We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Tuscany!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of I Melograni del Chianti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poggibonsi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
I Melograni del Chianti
Loc. Talciona 4, 53036 Poggibonsi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Deltona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Tuscany!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

11th century farmhouse overlooking beautiful valleys! Quiet. Peaceful. 30-40 minutes from Florence and Siena and surrounding villages. Rooms are large and well equipped. Wonderful pool. Areas to grill and picnic. Serena is wonderful. She is so knowledgeable. Knows everything about everything. Will call and secure reservations for you for the attractions. Knows the best places to eat and the best times to go somewhere AND she is such a nice and pleasant person!

Would go back in a heartbeat! We spent 14 wonderful days there. It felt like leaving home when we left to go to Rome!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Serena, thank you for sharing this beautiful property with us and your wonderful knowledge of the area. This is a fantastic location as you are 30 mins from Florence and Siena and all of Chianti and San Gimignano around the corner. This is set in the rolling Tuscan Hills, where you can sit by the pool or visit the area with great advice and recommedations from Serena on wineries to visit and restaurants to dine at. The apartment exceeded our expectations, although the bed was very firm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieppeNBCanada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our first trip to Europe, and our first destination was Tuscany. Our stay in June at Melograni Del Chianti was a dream come true! Everything was perfect, starting with the beautiful apartment, the breathtaking views, well maintained property and sparkling pool. We spent a fantastic week visiting the beautiful Chianti region. Our day would start by visiting Serena, our wonderful host, in order to get information or suggestions regarding restaurants, wineries or places to visit during our day trips. We would also share with her our experiences during our daily visits throughout the area. She quickly became a true friend as she made us feel right at home. We even had the opportunity to meet her charming parents who were visiting her while we were there.

Thank you Serena for sharing your property with my wife and I and making our Tuscany visit a dream come true. Philippe and Odette, Canada

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for 1 week in September, generous well appointed apartments in a beautiful location. Everything is spotless at this property including the pool.......what more could one ask for......ah yes the perfect host, Serena. We LOVED our stay and will return. Have never a stayed a property like this where a host is so dedicated to making sure their guests are content and happy , and why wouldn't you be in this absolutely idyllic setting.,, enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Of our 2 week vacation this was definitely a highlight. THe rooms were perfect...the landscape was beautiful and even listening to the roosters in the morning was relaxing. Beautiful place and nicely situated between Sienna and Florence made these spots great day trips. Serena was a great host and always willing to help out. Definitely would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at I Melograni for one week in September. What a wonderful location to visit the Chianti region. The apartment was big, beautifully decorated and very clean. We had a magnificent view from our kitchen window. Our host Serena is one of the nicest people we have ever met. She was always available to answer our many questions about the different historical aspects of the region and to give us great advice on what is worth seeing. I Melograni is close to Florence, Sienna and many other beautiful areas to visit. We drove to most sites, except Florence where we found it was more convenient to take the bus from the nearby village Poggibonsy. Ask Serena to visit a local winery and you will not be disappointed. Everything about our stay was perfect and we truly appreciated the Italian hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I Melograni is ideally situated in the heart of Tuscany. This location allowed us to visit many of the surounding Tuscan towns on day trips and then return to a beautiful, peaceful apartment at night where we could then choose to eat in or dine at one of the local restaurants. The view from our bedroom window (Focolare Apartment) was breathtaking, the property itself is impeccably maintained and of course proprietor Serena always on hand for information and suggestions.
We would definitely recommend I Melograni del Chianti to anyone who wants to experience Tuscany.

Room Tip: Focolare Apartment is good for 2 couples as it has two large bedrooms with 2 bathrooms. Each bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to I Melograni del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Melograni del Chianti

Also Known As:
i Melograni Del Chianti Hotel
i Melograni Del Chianti Hotel Poggibonsi
I Melograni Del Chianti Poggibonsi, Italy - Tuscany
Address: Loc. Talciona 4, 53036 Poggibonsi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Poggibonsi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty lodging in Poggibonsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The “I Melograni del Chianti” farm holiday residence is located in the Tuscan hills, in the small medieval town of Talciona, a perfect barycentre in between the biggest cities of art in Tuscany: Florence, Siena, Volterra and San Gimignano. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Melograni del Chianti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added I Melograni del Chianti to your Saves list