We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful setting, accomodation well priced. No ice available at the hottest time of the year.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country House Croce di Bibbiano

Save Saved
You added Country House Croce di Bibbiano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Country House Croce di Bibbiano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Bibbiano 1/3, 53036 Poggibonsi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Poggibonsi
1 review
“Beatiful setting, accomodation well priced. No ice available at the hottest time of the year.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Only problem was the lack of ice. Not only at the villa but all over the area. Only certain rooms had A/C which made the stay hot and uncomfortable. The wine at the estate was excellent. Breakfast were very good but could have been varied from day to day to break things up. There is only so much parma ham and cheese one can eat. The venue is perfectly suited to a big group.
Chianti is fantastic and I can definately advise on a visit to one of the many wineries in the area. We found a butchery in Grieve that will make any
The self catering facilities are average but adequate. Which helped to keep food costs down by buying food from the local supermarket in Poggibonzi (PAM). The prices of goodsin the supermarket are very reasonable even sometimes cheaper than at home.
The venue is within an hour or so drive from Sienna, Florence and Chianti which gives you plenty of day trip options

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We went to the Croce di Bibbiano for lunch as part of our hiking tour of Tuscany. This place is beautiful. It has a gorgeous view of San Gimignano, the vineyards below, and the tuscan hills. The host was very nice and even shared her recipes with us. We enjoyed a lovely lunch of panzanella salad, a variety of bruschettas, a cheese tray, and a garden salad. We sampled a variety of their wines and all were great. On the whole, it was a wonderful experience for lunch.

We did not purchase any wine that day, however we were able to find their wine for sale at the Florence airport. We also discovered that if you buy wine at the airport, you can carry it onto the plane. Happy traveling.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Was here for 3 nights as part of a wedding in early June. Amazing views of San Gimignano from the pool! Valeria (the host) prepared some delicious food (although you have to request dinner in advance), and the Chianti was excellent! Would definitely return.

When you come here, expect to relax, take things slow, and enjoy the unbelievable surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My family took a 2 week trip to Italy in June. After several hectic days in Rome, we were thrilled with the accomodations at San Gimignano Vistas (Croce Di bibbiano). They upgraded our room so we had a 3 bedroom apartment at no extra charge. The first night there was the highlight of our trip with a wine tasting and dinner with the other guests set against the sunset and fabulous views. Magical! Valeria took wonderful care of our every need. We left 3 days later relaxed and ready for the rest of our journey.

We so enjoyed the wine that we decided to order some to enjoy once our trip was over. We were told the wine would arrive shortly after we returned. That was mid June. It is now mid August and still no wine. Of course, the charge was on our credit card by the time we got home, to the tune of $420. We have called, e-mailed and worked through the organization that booked our stay. I did finally receive an e-mail from Fed Ex with an attachment that was supposed to have our tracking #, however the attachment has a virus in it so I can't open it. I just called Fed Ex and they can't help me without a tracking #.

My advice is to stay there and enjoy the charm, hospitality and wine while you're there. But rather than ordering wine to enjoy once you're home, take lots of pictures instead.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We were to familys staying at this beautiful place for 2 weeks, we had absolutly nothing to complain about, its a fantastic property, the House is amazing, the view, the food and the people that live and work there where amazing to us and the children. We loved it!!!
We are going back for 3 weeks this summer, its a great place to explore tuscany and all its beauty!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

Stayed here in Oct 2008 for a massive family reunion(38)of us, accomodation is situated in a fantastic get away from it all area, with a brilliant view of San Gimiano.
However inside the rooms are rather basic, it seems that one set of furniture has been bought for each apartment so one room has a chest of drawers, another a wardrobe etc etc, so its rather basic.
The swimming pool had been closed down for the winter, despite high 70 s temps still. The hosts are very nice and friendly, and it is very relaxed and an ideal base to explore the Tuscany region.
Would go again.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Minimum equipped rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

It sure looks beautiful in the photos. But its what you cant see that can hurt you. Literally. This farm has no air conditioning (which is not surprising for Italy), but it also has no fans or cooling of any kind (which is a little surprising) and no screens on the windows (which is very surprising). All of the above would be very inconvenient, but tolerable except the farm is also home to THOUSANDS of wasps (I do not exagerate the number).
In the first five minutes of walking into the oven hot room, we had to open the windows. Within minutes there were dozens of wasps in the room. Within an hour, hundreds. We complained of course.....How helpful were the managment team ?
Us: There are no fans or screens. Them: We did not say you would get fans or screens in our advertisement.
Us: But the wasps ? Them: You are in the country.

