We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place in the center of very nice part of Italy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Borgo San Lorenzo

Save Saved
You added Antico Borgo San Lorenzo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Antico Borgo San Lorenzo
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Loc. Pian dei Campi 10, 53036 Poggibonsi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Onsala
1 review
“A fantastic place in the center of very nice part of Italy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was a great pleasure to stay in Antico Borgo San Lorenzo.
The service was excellent with all friendly and helpful people.
The breakfast and the dinners we had was fantastic in the cosy restaurant.
It was very easy to go to Florence and Sienna and other remarkable places.
We like to come back in the future

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    9
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The location was perfect for day tripping. The food was fantastic and the service was unparalleled. The staff could mot have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. I would not hesitate to recommend this facility to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I joined with friends for an amazingly memorable week in Tuscany. We were fortunate enough to book this fantastic hotel. The beautiful location, the wonderful staff, the great food and the perfectly fitted out rooms with brilliantly high ceilings, made for the optimal setting for our Tuscany vacation. It was an ideal location to position ourselves in, both for day tripping to the many sights and scenery that Tuscany has to offer, as well as a lovely restaurant to unwind the day with an Aperol at sundown and delicious meal at the in house restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were so pleased with everything at this lovely villa. From our comfortable base we made wonderful day trips throughout Tuscany and each evening had the choice of cooking something at home, eating out at one of Jacopo's great recommendations or dining at the delicious in-house restaurant. A delightful setting and beautiful rooms, made perfect by the friendly staff. Thank you Jacopo, Lucia and Azzurra. Our third villa in Tuscany and by far the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We would like to thank Jacopo and Alessia for such a wonderful stay in their accommodation in Tuscany. The villa was the base for our travels around Tuscany and onwards to Rome. The rooms were clean and offered great flexibility for self catered accommodation, yet we still had the benefit of fine dining in the restaurant below. The staff were very friendly and always helpful and the food / wine was exceptional. We look forward to going back in the future.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

To celebrate our 35th anniversary, most of our extended family joined us for a week in Tuscany. I needed to book a place that could handle any number from 5 to 13 people. This restored convent near Poggibonsi turned out to be perfect. We rented the Rosa Bianca apartment, which has four full bedrooms and a small one off the kitchen. That turned out to be one of the best features (the kitchen, not the bedroom!), with a huge farm table where the 8 of us had breakfast and a few dinners.

I'll review the fabulous restaurant (Casa Bandini) separately, but we liked it so much we cancelled previously researched and made-in-advance reservations elsewhere to eat there, several times.

Others have mentioned the views, and they really are stunning. The website has great pictures, but they don't do the reality justice! We took as many pictures of the borgo as we did of any other destination.

The location is terrific, close to the big Co-op supermarket, banks, pharmacy, and train station in Poggibonsi, but only a few minutes from the hill towns of Colle di Val d'Elsa and San Gimignano. We rented a 9 passenger van, and explored pretty far afield until the driver got the flu. Then we took to the rails from the convenient station in Poggibonsi.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but some are larger than others and have more amenities (kitchen facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was my 6th visit to Antico Borgo San Lorenzo and as always we had a fantastic stay. Alessia and Jacopo made us feel very welcome. The apartments are 'typical' Tuscan villas in a really quite and picturesque location with stunning views, but still close to Poggibonsi and within easy reach of Siena. The restaurant is a must and the fresh home cooked food is fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble and it is a great place to stay. I would higly recomend and look forward to next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antico Borgo San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo San Lorenzo

Address: Loc. Pian dei Campi 10, 53036 Poggibonsi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Poggibonsi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty lodging in Poggibonsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antico Borgo San Lorenzo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antico Borgo San Lorenzo is located between Colle Val d'Elsa and Poggibonsi, in Chianti area, surrounded by green hills and vineyards. it' situated on the Francigena route, connecting San Gimignano and Florence to Siena. The structure is commposed from 8 apartments (2-8 person), a medieval church, a tipical tuscan restaurant and a swimmingpool with garden forniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Antico Borgo San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo San Lorenzo Poggibonsi, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Borgo San Lorenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.