We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“way overrated - very noisy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alcide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alcide to your Saves list
Hotel Alcide
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marconi 67 / A, 53036 Poggibonsi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Poggibonsi
Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“way overrated - very noisy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We (young couple) booked 4 nights at the Alcide due to the good tripadvisor reviews. The outside looks extremely run down. While the rooms are refurbished and quite ok, there were several things that made our stay there not enjoyable at all. First and foremost, it was really loud in the room. We asked for a room away from the main street and were told that all rooms face that side, but the room is on the fifth floor so it should be fine. It wasn't – the traffic was really loud, apart from that you could hear people speaking in front of the hotel in the middle of the night. The doors of the rooms (and inside) are really old and therefore slam loudly whenever someone goes into or out of his room. We thought our phone was ringing, when someone called a guy in the hallway. Also, the rooms are generally clean but windows are quite filthy, bathroom has a shower curtain in the tub that is way too long, so you have to step onto it. We also found a hair in our bed and in the sink. There's only one WLAN password per room, with which you cannot use 2 devices at the same time – not a big problem, but still: why? Breakfast is decent, baked goods, joghurt and fruits. Had to ask for cheese and ham first, however. Poggibonsi's city center is quite nice and ok to get dinner elsewhere than the hotel. All in all we would not recommend to stay in this hotel – we really could not catch a good night of sleep there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markusiena, Manager at Hotel Alcide, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear profession tourist,
thanks for your review and to have chosen us following the other reviews of the expert review-er.
Please accept our excuse for what’s happened during your staying in our hotel.
The published photos confirm our vintage looking and the room on the 5th floor that you get for 4 days is considered by us not noisy. We think that at the 5th floor, about 30 mt. high, is not possible to listen the people on the ground floor, anyway they’ve got the right to talk.
Our doors are old, but if they slam not depends on age, but the bad education of some person.
Wi-fi, that we offer for free to everyone, is not connected to the room. We had group of people that received 4 connections for each room. If you get only one connection it was for our mistake, and we’re very sorry for that.
We’re also sorry for the bad episode of the hair founded on the bed and in the toilet at your arrival, we asked about that to our cleaning staff, but we didn’t received any confirm. For the next time we suggest to advise us immediately, so we can provide to change the room and avoid this kind of episodes without staying three days in a room with so many problems.
Please come back to visit us to let you try the good hospitality and the Good Taste of our restaurant that you not suggest to anyone, but, maybe, if you try, you can change your mind. Our restaurant has got 160 years of good Tuscany tradition.
We wait you, so we can offer a well-done hospitality. All the staff work a lot to give to all our guest good moment of relax. If this didn’t work with you, we can only be sorry and pray you, if you come back, to communicate immediately the problems.
I want to underline that to write down about a bad event about the relax of our guests during the staying is correct if you gave the possibility to smooth things over, as well as create a good feeling with our guests to give them good moment of relax and a good staying.
This event happen this time for a bad communication.
We remain at your disposal waiting for you…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    122
    66
    12
    7
See reviews for
62
127
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
skipton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Alcide hotel is clean and comfortable and is great value for money. The staff are helpful and friendly. Poggibonsi is ideal to get to San Giminano, Siena and other hill towns. The town has good facilities, nice shops and good restaurants. We would definitely stay at the Alcide again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markusiena, Direttore at Hotel Alcide, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Katy,
I thank you for your words of appreciation we have been working very hard to rise the standard of our quality of the service trying not to rise the price of the rooms with simple things that have great conversion feedbacks! We have new ideas for this year just stated so I sure you will find something new next time you decide to come an visit Chianti Area again!
I wish you a great beginning of the year!
My best,
Marco Rossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Average hotel. Very close to San Gimignano which is the main advntage. Fair price. Nice rooms but small bathroom. Very nice breakfast with wide assortment. Free parking. 15 min. walk from the pedestrian area with restaurants. Good base for Tuscany trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markusiena, Direttore at Hotel Alcide, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
I thank you for your words of appreciation I'm glad you had good time and you didn't want to leave the Alcide.........then if you want to come a resident Guest we can work on a good deal for you!
My best,
Marco Rossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piemonte
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good position near main interesting places in Tuscany: Siena and Florence and San Gimignano or Volterra. Room quite comfortable, not extremely clean. Great breakfast in the morning. Free parking, but attention to the road cleaning works. Good value for money

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markusiena, Direttore at Hotel Alcide, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest
I'm glad you had a good time with us here at Alcide and I am very happy that you remember the problem of street cleaning.
we're working on,
My best,
Marco Rossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a good hotel perfectly located if you wish to explore the main sights of Tuscany. The town of Poggibonsi itself offers some cafes and restaurants and the restaurant in the hotel is also very good. The amenities are average, the rooms are very clean while breakfast is below average. It is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've been at this hotel in september and everything was perfect:
- The price of € 30,00 for a room with a bathroom, Tv, Air condition and free wi-fi (it was a Booking Flash Deal);
- The room very clean;
- The excellent breakfast;
- The helpfully staff who help us to visit Tuscany and made of this hotel the best place to stay to visit San Gimignano, Volterra, Siena and Florence

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

we stayed at hotel alcide during a recent trip through italy. mind that this review was written by a person in their 20s, some impressions ive had might be perceived differently by people of different age.

anyhow, the first impression was rather disappointing. the outside of the hotel building looked as if somehow, while we were driving there we hit a wormhole and got shot back into the seventies. not even the good ones. what i want to say is, the hotel looked like a gigantic concrete block with wrinkles (although symmetric ones) from the outside. rather disappointing.

anyway, the seventies flair didnt change after we got inside, although it felt different. the lobby of the hotel was (obviously) designed during the same age, but it looked rather fancy and had something like passed grandeur about it.

the other people staying at the place were rather 70s as well, what i wanna say is that they were in their seventies and rather old.

anyway, when we got to our room we discovered that it looked really nice and was big enough plus the bathroom looked really good. the service left nothing to worry about which is the most important thing after all. oh yeah, and it was really cheap, each one of us paid around 22€/night.

altogether i have to say, nice rooms, good service, great price, the looks of the hotel are a matter of taste and in this aspect my view is very subjective but i can imagine that most (younger) people are a bit put off by the first impression. not a bad place though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alcide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcide

Address: Via Marconi 67 / A, 53036 Poggibonsi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Poggibonsi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poggibonsi
#5 Family Hotel in Poggibonsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcide 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alcide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alcide Poggibonsi, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alcide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.