I was stung in bed by one which had nested behind the pillows (fortunately I am not allergic or I would be dead). We spent the trip terrified for our toddler. We developed the art of staying out of the room all day, opening the windows at dusk and getting up at dawn to close them again. Even this battle plan required the spraying swatting and exterminating of dozens of wasps.

There are many beautiful places in Tuscany. Stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucavitali, MANAGER at Country House Croce di Bibbiano, responded to this review, October 5, 2006
Dear Sirs, my name is Luca Vitali and I am the Manager of the Agriturismo Croce di Bibbiano in Poggibonsi (Siena). I was surfing the net and I found this review regarding the wasps in our property and I would like to have the chance of answering to this client. First of all, 2006 will be known as the year of the wasp (and it is not a chinese zodiac sign!) Yes, we have been invaded by thousands of wasps everywhere and this happened suddently, from one day to another, and not only in our place but in the entire area. The week when the customer came was when that happened and we had to take some serious action about it but it took a while for some different reasons:
1. AIR CONDITIONING is not possible to have as our building is an historical building from the 13th century, underthe authorityof the Ministery of Art and Culture, and we are ABSOLUTELY NOT ALLOWED to have air conditioning units outside the building.
2. We ordered and placed the screens at the windows, but again as for the age of our building and the beauty of it we had to have them made in a special way and colour, on top of a very particoular size (13th century windows are not perfectly shaped and sized!)
and of course this took a while.
We do now have screens on all the windows, (since the 1st of August 2006) and we had also a team to come over and kill and destroy all the wasps and the nests. The place is clean, and finally wasps free and life went back to normality in 3 weeks time. I am sorry for the customer who wrote this complaint who happened to e there when this thing happened. I do not accept that the staff, which I do represent was not helpful and rude as this review shows. We do have at least 25 guest per week staying at our place and over 200 a week just passing by for wine tours and tasting. We are very well knowned in all of Tuscany for our kindness, tolerance and professionality, as we do also speak 5 languages FLUENTY. As for all of you guests that would decide to come over to our place I would like to say that you are and always will be very welcome and we will make your stay be memorable, but please remember that you will be coming into a tuscan farmhouse and winery, in the middle of the country, so if you are looking for air conditioning and absolutely NO INSECTS, you should seriously think to pick up a room in an hotel in Florence or Siena, where, by theway, there will be thousands of mosquitoes........
We do have screens now....
Thankyou for the chance that you gave me to answer to this....
Arrivederci a Croce di Bibbiano.......
Sincerely
Luca Vitali Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country House Croce di Bibbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Croce di Bibbiano

Also Known As:
Country House Croce Di Bibbiano Poggibonsi, Italy - Tuscany
Address: Localita Bibbiano 1/3, 53036 Poggibonsi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Poggibonsi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Poggibonsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country House Croce di Bibbiano 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Estate/Country House Croce di Bibbiano is an ancient monastery located in the heart of Chianti, on top of a hill that overlooks the magnificent towers of San Gimignano, about 6 km from the center of the medieval town , 25 km from Siena and 35 km from Florence ; ideal base for exploring the wonders of Tuscany with its rolling hills , ancient villages sprouting from the green of the landscape as painted postcards , culture, religion, art cities, numerous wineries , and last but not least the typical Tuscan family welcome .La Croce di Bibbiano , which offers accommodation in rooms and apartments finely restored , is created inside an ancient stone monastery in medieval times, located along the ancient ' Via Francigena ' , at the center of an estate of about 30 hectares, comprising less than 8 hectares of vineyards, forest, walking tracks, and more than four hundred olive trees.The restaurant is always available to our guests and the cuisine and authentic grandmother’s traditional.The perfect Tuscan experience..Feel free to contact us any time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Country House Croce di Bibbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country House Croce di Bibbiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.