscany!

The location is perfect for exploring Chianti and the western hill towns. San Gimignano is 7-8 km and Volterra is maybe 15 km. The town of Poggibonsi, about 10 km away, has a busy bus and train station with good, inexpensive connections to Florence and Siena (and free car parking). There’s a good grocery store not far away if you want to do your own cooking, but if you give Valeria enough notice, she will cook dinner for you and the food is wonderful! Her delicious authentic Italian meal will be served with their Crux Bibbiano wines. Fantastic!

Valeria was very helpful with suggestions for restaurants, transportation, places to visit, etc. Her warmth and her friendly staff made the stay even more enjoyable. Definitely a place we will stay at again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this Tuscany Dream from September 2-5/12 for my daughter's wedding. The scene and location is still being digested even a month after coming home. We have already tentatively booked another stay in early May 2013 and cannot wait! The sheer historical sense of being there brought a surreal feeling. The staff- in particular: Valeria was so much part of our visit. As primarily a wedding accommodation; Valeria and staff obviously are the gatekeepers of assisting brides and grooms ready the paperwork and plans for weddings and my daughter's wedding event went with excitement and anticipation.....what more could one possibly wish for?!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIBBIANO, Owner at Country House Croce di Bibbiano, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Robert,
Even if with some delay we would like to reply to your nice review. As you know we have had a long season but now it's more quiet and we take some time with great pleasure to thank you for the nice words. We always try to do our best and to know that our guests have been satisfied and many of them, as your case, come back it's for us the best 'incentive' to always improve our services. To meet nice people as you, your wife, your daughter and all the others is indeeed the best gratification of our job, looking forward to meet you soon our kindest regarda from Bibbiano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Only problem was the lack of ice. Not only at the villa but all over the area. Only certain rooms had A/C which made the stay hot and uncomfortable. The wine at the estate was excellent. Breakfast were very good but could have been varied from day to day to break things up. There is only so much parma ham and cheese one can eat. The venue is perfectly suited to a big group.
Chianti is fantastic and I can definately advise on a visit to one of the many wineries in the area. We found a butchery in Grieve that will make any
The self catering facilities are average but adequate. Which helped to keep food costs down by buying food from the local supermarket in Poggibonzi (PAM). The prices of goodsin the supermarket are very reasonable even sometimes cheaper than at home.
The venue is within an hour or so drive from Sienna, Florence and Chianti which gives you plenty of day trip options

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We went to the Croce di Bibbiano for lunch as part of our hiking tour of Tuscany. This place is beautiful. It has a gorgeous view of San Gimignano, the vineyards below, and the tuscan hills. The host was very nice and even shared her recipes with us. We enjoyed a lovely lunch of panzanella salad, a variety of bruschettas, a cheese tray, and a garden salad. We sampled a variety of their wines and all were great. On the whole, it was a wonderful experience for lunch.

We did not purchase any wine that day, however we were able to find their wine for sale at the Florence airport. We also discovered that if you buy wine at the airport, you can carry it onto the plane. Happy traveling.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Was here for 3 nights as part of a wedding in early June. Amazing views of San Gimignano from the pool! Valeria (the host) prepared some delicious food (although you have to request dinner in advance), and the Chianti was excellent! Would definitely return.

When you come here, expect to relax, take things slow, and enjoy the unbelievable surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My family took a 2 week trip to Italy in June. After several hectic days in Rome, we were thrilled with the accomodations at San Gimignano Vistas (Croce Di bibbiano). They upgraded our room so we had a 3 bedroom apartment at no extra charge. The first night there was the highlight of our trip with a wine tasting and dinner with the other guests set against the sunset and fabulous views. Magical! Valeria took wonderful care of our every need. We left 3 days later relaxed and ready for the rest of our journey.

We so enjoyed the wine that we decided to order some to enjoy once our trip was over. We were told the wine would arrive shortly after we returned. That was mid June. It is now mid August and still no wine. Of course, the charge was on our credit card by the time we got home, to the tune of $420. We have called, e-mailed and worked through the organization that booked our stay. I did finally receive an e-mail from Fed Ex with an attachment that was supposed to have our tracking #, however the attachment has a virus in it so I can't open it. I just called Fed Ex and they can't help me without a tracking #.

My advice is to stay there and enjoy the charm, hospitality and wine while you're there. But rather than ordering wine to enjoy once you're home, take lots of pictures instead.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We were to familys staying at this beautiful place for 2 weeks, we had absolutly nothing to complain about, its a fantastic property, the House is amazing, the view, the food and the people that live and work there where amazing to us and the children. We loved it!!!
We are going back for 3 weeks this summer, its a great place to explore tuscany and all its beauty!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country House Croce di Bibbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Croce di Bibbiano

Address: Localita Bibbiano 1/3, 53036 Poggibonsi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Poggibonsi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poggibonsi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poggibonsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country House Croce di Bibbiano 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Estate/Country House Croce di Bibbiano is an ancient monastery located in the heart of Chianti, on top of a hill that overlooks the magnificent towers of San Gimignano, about 6 km from the center of the medieval town , 25 km from Siena and 35 km from Florence ; ideal base for exploring the wonders of Tuscany with its rolling hills , ancient villages sprouting from the green of the landscape as painted postcards , culture, religion, art cities, numerous wineries , and last but not least the typical Tuscan family welcome .La Croce di Bibbiano , which offers accommodation in rooms and apartments finely restored , is created inside an ancient stone monastery in medieval times, located along the ancient ' Via Francigena ' , at the center of an estate of about 30 hectares, comprising less than 8 hectares of vineyards, forest, walking tracks, and more than four hundred olive trees.The restaurant is always available to our guests and the cuisine and authentic grandmother’s traditional.The perfect Tuscan experience..Feel free to contact us any time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Country House Croce di Bibbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Croce Di Bibbiano Poggibonsi, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country House Croce di Bibbiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.